Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most complete hip hop recording of the early 90's
Quite simply one of the best debut albums ever. Even though their youthful naivety shines through, Q-Tip and Phife both sound positive with out ever swaying to being preachy. The music is the funkiest since the 70's, and everytrack will leave you smiling. One of thoses rare hip hop albums you can listen too all the way through.
Published on 20 Mar. 2002

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as their later albums
Not as good as their 2nd or 4th albums. Quiet recording too like De La Soul's "3 feet high and rising".
Published 22 months ago by MR O I RIZWANI


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most complete hip hop recording of the early 90's, 20 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
Quite simply one of the best debut albums ever. Even though their youthful naivety shines through, Q-Tip and Phife both sound positive with out ever swaying to being preachy. The music is the funkiest since the 70's, and everytrack will leave you smiling. One of thoses rare hip hop albums you can listen too all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bringing the advent of native tounged funk., 3 Aug. 2000
By 
Ugly (birmingham, wm United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
11 years on, and the original vinyl still graces my decks with regularity. 'People's..' defined the advent of the native tounges along with technically superior Jungle Brother's follow up 'Done by the forces of nature' and the de la soul debut. But it was the quest who made funky and acceptably light tunes, whilst allowing the hardcore b boy and girl following to chill and nod along to chart bound hits and catchphrases like 'can I kick it'. Q-tip was a world away from the dexterity and maturity he displayed on the subsequent albums, and so was the content, but amongst the bouncy funk were the genesis of quests inimitable style that has carved them a niche in hip hop history. An innovative use of samples and hooks made this easy listening but with a kick and snare that did just that. Quality tunes that still have a place blasting from a system on those hot summer days, from Birmingham to El Segundo..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funky Rhythms, 15 Mar. 2004
This is one of my favourite albums alongside Bizarre Ride to the Pharcyde. Both albums share a real enthusiasm and sense of fun that is missing from most current hip-hop albums. Of course the mood reflects the innocent time (before hip hop became commercialised and got heavy with 'gangsters' and shootings etc) but it's really great to listen to something that makes you smile. It's a VERY funky album with intelligent lyrics and ass-moving grooves... just putting on any of these tracks makes me want to move, but After Hours, Bonita Applebum and Description of a Fool make me grin from ear to ear as well as shake my booty. This is music that just doesn't date - like most of the Tribe's stuff. They make it seem so easy, naturally hip and effortless. Knocks spots off of anything else even though it is over 10 years old. If you like old-skool hip hop that has funky flavours, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently Brilliant Record, 9 Jun. 2012
By 
pjr (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A year after De La Soul landed with 3 Feet High And Rising (W/Bonus Cd), it was clear that Hip-Hop had something going on which wasn't gangster. Along with De La, and The Jungle Brothers, an alliance was forged known as The Native Tongues which was designed to provide something other than Gangsta Rap, which was popular but not ubiquitous.

At the centre of this movement was A Tribe Called Quest, mixing their funky breaks with neatly lyrical rap lines which focused on something other than the nilhilsim of much of the mainstream. This took rap to somewhere more positive and and playful. It wasn't without messages, but these were different. It was also, crucially, not afraid to have fun and smile at itself. Their, debut album, "People's Instinctive Travels & The Paths Of Rhythm" was a brillant complement to the movement and, more than any other recording so far, tried to put their manifesto across to the masses.

What comes across is a wonderful hazy mix of great samples and simply brilliantly consistent tracks. There really isn't a bad track here from start to finish this is just crammed full of great tunes, brilliant rhymes, an energy and invention missing from so much modern Hip-Hop. This is a very underrated classic. It is crammed with breaks from Slave, to Earth, Wind, & Fire, and Eugene McDaniels (who is plundered heavily) - to name just a few. These tracks underpin all that goes on and even if you're not a massive fan of rap the grooves draw you in better than most. It's also helped by some killer rhymes too. The band are good but the clear star of the show is Q-Tip who remains one of the most appealing laid back rappers ever. He's there from almost the first verse of "Luck Of Lucien" as a distinitive and brilliant presence and one of the central pillars of this album's greatness. It spawned just one hit,"Can I Kick It", but it has all the punch and impact it had upon release and should have provided the band with the constant stream De La Soul had the previous year.

If such things really do exist, there is a parallel universe where Gangsta never caught on and the likes of De La Soul and A Tribe Called Quest ruled the charts and influenced modern black music. Here they are household names and their records are rightly revered by more than just those who are in the know. Fortunately you don't have to live there to marvel at how good this album is, it's still out there waiting to blow you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gone but not forgotten..., 15 Jun. 2003
By 
L. Hardt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok, this is an old album but it still sounds awesome! In fact, i'd go so far as to say that there has not been a hip-hop record before or after this that has bettered it. I long ago left the world of hip-hop as i felt it had started to destroy itself - hoes, pimps, gangsters - this album has none of that. Instead we are treated to a super-sonic blast of social consciounce that leaves the nu-skool bunch like 50 cent and Jay Z out in the cold. Whether you like hip-hop or not, this is a must-have record! Sweet samples mixed with easy, flowing rhymes delivered with humor and grace. Highlights include the much played "Can I Kick It?" and the whole album simply rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album - a must buy!, 18 Mar. 2013
By 
Fran Bromley (Staffordshire.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peoples' Instinctive Travels & the Paths of Rhythm (MP3 Download)
Another one of those must have albums ticked off the list...been meaning to buy this album for 20 years!
Doesn't disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mind Blowing, 11 Jan. 2006
I've previously bought Beats rhymes and Life, Midnight Marauders, and The low End Theory but this album Peoples instinctive Travels is the best ive heard from ATCQ, Every tune is awesome. this is one of the very best Hip Hop albums i ever heard. If you like TCQ this is an absolute must have album. I previously done some Djing and plan to get back into Djing and i will be playing some tunes from this album. Wow what elsa can i say. buy this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my son loved it and was very happy said it was just what he needed and that was great as he is a big music lover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best old school classic, 12 Dec. 2006
By 
Jeremy (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is one of the tribe caled quest's best old school album with it classic beats and chilling vibe if you are thing weather to buy it or not just buy it if you are intrested in old school classics this album is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredible., 14 May 2001
My favourite album so far. I normally listen to D'Angelo, Mos Def, Big L and De La Soul, and I knew that Tribe would deliver what I need to hear. The first thing I did was listen to the album FULLY, NON STOP, to appreciate the album as a whole, and it blew me away.'Push It Along' flows naturally, as do Phife and Q-tip throughout the album. If I was pushed to pick favourite tracks (they're all GOOD) I would choose: push it alog, luck of lucien, bonita applebum, ham'n'eggs, and description of a fool, as they seem to shine a little bit more, but at the end of the day,the message is simple: IF YOU HAVEN'T GOT IT, GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews