Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my favourite album...ever!
In 1987 I was fourteen years old. I lived in Glasgow. Raintown came out, I loved it then, and I love it still. Deacon Blue manage - perhaps more than anyone else but in the mould of Van Morrison, Brian Kennedy, Steely Dan, to evoke the world from which the come. A mix of blues, folk, and good good songs, Raintown defined the mood of a nation with Dignity, an anthem for...
Published on 15 Aug. 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars BLUE VINYL EDITION - Looks nice, but sound isn't very good, minimal download bonus
This is one of my favourite albums, which of itself I would rate higher than three stars. As for the actual product, this is not great. The blue vinyl is quiet - which is good as the sound level seems a little low. The tracks are not cut very close to the end of the sides, which is also a bonus. However, the top end is not reproduced very well: there's less high...
Published 19 months ago by Mike the Fish


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A classic!!, 10 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
The best album to date with classics such as "when will you make my phone ring" and "dignity" as well as lesser known but equally fabulous hits such as "he looks like spencer tracy now". An easy listening and at times soulful album that personifies the band at their best!! Love deacon blue, love this album. Good Times All Round!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blue vinyl edition, 16 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. E. G. Buckingham "bucko 73" (nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown - Vinyl [VINYL] (Vinyl)
very impressed with the sound quality nice and sharp very clean. demon records do a superb vinyl press. haven't noticed anything bad like the previous reviews but then I di use my turntable (Stanton t92) with a ortofon arkiv stylus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars BLUE VINYL EDITION - Looks nice, but sound isn't very good, minimal download bonus, 20 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Raintown - Vinyl [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is one of my favourite albums, which of itself I would rate higher than three stars. As for the actual product, this is not great. The blue vinyl is quiet - which is good as the sound level seems a little low. The tracks are not cut very close to the end of the sides, which is also a bonus. However, the top end is not reproduced very well: there's less high frequency information and it sounds smeared/fluffy in that area too. A common 2nd hand, inexpensive, black, thin vinyl copy of the album sounds much better to me. This blue pressing doesn't appear to suffer the compression and challenging top end of the Sony Legacy remaster, but it just isn't as good as it could be, and has been. There is a download voucher, for the album in mp3, but that's all you get, and some nominal artwork - but not even the sleeve notes that came with the CD edition.

The album artwork is pretty good, although it looks like a scan of an original sleeve with some of the typefacing tarted up. The inner sleeve looks to be newly type set, mine was very tightly stuck with static to the record on arrival making it a challenge to remove. The sleeve has a little creasing as a result, and the vinyl had a lot more friction contact with the sleeve on first go than was necessary. The labels essentially the same as the original albeit with the Demon name rather than CBS, and maybe some small text details.

If you want a pretty record, then this could be for you, if you want the album to sound good you can pick up a second hand copy of the thin black vinyl for not very much. The old black vinyl has been my preferred version for sound against the original CBS CD and the Legacy remaster. I've not compared to the Demon CD yet though, although I read somewhere it used the same mastering as the Legacy - I hope not. (What a horrible name for a record label too.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 1st Album, 26 July 2013
By 
P. Hindhaugh (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
In my opinion the 80's wasn't a particularly good period for British music with a few notable exceptions - U2, Icicle Works, The Men They Couldn't hang and of course the wonderful Deacon Blue. Still sounds great today, 25 years on and boasts one of the classic tracks of all time 'Dignity'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly one of the great under-rated albums, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown (MP3 Download)
Truly one of the great under-rated albums. From the opening bars of Born in a Storm to the close of Kings of the Western World the band do not put a foot wrong. One of the finest albums of the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Album!, 11 Feb. 2012
By 
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
Each and every song on this Album is or could be a hit! Ricky Ross's vocals backed so well by Lorraine McIntosh are incredibly strong. Lyrically brilliant this album will stand the test of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ricky and Lorraine - Wow!, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
P. Bradshaw "paulbrad" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
Best album of all time - I keep coming back to it every year - bought this as my original CD broke. Deacon Blue are an amazing live and studio band. Check out all of their back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Deacon Blue classic, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
My favourite Deacon Blue album - all the tracks are absolute classics - Loaded, Dignity, Chocolate Girl and When will you make my phone ring. Absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deacon Blue:- Raintown, 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
Raintown - Deacon Blue:-
This was slightly dissapointing in it's content but it will still get played on occaisions. Deano 4748
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raintown (Audio CD)
Bought this as a gift for my husband. Although he has the original release, he thought this was brilliant and loved the extra tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raintown
Raintown by Deacon Blue
Buy MP3 Album£6.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews