Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2001
i bought this the week it came out, i was hunting aroung the legendary naffness of 'ourprice' and they had this as their 'album of the week' or something like that. i was intrigued to say the least. purchased it. went home. put it on the player and...God!!. never looked back, SFA rule, as far as i'm concerned they are relatively unsuccessful and that in itself is a travesty of musical justice. they are a tremendous amalgam of all things that ever made music good and only he/she who is a fool would not dig this (and the rest of the albums) to be classics. being a bit of a muso dweeb, i hadnt felt so emotional about hearing an album since the stone roses released their legendary 1st album. i seen them live also, their live version of demons, on 2nd album, had bleedin mariachi mexican trumpeters! oooh yeas). Never mind wanting to get in on the welsh thing, this is a purely musical thing. strips away all boundaries and conventions and the impression that it is just a sonic mindblower is apparent... S'pose the point is this is the one that started it all and it is absolutely, core-shakingly, undeniably and hunt-me-down-and-kill-me if i'm wrong...essential.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2003
This is the greatest album ever made. One of the first albums I bought when I was a teenager and had just got access to CDs. I remember seeing God! Show Me Magic on an old TV show called The Chart Show in the UK and just thinking, "Here's my new favourite band". Ranting aside, for the uninitiated this plays like an electric version of Hunky Dory by Bowie (which also rules), except with recorders, balalaikas and techno undertones here and there. For those who've heard SFA's later stuff but not this, this is a louder sound with more guitars and less smoothness, and frankly, I think it's better. Imagine Guerrilla with less steel drum and more glam rock, and you're maybe half-way there. It's awesome.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2002
Full of fantastic songs and sometimes completely incomprihensible lyrics, this is by far SFA's best album. Much better than 'Rings around the world', the band stand out as a fantastically refreshing, original and imaginative band who can't be matched with songs like 'Hometown unicorn', 'If you don't want me to destroy you' and in fact, any of the songs on this album. They're catchy, lively and imaginative. There isn't one bad song on this album. Other very good albums by the Super Furry Animals are Radiator, Guerilla (a pun on their name), and Mwng.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2000
SFA are gloriously unique in their combination of several decades-worth of pop music, ranging through stomping glam rock to warped psychedelia and gentle folk. Few bands could carry it off but the Furries manage to do so with a vengeance, although the lyrics frequently border on the, shall we say, bizarre - a particular 'favourite' being Mario Man's "The blim holes in my shell suit grew into an absolute and fell apart one day / They stitched me up in Everton, then they took me to a surgeon / Lost on penalties". Nice one, guys.

Still a classic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2000
What a great album, and certainly their best one so far. Not a single filler on here. The first 6 tracks in themselves will just blow you way, especially Hometown Unicorn, Something for the Weekend and If You Don't Want Me To Destroy You. Totally wacky lyrics as well which I don't think you'll find anywhere else. Besides the brilliant music, Howard Marks should also be very grateful!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 1999
What can I say?, from the frantic to the sublime, the songs on this album are some of the best ever written and cover a broad spectrum of styles. But don't stop with Fuzzy Logic, buy Radiator and Guerilla, and you'll have a good time
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2006
I enjoyed the slightly later SFA albums (Rings Around the World, Guerilla especially) and this is a slight disappointment compared to those. It is a little less polished or well-produced and although some people will see that as an advantage, I was left with the impression that SFA went on to better things.
Still, it has some good songs on it and any fan will find something in it to enjoy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
I'm sure that this is unlikely to ever be read but it's worth pointing out that Fuzzy Logic is one of the greatest debut albums ever. If you've not heard it before, seek it out. It's rock music at it's finest: Surreal, catchy and most crucially: fun to listen to. They're an eclectic bunch, the band, and they've made an eclectic collection of tunes too. The album is well worth the few quid that it will now take you to buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 1999
Fuzzy Logic, the debut from the Super Furries. And what a debut, it has it all. The guitar based rocking tunes like 'God! Show Me Magic' to the catchy pop of 'Something for the Weekend' to the thought provoking 'If You Don't Want Me to Destroy You'. Just buy it, you will absolutely love it. One of the greatest albums you will own.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2000
Debut album by the most Welsh of all the new wave of Welsh bands to come out in the 90s (their contract limits them to two Welsh language songs per album, in return for St David's day off every year!) There's a slight hint of lunacy in the air throughout these songs, that run from rockers like 'God! Show Me Magic' to catchy pop ('Something for the Weekend') and thought provoking balladry in 'If You Don't Want Me to Destroy You', which is perhaps best exemplified by the stoned lyrics. Following this release, the Furries embarked on a sustained campaign of spectacular single releases including the inspirational 'The Man Don't Give a Fuck' and culminating in the superb 'Demons' which heralded their second album Radiator. Howard Marks also owes his current celebrity almost entirely to the Furries sponsorship.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)