Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Near perfection
A great collection - I always used to look forward to hearing what old song would be revived on the reverse of each single. I can see why songs such as 'Plastic Surgery' might have been excluded, as it was actually by the original Ants and presumably not owned by CBS, or not relevant for this collection of 'old songs by the new Ants', however what stops me awarding 5 out...
Published on 25 Oct. 2011 by Ernest*Scribbler

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a collection of the best b- sides
I much prefer the music Adam Ant and his bands came out with before the Prince Charming LP and his other solo works. This album seems to contain less of the best and more of less able efforts,perhaps even some dross,like Juanito the Bandito and Why do Girls Like Horses......piffle......
Published 11 months ago by andy.b.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Near perfection, 25 Oct. 2011
This review is from: B-Side Babies (MP3 Download)
A great collection - I always used to look forward to hearing what old song would be revived on the reverse of each single. I can see why songs such as 'Plastic Surgery' might have been excluded, as it was actually by the original Ants and presumably not owned by CBS, or not relevant for this collection of 'old songs by the new Ants', however what stops me awarding 5 out of 5 is the failure to include 'Press Darlings', probably my favourite of all the 'new/old' B-sides (amazingly this didn't even make it onto the expanded re-issue of KOTWF). Surely this was a more essential track than an instrumental version of 'Vive Le Rock' or a remix of 'Making History'. This, together with 'Cartrouble' and 'Kick' would have been far better than those two tracks and made this a perfect album - bring on the revised re-issue!
Nevertheless, a great collection of tracks and a lot better than some of the later solo albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly perfect., 28 Feb. 2011
This review is from: B-Side Babies (Audio CD)
I say NEARLY PERFECT because ' Plastic Surgery ' is missing. I used to travel all the way from Welling to Acton, to see Adam and the Ants back in 1978. For me the halcyon days before they got " Mclarened ", I can only hope they re-release this collection and include it, as the only place I know of it`s existence is on the ' Jubilee ' soundtrack. I also read in an interview with ' TRENT REZNOR ', that he sighted both ' You`re so Physical ' and ' Plastic Surgery ' as being massive influences on his own music, don`t know why I mentioned this particularly , I just don`t know when I will get another chance to impart this info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sex Situationist, 9 April 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: B-Side Babies (Audio CD)
Before Adam divorced punk he was an unnatural innovator. Adam, Banshees and Wire all hurtled from the Pistols Super Nova into unknown sonic territories. Adam like Billy had good looks, charisma and a penchant for the peverse, hugely influenced by all things Malcolm.

The questionning of 3rd Generation Punks of the original influences; Situationism, Marcuse, 1968, Alan Jones, Dada, Surrealism, Fluxus only occured because punk quickly became severed from its philosophical roots.

Journalists desperate to reclaim a movement passing them by, jumped into the arena to redefine it. Pre 77, the UK was even more class segregated and obsessed than today. Subtle changes over 30 plus years have been gradual. The upper classes, now aware they appeared ridiculous, see Henry Rawlinson of Rawlinson End are desperate to appear middlebrow normal. David Cameron and his Eton Rifles desperately trying to ape middle class norms, was never an issue in MacMillan's "You've never had it so good," day.

The public school detritus has always gathered in swathes to populate journalism, dominating the Guardian, Telegraph, Times, Mail, Express and the music papers. Even proto proles, Parson's and Burchell reversed the norms simply to join the insiders club, the new reactionaries. Punk had a defining effect and the big marker of change was the silence greeting the Queens Golden Jubilee, a ripple of polite applause from the elderly and blank stares from the mass. The upper classes need to find a new identity, is punks social legacy seen again at the opening of the Olympics.

Whilst punk traversed class interests based on surrealism and situationism it was forever an uneasy alliance. Look at the tensions in Crass between Steve Ignorant and Penny Ribaud?

Malcolm was the key to the embedded philosophy, the man was exposed to ideas, first and foremost. Embroidering them on his clothes, loud, brash and bright and Adam was attracted to the glamour. He came across a hidden fetish scene at Sex and Seditionaries, the portal to an S&M world of Irving Klaw, Eric Stanton, Bettie Page and later Allen Jones. Malcolm created bondage trousers combining sex with the political, one a hidden pleasure and the other the mundane use of power on people to enter and tain(t) them, particularly children. Bondage was a condition people aimed to contain themselves within, trapped in the dialectic of also trying to escape the strictures of their social worlds into some Bowie Bolan planet of glitz and glamour.

Adam just pushed the envelope even further, based on Malcolm's tutoring. This album of B sides highlights his detournement of pop pulp. A sides for the teens ,and the old Ants B sides recomposed thoughts. As a strategy it helped him to keep his teeny bop/ secretary audience happy, whilst maintaining sales to the bemused proto punks.

On this disc the chaff has been sieved, the mixture distilled; and it is around 80% proof. The best is the first 80%, tailing off towards the end. Adam gave us Red Scab, Physical and Beat My Guest, bringing S&M out of its dungeons and brown paper bags. Adam's exploration of S&M, was hated by journos who felt uncomfortable with a playing with power. It brought back the repressed memories of public schools, as now the hidden was brought into the light. S&M also signified National Socialist codings of floggings and erotica. Playing with power was something the upper classes did, black leather, whips, the smell of sex, all something perverse. The Stranglers also suffered from the same myopic view.

Adam churned out the kitsch pizzaz of pizz and bling bringing home the bonhomie of the 80's empty sterile office party on the A; Prince Charming, Stand and Deliver became couched in stripey shirts, red braces, red Porsches, and brick sized mobile phones.

The B sides are Adams repressed desires, his dark esoteric visions given full sonic production. Eventually Adam became addicted to material success and left his art visions behind. Perhaps if he re-engaged with the latter his personal malaise may have shifted as the music represents a polarity, the beaming actor of the A and the dank underworld of the B.

Adam's gift to the world was sex situationism. This album is exhibit B Side Baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kabuki junkie, 25 May 2007
By 
This review is from: B-Side Babies (Audio CD)
I remember buying this CD on it's arrival into the what can only be described as a mass circus of habitual drudgery! But as usual Adam did not fail to impress! being an Ants fan for many years i was pleased to finally see a celebration of the most creative B-sides known to man.

starting out with Fall in the B-side to Antmusic you start the magical trip through some very clever material. Adam & the Ants are the one band

that stand on their own in the music world and certainly do not need any

fancy write up's they are self sold the minute you put on an album! This compilation opens up the stuff you may not be familiar with and if you are

not impressed by it then you are not listening hard enough! but don't just take it from me buy the album and hear it all for yourself! You will soon be a B-side baby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A LIFE ON THE FLIP SIDE, 18 Mar. 2011
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (follow us on Face... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: B-Side Babies (Audio CD)
This is a fascinating collection which I have owned for a while now. Whilst Adam was racking up the chart hits in the early Eighties, he was using the flip side of the singles to try, test and at times recycle ideas from his punk days. The result is actually quite scintillating, with some powerful compositions and great ideas coming to the fore, many of which can be described as 'Left field'. Collected together, they actually make quite a balanced and coherent album which often seems a million miles away from his more commercial songs. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovin' it!, 31 Dec. 2009
By 
M. Bishop "Fifer" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: B-Side Babies (Audio CD)
This might be an album of B sides, but it includes some of my favourite Ants tracks which deserve more than to be hidden away on a B side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-Side Babies (Audio CD)
Turned up in good condition and the Adam-Ant obsessive lady loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, 10 Nov. 2007
By 
M. Bishop "Fifer" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: B-Side Babies (Audio CD)
A collection of songs that were destined only to be B sides, but which could, and maybe should, have been on an Ants album slotted between Dirk and Kings. These tracks would have been lost when Adam took a change in direction that lead to stardom, but they were just to good for that. So Adam put them on the B side of both Ants and his own solo singles over the next few years. Press Darlings really should have been included, but still, a great collection and one of my favourite Ant CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-Side Babies (Audio CD)
This is a great cd, but 1 track is missing - press darlings, not sure why this wasnt included!

It took a while to be delivered & then i recd a letter saying it had been dmamaged in transit so another one was sent. At least i was kept informed though.

I would recommend to other adam ant fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-Side Babies (Audio CD)
Excellent all round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

B-Side Babies
B-Side Babies by Adam Ant
Buy MP3 Album£8.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews