Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The number of sales says it all !
45 million + sales is a force to be reckoned with! Thiller is an album that just makes you rock. Recorded in 1981/82, Michael Jackson (24yrs) worked with producer Quincy Jones to create this outstanding album. With tracks such as: 'Wanna be startin' Somethin', 'Thriller', 'Beat it' and the magical ~'Billie Jean'~ it is no wonder that it was an instant success and is...
Published on 26 July 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars boring interviews.....
i bought this but didnt notice the included interviews....i just wanted to listen to the thriller álbum as i remembered it and i find it has loads of extremely ( to me) boring interviews and not a great deal of music.....just turned it off without listening to the full cd and i will not be listening to it again.

a total waste of money if you just want to...
Published 3 months ago by sue grech


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The number of sales says it all !, 26 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
45 million + sales is a force to be reckoned with! Thiller is an album that just makes you rock. Recorded in 1981/82, Michael Jackson (24yrs) worked with producer Quincy Jones to create this outstanding album. With tracks such as: 'Wanna be startin' Somethin', 'Thriller', 'Beat it' and the magical ~'Billie Jean'~ it is no wonder that it was an instant success and is still selling today. The wonderful duet with Paul McCartney in 'The girl is mine' just adds to the perfect blend that makes Thiller what it is. Fan or no fan of Michael Jackson, this is A MUST BUY that will never die in your music collection.
~ *Truely Thrilling* ~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thriller from start to finish, 30 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. T. Speller "tomtedspeller" (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
Wow! This is just an absolutely flawless album, and out of all the albums I have ever heard I would rate only Fleetwood Mac's "Rumours" to be better (and even then, it is a close run thing). Seriously, 8 Grammies, 37 weeks top of the US Album charts, and well over 40 million CDs shifted sums up "Thriller"-that this is a work of genius, a feat that will never be repeated.
"Off the Wall" in 1979 was a superb debut focusing on a R n B and disco sound- however, "Thriller" is just in another league. It is a masterful evolution in MJ's sound, the end result being what we know as his definitive pop style. A style that we have all come to know and love. A style that is what you want it to be- it is R n B, disco, pop and rock simultaneously, it transcends all boundaries. This is why "Thriller" is a landmark album to many- it took Top 40 music(and dare I say it, MTV)to another level, it broke down boundaries between different musical styles, it had a sound that appealed to all.
It is smooth and seamless throughout, there is NOT a single weak song to be found in this collection. Yet what is great about the album, as I have already said, is that you CANNOT classify it- all you can say is that it is a mature evolution of "Off the Wall", and that the end result is fantastic. You have smooth, beautiful songs such as "The Girl Is Mine"(very good duet with Paul McCartney), "Baby Be Mine", "Human Nature" and "Lady in My Life", you have "Beat It", "Billie Jean" and "Thriller" that are intense and much rockier, and you have "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'" and "PYT" that are reminiscent of the great songs in "Off the Wall". And Jackson is able to switch into different styles seamlessly, which he can do because he has an amazing voice that just cannot be defined. I won't review each song individually, because others have already done so- but I will say that ALL the songs are superb, and that when you consider the album as a whole, there is nothing to criticise about it.
Of course, he has done other albums that are very good, indeed I would recommend "Off the Wall", "Bad" and "Dangerous". However, none are the equal of "Thriller", it is just an album that nobody will ever be able to surpass. Not even the King of Pop himself. "Thriller" is just perfect, a perfect model of how to make a good album. An album that is a classic, a landmark, a MUST-HAVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The biggest selling album ever, 12 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
What a pleasure it was to hear one of my favourite albums remastered and repackaged for a special release. Thriller stills sounds fresh, even twenty yesrs after its original release. The tracks are timeless, the production impeccable, and the voice- well what is there to say? The special edtion also contains two outakes from Thriller, along with an original demo of Billie Jean. Thriller is the biggest selling album of all time, and its easy to see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than before, 23 Oct 2001
Thriller the biggest selling album ever has just got better. it starts off with you wanna be starting something one of my favorite tracks and it goes on through all your favorite tracks on the origanal album. then it gets to the best bits the interviews with Quincy Jones and others. also Billie Jean the home demo which is excellent almost as good as the original and 2 songs that didnt make the album
this is a great album and everyone should buy a copy just to hear the interviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Greatest Pop Albums Ever Made, 17 Mar 2014
By 
timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
Without doubt this was the late Michael Jacksons greatest album yet It may have been his biggest curse as no album that came after Thriller no matter how good it was never lived up to the quality of this album.

With over 45 million copies sold world wide & released in 1982 this album delivers 9 superb classic songs from the up tempo Wanna Be Startin Somethin, Thriller which is a chilling pop classic that delivered one of the greatest music video's ever, Beat It a Rock type track featuring guitar riffs by Eddie Van Halen, to Billie Jean which defined Michael Jackson as the king of pop.

Produced by the legendary Quincy Jones, Thriller still delivers classic pop that makes you want to dance to the songs on this album.

This was Michael Jacksons greatest triumph yet could be seen as his greatest curse because when you create perfection were do you go from there?

There plenty of extras on this special edition that will appeal to Jacko fans, The track Someone in the Dark was originally written for the movie E.T yet never appeared in the movie or the original Thriller album.

There are some decent behind the scenes interviews that are interesting to hear but add nothing special that the fans don't already know about.

One of the greatest albums ever released & worthy album to be in any body's music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERYONE, EVERYWHERE SHOULD OWN THIS ALBUM BY NOW!, 6 Jun 2002
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
I cannot comprehend that anybody can say that Michael Jackson's musical ability is out of this world! This album shows MJ's talent at its prime and should have won more than 8 grammies!
I couldn't believe that Michael could do a better album than "Off the wall" and he did!! "Thriller" has got to be one of my all-time favourite albums! Words cannot describe the sensation of listening to all of these tracks again without stopping for a cup of tea, now that they have been digitally remastered. "Thriller" was the first album I ever owned.It was a christmas present in 1991 and I loved it then as much as I do now! I couldn't even begin to tell you my favourite tracks from this album because they're all equally fantastic!
Whether you like soul, pop, disco or rock, there's something here for everyone! The classics "Billie Jean," "Thriller" and "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'" provide the 80's disco-pop anthems for this CD and even now, 20 years later are still sounding almost brand-new and are constantly being played on the airwaves and in clubs etc. "Beat it" with Eddie Van Halen's electric, fast-pace guitar solo provides the rock-anthem and the soulful "Human Nature" sampled by SWV for "Right here" provides the classic soul, album-track anthem. Interestingly,on "PYT" Janet and LaToya Jackson provide their vocals and help to add to the soulful 80's sound!
Paul McCartney's duet with "The Girl is mine" has got to be one of the best records ever and it is so catchy! This album shows that Michael doesn't write throw-away pop as all of these tracks are still being heard today and are as popular as they were in 1982! Time certainly hasn't tarnished this album.
GO AND BUY IT IMMEDIATELY-THIS SHOULD BE BOUGHT AT THE SAME TIME WITH "OFF THE WALL" "BAD" AND "DANGEROUS."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner - likely the last winner from Jackson, 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
Still one of the best selling albums ever and there is good reason why. Michael Jackson is incredibly talented and there was a point in time when he picked more, shall we say, mainstream ways to showcase his talent. Along with "Off The Wall" this is easily the pinnacle of Michael Jackson's career. Everyone will remember Billie Jean to be one of the best songs of the eighties and Thriller to be the most anticipated video of the decade. All that said, I don't know that I would actually buy this cd again. I would readily buy "Off The Wall" but this one just doesn't have the same appeal for me. This is a great cd though, and if you are yearning for some classic Michael Jackson from back when he was someone you actually wanted to see in concert, then do purchase this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best ever album, 29 Mar 2001
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
With 51.2 million copies sold since it was released December 12th 1982 Michael (24yrs old) worked with producer Quincy Jones to create this great album. With tracks like: "Thriller", "Wanna be startin' Somethin'", "Beat it" and the best track -"Billie Jean" - it is no wonder that it was an immediately a huge hit and is still selling hugely today. The great duet with Paul McCartney in "The girl is mine" just increases the pure impressive album which makes Thriller what it is today. Whether or not you like Michael Jackson, this is a "definite must have" that will never leave in your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic 80s album capturing Jackson at his best, 19 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
The album opens with a lenghty "wanna be Startin' somethin'" which combines funk, disco and an ethnic sounding chant at the end. This is followed by the largely album-track sounding "Baby be mine" and jackson's duet with former Beatle Paul McCartney. Thriller is next with the stunning rap by Vincent Price. Beat it and Billie Jean are probably two of the best tunes of the 1980s and perhaps even all time. Next is "Human Nature" which was borrowed by SWV for their hit "Right here" in 1993. PYT is perhaps the weakest single off the album but the CD rounds up nicely with the passionate "Lady in my life"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first class timeless music, 19 Jan 2010
By 
J. Mulholland (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thriller (Audio CD)
how can anyone not like michael jackson?have this album on vinyl,thought it was time to upgrade,even my grandchildren love it,billie jean is the business,superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa218c174)

This product

Thriller
Thriller by Michael Jackson
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews