Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whatever happened to the Sleeperblokes?
I think that there were two main problems with Sleeper. Firstly, I don't think they were ever sure themselves whether they wanted to be a classic pop band or a classic indie band, and the mish-mash of styles is clear here. Secondly, their main asset also turned out to be their curse: Louise Wener. She was someone who could always be relied upon to come up with a great...
Published on 26 Nov 2008 by MisterKeith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
:)
Published 1 month ago by Curly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whatever happened to the Sleeperblokes?, 26 Nov 2008
By 
MisterKeith (Southgate, London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I think that there were two main problems with Sleeper. Firstly, I don't think they were ever sure themselves whether they wanted to be a classic pop band or a classic indie band, and the mish-mash of styles is clear here. Secondly, their main asset also turned out to be their curse: Louise Wener. She was someone who could always be relied upon to come up with a great quote or turn of phrase - the ideal rent-a-gob for the mid-90s, and she was a surprisingly good frontwoman at a time when Brett, Liam and Damon were the media darlings. That said, as a result, the other band members were anonymous to the point of oblivion, making the "Sleeperblokes" a focus for some (undeserved) derision in the weekly music press.

And they turned out some excellent witty pop songs in their time, most of which are included here - the "Get Carter" referencing "Delicious" always was a great tune whilst trying to be an indie-thrash, with later songs such as "What Do I Do Now" and "Sale Of The Century" showing a slight progression in sound.

To be fair, they probably split up at the right time - before it all got stale, old and repetitious (something certain other Britpop bands could and should have learned from). I remember Sleeper fondly, and most of what you need is here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top notch pop from the 1990s, 13 Dec 2007
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Sleeper were a rare thing. Songwriting talent combined with the look of the 90s plus they could pull it off live. Front-woman Louise Wener was the darling of the indie press for several years - a fine looking woman who could pull controversial quotes out of the bag like there was no tomorrow. They stirred up a lot of excitement with their first few releases, creating many collectable singles and EPs. With their catchy pop-hooks and clever vocals they had hit after hit until the record buying public went elsewhere for their trendy record collection. listen to this alongside the likes of Shed Seven and you will hear the talent versus the hype. A good CD for re-living your wasted youth. Oh, and jon Stewart is a mighty fine guitarist, songwriter and all round good chap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yay 90's indie, 9 Feb 2011
By 
R. Scriven "Rob" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
If you like 90's indie then this is a nice bit of nostalgia. Sleeper where I think much underrated at the time, something to do with being fronted by a girl perhaps, for some reason girl fronted bands never seem to be taken quite as seriously. Some nice if unspectacular tunes, mostly happy, bouncy indie pop. I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer enjoyment, 28 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This album took me right back to when I heard their music the first time around. Most of the favourites are here on this album - it won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Bought as a present but i know they throughly enjoy this cd, again has a great number of tracks on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will certainly miss you!, 12 May 2011
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I loved the album The It Girl by Sleeper but never got round to buying Smart or She's a Good Girl. They seemed to go out of fashion with the latter album which is a real shame because I love Louise Wener's voice and attitude. The lyrics are fun and thought-provoking and this collection has been a mainstay on my iPod ever since I got it. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 Nov 2014
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Sleeper
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews