Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Thought this listing of the actual CDs would be of use because there in fact two Jeff Beck Collections of 5 CDs each. This is a link to the other box set.
Original Album Classics

Note due to a Glitch in Amazon's System this review has been tagged on to both different sets.
I see this has happened to other reviewers too.
I have been una ble to post a review for the other set.
(Hope this makes sense?)

I've included the track listingson this set too.
If you spot any mistakes just add a comment and I will change it.

"Rough And Ready"
1. Got the Feeling
2. Situation
3. Short Business
4. Max's Tune
5. Ive Been Used
6. New Ways Train Train
7. Jody

The Jeff Beck Group
1. Ice Cream Cake
2. Glad All Over
3. Tonight Ill Be Staying Here With You
4. Sugar Cane
5. I Cant Give Back the Love I Feel for You
6. Going Down
7. I Got to Have a Song
8. Highways
9. Definitely Maybe

Blow By Blow
1. You Know What I Mean
2. Shes a Woman
3. Constipated Duck
4. Air Blower
5. Scatterbrain
6. Cause Weve Ended as Lovers
7. Thelonius
8. Freeway Jam
9. Diamond Dust

Wired,
1. Led Boots
2. Come Dancing
3. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
4. Head for Backstage Pass
5. Blue Wind
6. Sophie
7. Play With Me
8. Love Is Green

Live With The Jan Hammer Group
1. Freeway Jam
2. Earth (Still Our Only Home)
3. Shes a Woman
4. Full Moon Boogie
5. Darkness/Earth in Search of a Sun
6. Scatterbrain
7. Blue Wind
1212 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
The 1st of 2 5CD sets reissuing Jeff Beck's output for Epic records. "Rough And Ready" is well-titled, a dark, uneasy marriage of funk with Beck's power guitar and Cozy Powell's thunderous drumming. Still high-quality; listen to his solo on the 1st track. This one sounds vintage and improves with age IMO. Beautiful keyboard parts by Max Middleton. Classic rock, alright.

Next was the 'orange' album ('Beck-Ola' had a Magritte apple on the cover, so....geddit? Wow, Epic's art department were um, really creative huh?) titled 'Jeff Beck Group'. Logical. Same personnel, it got better reviews and features "Goin' Down", 2 forward-looking guitar showcases and a Dylan number which was a bit of a misfire. He plays great but it's not as satisfying to listen to as the previous recording.

Or the next. "Blow By Blow", produced by George Martin, was and is a triumph, the glittering centrepiece of this collection. Much has been written about this record and its importance in the 1970s. Suffice to say that it re-established Jeff Beck as the most original lead guitar voice in the contemporary music of that era and a very hot property. Production values, sound, composition and playing are all just stunning and it deserves every accolade it ever got. No-one who was involved in this recording has ever forgotten it. Drummer Richard Bailey made his rep on this and I can only repeat 'beautiful keyboard parts by Max Middleton'. The guitar talks and much, much more. The whole thing is wonderfully mixed, programmed and paced and climaxes with the superb "Freeway Jam" and "Diamond Dust". Up there with "Are You Experienced" as one of the top guitar albums of all time. There is or was a SACD of this.

And the winning streak continued with "Wired". George Martin once again, the players now included Jan Hammer and Michael Walden - Beck had toured America with the 2nd Mahavishnu orchestra and got a better reception! "Wired" is if anything more intense than "Blow By Blow"; no messing. "Led Boots" (written by Middleton) joshingly references a certain other guitarist and his band who followed the template of Beck's 1st LP "Truth" for their own eponymous debut record, "Come Dancing" features the monstrous two-drum attack of both Walden and Ed Green, Hammer features on "Blue Wind" and Beck is at the very top of his game on "Goodbye Pork Pie Hat". Tremendous rock-fusion and once again still absolutely riveting to this day. Even George Martin has noted that his work with Beck was a highlight of his career.

The set completes with the highly enjoyable "Live with Jan Hammer Group" album. Play the first 30 seconds and you will want to buy this record. Beck is such a good guitar player, and he really sparks off other musicians in a live situation. This is really a Jan Hammer album, and Beck's convenient-for-both inclusion in the group wasn't entirely without friction but the music is tremendous. The album was produced by Hammer and has over the years achieved the status of a classic.
You cannot go wrong with this one. Rock history.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2009
Each of the FIVE (!!!!) albums featured herein comes in its own card sleeve. Okay, the format is so small that purchasers will need to use a magnifying glass to read some of the album credits, but this should not detract from the excellent value-for-money.

Included in this package are the wonderful "Blow By Blow", worthwhile "Wired", reasonable "Live With The Jan Hammer Group" and a couple of not particularly easy-to-find titles. If "Rough And Ready" is probably not one of Jeff's key releases, and hardly a classic album, "The Jeff Beck Group" alone justifies the extremely reasonable purchase price.

Hit that order button NOW.
88 comments|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The first of two box sets in Sony's "Original Album Series" for JEFF BECK (the 2nd set deals with later releases) - this five album haul represents a particularly tasty period for the best guitar player in the UK (and some would say in the world). Beginning in 1971 and ending in 1977 - the Beckster gets all Seventies Rock and PoP, Rock-Funky, Rock-Soulful and with the help of George Martin, Narada Michael Walden and Jan Hammer - then goes all Fusion mad on our sorry asses with a vengeance. What a ride! There's a whole wad of great sounding Seventies moods on here - so let's get to the ice cream cakes, constipated ducks and the led boots...

UK released October 2008 - "Original Album Classics" by JEFF BECK on Sony/Legacy 88697302772 (Barcode 886973027721) breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 "Rough And Ready" (36:50 minutes):
1. Got The Feeling
2. Situation
3. Short Business
4. Max's Tune
5. I've Been Used [Side 2]
6. New Ways Train Train
7. Jody
Tracks 1 to 7 are the album "Rough And Ready" - released October 1971 in the UK on Epic Records S EPC 64619 and in the USA Epic PE 30973. It peaked at No. 46 in the USA charts.

Disc 2 "Jeff Beck Group" (40:27 minutes):
1. Ice Cream Cakes
2. Glad All Over
3. Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You
4. Sugar Cane
5. I Can't Give Back The Love I Feel For You
6. Going Down [Side 2]
7. I Got To Have A Song
8. Highways
9. Definitely Maybe
Tracks 1 to 9 are the album "Jeff Beck Group" - released May 1972 in the USA on Epic KE 31331 and July 1972 in the UK on Epic Records S EPC 64899

Disc 3 "Blow By Blow" (44: 37 minutes):
1. You Know What I Mean
2. She's A Woman
3. Constipated Duck
4. AIR Blower
5. Scatterbrain
6. `Cause We Ended As Lovers [Side 2]
7. Thelonius
8. Freeway Jam
9. Diamond Dust
Tracks 1 to 9 are the album "Blow By Blow" - released March 1975 in the UK on Epic Records EPC 89117 and in the USA on Epic PE 33409.
Note: the rear of the box lists tracks 10 and 11 - "You Know What I Mean" and "She's A Woman" - claiming 10 is a bonus track but neither are actually on the disc.

Disc 4 "Wired" (37:21 minutes):
1. Led Boots
2. Come Dancing
3. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
4. Head For Backstage Pass
5. Blue Wind [Side 2]
6. Sophie
7. Play With Me
8. Love Is Green
Tracks 1 to 8 are the album "Wired" - released July 1976 in the UK on Epic Records EPC 86012 and in the USA on Epic PE 33849

Disc 5 "Jeff Beck with the Jan Hammer Group Live" (44:31 minutes):
1. Freeway Jam
2. Earth (Still Our Only Home)
3. She's A Woman
4. Full Moon Boogie
5. Darkness/Earth In Search Of A Sun [Side 2]
6. Scatterbrain
7. Blue Wind
Tracks 1 to 7 are the album "Jeff Beck with the Jan Hammer Group Live" - released March 1977 in the UK on Epic EPC 86025

Albums 1 and 2 are credited to JEFF BECK GROUP, 3 and 4 to JEFF BECK and 5 to JEFF BECK with the JAN HAMMER GROUP and album credits are available online at the musicmadesimple.info website.

Across the seven tracks of 1971's "Rough And Ready" (his 3rd album) - Beck wrote the lot except "Max's Tune" which is an original by Drummer Max Middleton and "Jody" which is a co-write with Brian Short - a UK folky of Transatlantic Records fame. For both "Rough And Ready" and the follow-up "Jeff Beck Group" he enlisted the help of BOB TENCH on Soulful Lead Vocals, MAX MIDDLETON on Piano, CLIVE CHAMAN on Bass and COZY POWELL on Drums. Both records are more Soulful Rock than just Rock - feeling like Blood, Sweat & Tears meets Earth, Wind & Fire by way of England. "Got The Feeling" is great Soulful Rock with Tench giving it some Joe Cocker growls and feeling while the upbeat Side 2 opener "New Ways Train Train" sounds so American in a Delaney & Bonnie way. On the second album we open with the uber-cool funk of "Ice Cream Cakes" with the band sounding not unlike Atlantic's COLD BLOOD but with a male singer instead of Lydia Pense. He does a cover of Carl Perkins' "Glad All Over" that is almost unrecognizable (hence the arranged by Beck credit) and a wickedly soulful take on Dylan's "Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You". "Sugar Cane" is a co-write with Booker T & The MG's guitarist - Stax genius STEVE CROPPER. And not for the first time - he visits obscure soul by doing a cover of Rosetta Hightower's "I Can't Give Back The Love I Feel For You" - a 1968 7" single on Toast in the UK that highlighted the writing of Ashford & Simpson along with HDH's Brian Holland. But my heart belongs to the fabulous instrumental finisher "Definitely Maybe" - so good and so typically Soulful in a way that seems natural to Jeff Beck. [Note: Fans will know that both of these albums have only been available on CD on expensive Japanese imports for years - here the remaster sound is great (doesn't say who did it or what source they're using) but they both sound great - full and clear]

Things go into another league both musically and aurally on his hugely popular "Blow By Blow" and "Wired" albums from 1975 and 1976. Apart from the dense layers of guitar-funk and the utterly hair-raising licks - the first thing that hits you about "Blow By Blow" with a full-on wallop is GEORGE MARTIN'S genius production. It sounds amazing and has always been a 'audiophile' release for that reason. His slowed down and funkified cover of The Beatles' "She's A Woman" with a voice-box vocal is so damn clever too - the keyboards flitting from speaker-to-speaker like a dance. But the giant on here for me is his instrumental version of Stevie Wonder's "'Cause We Ended As Lovers" which Beck dedicates to guitar hero ROY BUCHANAN (on Polydor Records) - even aping Buchanan's famous bending-notes style. The vocal version of this gorgeous song is on Syreeta's album "Stevie Wonder Presents Syreeta" from 1974 on Tamla Motown. Beck's searing solo on it is surely a career highlight. The album "Wired" simply made good on the brilliance of "Blow By Blow" but brought on board Keyboard wizard JAN HAMMER and ex Mahavishnu Orchestra Drummer and songwriter NARADA MICHAEL WALDEN. I've lost count of the number times I placed "Come Dancing" on a 'Funky Funky' type compilation (a NMW original) while his cover of the Charles Mingus perennial "Goodbye Pork Pie Hat" sees him wisely go all vibes Soulful. Another highlight "Blue Wind" is returned to for the 'live' set a year later - and easy to see why - it boogies. We get all clavinet funky on "Play With Me" and it ends on the lovely and mellow "Sophie". Of the live stuff I remember the three Jan Hammer originals "Earth (Still Our Only Home)", "Full Moon Boogie" and "Darkness/Earth In Search Of A Sun" as all being new. The playing is extraordinary and production values much the same.

So there you have it - a shed load of good stuff to discover (or rediscover) from an axeman who never ceases to amaze...

PS: check out his 2008 BLU RAY "Performing This Week...Live At Ronnie Scott's" with Lady Bass Player Tal Wilkenfield - wow!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2009
JEFF BECK, who in the recent couple of years and certainly since the Live At Ronnie Scott's shows,CD and DVD is thankfully getting the credit he should have received years ago. Got that now get this incredible 5 CD pack of Beck at his very best indeed.Every one of these is a classic album, 'Wired' and 'Blow By Blow' will make any list of great all time guitar albums, but on top of that two with Jan Hammer Band one of them the live one and The Jeff Beck Band with the fabulous Bobby Tench on vocal duties.These are albums every guitar head should have because they set the benchmark for every other guitar rock album since.Just go onto Jeff Beck on Amazon's CD page and check the track listings because these albums each one of them stand the test of time incredibly.The price for this treasure trove alone should have you ordering right now. Reissue of the year these are albums for every year,and they don't sound dated just absolutely fantastic.Each band on each album is full of great musicians backing surely the greatest guitarist ever to come out of Britain, and among the best three electric guitarists of all time. Buy these albums play the set through and your sure to agree !
22 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
This looks to be great value as the two Jeff Beck Group (second line up with Max Middleton, Cozy Powell etc) have scandalously long been unavailable on CD.

BUT looking through the track list for "Rough and Ready"- the first and best of the two Jeff Beck Group albums included on this, it is apparant that one of the stellar tracks- the moody 8 minute instrumental "Rayne's Park Blues" is ommitted!

On my vinyl album is is at the end of the first side. It must be something to with using a US rather than a UK release.

But its a great shame as without RPB Rough and Ready is a lesser album. I can never go through Raynes Park on the train without this track coming into mind- very evocative of an otherwise undistinguished London suburb.
44 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2010
This is essential listening for any student of rock music, and the tutor could not have been better. The collection may be a historical journey, and some of the early more funky tracks do not stand the test of time as well as others, but Beck's style is consistently original. His recent 'Now playing at..' live recording is a more than worthy follow-up to this boxed set, and comparisons of such as 'Since we've ended as lovers' is testament to the reverence with which he treats other people's original material. Although I do not like every track, this set is worthy of 5 stars in the context of a major chunk of rock's history, throughout which Beck has consistently set a very high standard. Bedrock ? - certainly more than a foundation stone.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
I'd like to just start by saying that my copy doesn't contain the 2 bonus tracks listed on the reverse of the cd under 'blow by blow'. I'd then like to say that this doesn't matter because its absolutely fantastic.

Blow By Blow and Wired are arguably his most compete works, but his step into fusion is made even clearer with their predecessors availability on cd at a price to good to be true!

Blues rocker he is not, nor is he an exclusive stratocaster meistro as he has been for the last couple of decades (although multiple guitars were used during recording) he is however, a top, top drawer player and one of only a very very small few that continues to improve to this day.

Do yourselves a favour and buy both the classic album sets and own 10 albums of unique, interesting, raucous and frequently beautiful playing and composition. True, he didnt write the vast majority of the songs he puts his name too, but what he brings to the compositions is breath taking. Throw in a live album and you can't go wrong!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
One disc in here I've not got round to playing yet and so have the pleasure to come; it's the Jeff Beck Group one. I wasn't expecting anything much from Rough And Ready but absolutely love it and so the JBG disc has to be at least pretty good then!

I went straight for Wired when I cracked this open as I had the LP years ago and it grew on me from being a type of music I wasn't familiar with to being something that made me aware of the further possibilities with 'rock instruments' I guess... and then some time later I discovered how great the likes of Weather Report are. Though I think Blow By Blow is great, I still like Wired most and can't see that changing.

The live album was also far better than I thought; actually a lot of fun and I've gone back to play that a couple more times now. I can see the other Jeff Beck OAC set on the horizon, veering towards me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2008
A lot has been written about Mr Beck over the years and with respect it has all been good.. no one seems to have a bad word to say about this guy.. His history is obviously rich and varied but it starts with a band called the Tridents he joined in 63,he once said `our music was a wide open sea of emptiness where I could do as I wanted` so mastering guitar techniques of his idol Les Paul, Jeff had room to expand his sound. then we get Eric Clapton leaving the Yardbirds and Jimmy Page being approached about the vacancy, Page declines and suggests Beck. only with the band for 20 months guitar fuelled rock was becoming their trademark.1966, Beck leaves. joining Moon,Page,and J.P.Jones the (band) cut Becks bolero a B side of Jeff`s solo hit single `hi ho silver lining`one of his few ventures as a vocalist, 67 Jeff bumps into Rod Stewart and the Jeff Beck group was born, it was too good to last the group split on the eve of their biggest ever gig Woodstock.. next we have a car crash which holds back Jeff and stops the formation of Beck Bogert & Appice for a few years the other two guys from Vanilla Fudge form Cactus instead.. However Beck jumps back and the power trio is formed a good studio album is cut ,the best part of this group was the LIVE gigs, totally amazing and a live album did surface from a Japanese tour.a blinder.. Beck then passes the offer to join the Rolling stones and instead puts out an instrumental album Blow by Blow` followed by Wired,then Live with Jan Hammer,we get more albums where you can find Jeff, never wanting to be pigeon holed into any real style and always changing and on the move, Jeff Beck recently played a gig in the UK , and a big amount of the audience were fellow guitarists and musicians.. He is the guitarists ,guitarist..this five album original classics is a fantastic place to start ones collection and the low price is something to be taken advantage of..
44 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)