Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revenge of the Priest!
After the critical flops of Turbo and (especially) Ram it Down, Priest really had something to prove to metal fans. This album, originally released in 1990, also came off the back of their infamous court case. This album takes all the pent up aggression and frustration the band must have felt, and unleashes them in a sonic display of fury. This album is like a metal fist...
Published on 20 May 2005 by Steven A. Wall

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I prefer the pre- 'British Steel' Priest sound,
I recently returned to bands that i appreciated in my youth and still love the Unleashed in the East and Stained Class (great vocals,production is to clean and stifles the Priest sound) . The Painkiller album i suspect would have sounded tired and derivative on it's release and time has not helped. There is a nod to Slayer which is a shame since Slayer are so obviously...
Published 1 month ago by Peter Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revenge of the Priest!, 20 May 2005
By 
Steven A. Wall "stevenwall2k2" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
After the critical flops of Turbo and (especially) Ram it Down, Priest really had something to prove to metal fans. This album, originally released in 1990, also came off the back of their infamous court case. This album takes all the pent up aggression and frustration the band must have felt, and unleashes them in a sonic display of fury. This album is like a metal fist to the face, it will leave you breathless in it's sheer relentless energy. Priest ditched kiddy-fiddler Dave Holland and appointed the awesome Scott Travis to the drum stool. His amazing double bass drum work really propells the Priest sound to dizzying heights, as Tipton, Halford, and Downing fully embraced the trash/power metal influences in to their writing style. The album can really be summed up in the first 2 minutes of the title track, in which the Priest effectively deploy all their sonic WMDs to maximum effect - Scott's drumming, Glenn and KK's riffing and Rob's scream. What follows is an utterly relentless metal onslaught - look up the definition of "heavy metal" in an encycopedia and there should be a picture of Painkiller! The only respite comes in the introductions to some of the songs, and the classy, menacing "Touch of Evil", which is the only slower track on the album (but no less powerful). In fact, the only criticism I could raise for the album is that it is so uncompromising - if you prefer the light and shade of, say, British Steel or Killing Machine, this may not be what you are looking for (try Angel of Retribition instead for a modern Priest album). As an exercise in demolishing their critics and their own self doubts, this stands head and shoulders above the rest of the Priest catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BONE SHATTERING UBER-METAL FROM THE MASTERS., 24 Jun 2009
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Phew! What can you say that hasn't already been said? This album blew the cobwebs of hair metal straight out the door and good riddance to it.

Painkiller is serious Heavy Metal. A fast, frenzied, in your face, relentless charge through 10 slabs of pure, unadulterated metal. From the opening salvo of the title track things never let up. The drum intro to Painkiller from the newly appointed Scott Travis is breath taking. And while the tempo of the album never lets up until the slower (but none less heavy) Touch Of Evil, there is still enough melody and diversity in there. It isn't a thrash album, it's a classic old school metal album taken to the extreme.

There isn't a bad song on Painkiller and the highlights are obvious - Painkiller, All Guns Blazing, Leather Rebel, Night Crawler... oh heck, they're all good. But my personal favourite is One Shot At Glory. It's the kind of song that makes you believe you can take on the world and win.

The only down side? Well, at times you do perhaps wish they'ed put something a bit more ballady in there just so you could catch your breath. But that's a small point. There are other Priest albums that I would personally rank higher but that's probably because I got into them in the 70's and those albums mean a lot to me but Painkiller is a fantastic record and sadly would be the last with Rob Halford for 13 years.

If you love metal and don't own this album; please, please, please do yourself a favour and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars End of an era as Halford leaves with a bang, 1 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
When I first heard `Painkiller` , I was totally blown away by the sheer heaviness . As a longtime fan of Priest , I expected extreme metal but this was pushing the envelope even further than before . This would be their most genre defining album since `British Steel` . It was the opening and title track of the album that set a pace that never lets up . Even today it sounds stunningly contemporary and fresh . Elsewhere songs like `Hell patrol` and `One shot at glory` send shivers up the spine such is the dramatic urgency of the delivery and production . Check out the atmospheric `Nightcrawler` and `Touch of evil` if you want to hear a band at the peak of their creative powers . Sadly , `Painkiller` would be the last album to feature vocalist Rob Halford , who left two years later . Rumours of a reunion still persist but this album will stand as a testimony to the power of the Priest . Behold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all guns blazing!, 25 May 2005
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Listening to this 15 years after i first got the album, and it sounds as strong as ever. In my opinion the best Priest album since the late 70s at least, opening with the powerful, fast Painkiller and keeping the quality throughout with outstanding tracks such as All Guns, Night Crawler and Touch of Evil. You can really see the influence on later bands such as Arch Enemy here as well as the likes of Megadeth etc. This is JP at their dynamic peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best drums intro solo ever., 15 Mar 2013
By 
E. Vernia - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
The best drums intro solo ever.
Ever ever.
You need to have it in your collection, it's a must have.
No excuse.
You need this CD, seriously.
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great return to form, 21 Nov 2011
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Ram it Down was a terrible album. Tired and lacking in inspiration, it seemed to signal a band in terminal decline, unsure of their footing in a changed musical landscape. Thrash was on the ascendancy and the new kids on the block, like Slayer and Metallica, had the new art form nailed. It really was do or die for the Priest. And their response was to release 'Painkiller'.

To say 'Painkiller' turned up everything to '11' would be an understatement. Injected with the technical powerhouse of Scott Travis on drums, the results are simply staggering. The bludgeoning title track 'Painkiller' heads the assault from the off. This is a massive two fingers to all the doubters - it says, 'look, we can play loud, we can play fast, we can scream in a pitch that only dogs can hear, we can sing about a mythical man with paracetemol super powers and we don't care'. Obviously this would all be laughable if it wasn't any good - but it is good, in fact it's superb. Track after track on (what was) side 1 assails and pummels the listener into submission, from the equally daft and brilliant `Hell Patrol' (not a song about the front line dangers in Afghanistan, but a song about a patrol in Hell, I think), 'All Guns Blazing' and 'Metal Metaldown' ( a grown up version of the lamentable 'Hard as Iron' from RID). Side 2 heralds a slower, more melodic pace, with the excellent punchy single 'Touch Of Evil' and album closer; 'One Shot at Glory'. This is traditional, high quality, classic Priest fare in the vein of say Screaming or Steel - heavy, yet still melodic. The highlight of what was side 2 is undeniably the massively riff laden 'Between The Hammer and The Anvil', where Rob gives it his absolute all in the vocal department.

This is overwhelmingly a great album, bolstered by fresh and bright production from the excellent Chris Tsangarides (of Anvil film fame), who has managed to turn the metal factor and loudness up to MAX, enough to give you a migraine in fact. Hence the name of the album does begin to make some sense after all...

Daft cover though...I wonder if I can get it on a T Shirt?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Review: Classic Album, 1 Dec 2009
By 
F. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
This is an easy review to write. If you're a JP fan, then you already know how good this album is, and you want to see what other fans have to say about it. If you're new to JP, perhaps a young one exploring the great metal bands, then you cannot go wrong if you listen to Painkiller: get it and prepare yourself to keep listening to it for quite some time.

With Painkiller, JP were back to their heavy metal 'orchestral' shape: the rick texture of their guitar sounds, interwoven with harmonic riffs, melodic guitar solos, and Halford's voice, accompanied by the pumping drums and bass that take off at a searing pace with the the opening two tracks: Painkiller and Hell Patrol.

It's very difficult to weed out a weak track in this album. My other favourite tracks are All Guns Blazing and Night Crawler: pure classic class!

'This is the Painkiller!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neck snapping, 4 May 2008
By 
Mr. Robert Jones "jonesr001" (Woodbridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Just astonishing. Blistering riffs underpinned but Scott Travis' amazing drumming and Ian Hill's bludgeoning bass, Halford hitting notes that only dogs can hear, scorching solos ... I could go on. Power metal at its absolute best. I returned to Priest after hearing this LP. Okay, the lyrics are as ridiculous as ever, but who cares ? Pure escapism. Put it on, bang your head, ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a fine album of metal !, 12 Oct 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
1990,priest had sold out as many believed on their album turbo,released ram it down prior to this which didnt do much better,painkiller was their album where the word metal finally sat side by side with the bands name after a few years of doubt.
This in turn would be rob halfords last priest album for 15 years,he would leave citing differences with the band members,this was his legacy for an age and quite a way to go.
The album incorporated what the band did in the late 70s but with a more speed metal ethos,heavier than maiden at the same time and faster,this turned many a fans head.
Of course when listening to it today as i am,one cant help but feel it isnt as heavy as some would have you believe,it isnt,but for priest it was a statement and a half.
Halford sceeches his way through this with falsetto screams that influenced many,many bands,three inches of blood are one band that just springs to mind.
Album opener 'painkiller' is relentless in its charge and is extremely catchy as well,the solos feed of each other as if played by the angels in heaven or indeed the devils in hell,fantastic.
'hell patrol' and 'all guns blazing' are excellent tracks as well,fast and catchy,yes the album does have some very naff lyrics but when did priest ever challenge the style of someone like dani filth for profound lyrics.
'Leather rebel' shows halford with a change of sorts in his vocal style,it suits perfectly,fantastic drumming races along with fine double kick drumming,the riff on this track is one of the albums most memorable but they are all more or less a success and air guitar is probably needed so get tuning them in.
What i like about this album is the fact that all of the songs last from between 3 to 6 minutes,this works in the bands favour,the songs dont outstay their welcome and the force of them stays largelu undiluted,a mistake so many bands make,priest knew their game well at this juncture even if they didnt know this was to be their last album with this line up for many a year.
'Metal meltdown' is corny as the title may suggest but its metal needs no sharpening,this is again a fine track.It slows down towards the end to rock like a hammer and send shivers ripping my spine to pieces,perhaps with this in mind this is the heaviest track on the album.
People will sometimes query whether maiden or priest were the best band,priest came first but maiden had the better tracks on a more consistent basis,maiden for me everytime but i would not argue with people that say this is the most metal album of the two bands.
'Nightcrawler' is another track that rocks the socks off the listener.so six tracks in and still no let up on quality,speed and intensity,very metal indeed.
'between the hammer and the anvil' is a glorious track with some belting solo work that would have the hair on your wee neck dancing away.
'a touch of evil' starts with a synth and then a guitar punches along with it and has a Queen feel to it at first,its kinda ballad like in style without really showing itself to be one,not the best song on the album,doesnt really seem in place with what has gone before but no harm in it i guess.
'battle hymn' is a less than a minute instumental serving more as an introuduction to the albums final track,an atmospheric number that wouldnt be lost as an intro to a cradle of filth song,and with that comes album closer'one shot at glory' which uses dual guitar to the pinnacle of perfection again,this is how it should be done.However,the chorus isnt the strongest,the galloping guitars are inspirational but i think a stronger chorus was needed here,a fine enough end to a great album but not the five star masterclass that many state,not far from it but not perfect.close though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST METAL ALBUM EVER, 4 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
This is not a "classic" album. In fact it came out during the Heavy Metal's falling years and you won't find it being mentioned in the MUST HAVE albums of metal experts.
BUT (and a big one) this one is the most strong and solid Metal album ever been recorded. Who cares about the cheesy lyrics?? Priest were always like this. THE MUSIC HERE WILL SIMPLY BLOW YOU OUT.
Priest's PAINKILLER and Maiden's POWERSLAVE are the best metal albums EVER. period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Painkiller
Painkiller by Judas Priest
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews