Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I defy you to name an MC that could see Prodigy in '95., 16 Feb. 2004
This review is from: The Infamous (Audio CD)
Amazing. It's shocking to believe that Havoc and Prodigy were only 19 when they made this classic CD. Their first album "Juvenile Hell" flew right over the heads of the hip-hop world but after hearing such mindblowing performances such as the ones that Mobb have produced in "The Infamous" & "Hell On Earth" - the rap world will be on a hunt for that album. 1996 was when Havoc used "Hell On Earth" to shine. "The Infamous" however belonged to Prodigy. Assisted with the gritty beats provided to him by Havoc, Prodigy invited the listener to hear him rip every single track. With guest appearances such as Nas, Raekwon & Ghostface Killah (all on the same track) he had some help. Who could deny this album being a classic after songs such as "Survival Of The Fittest" and "Shook Ones pt. 2" being hip-hop anthems?
Personally, "Hell On Earth" was better but this is a must-have nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I open my eyes to the streets...., 18 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Infamous (Audio CD)
This album defies the process of time. Although I bought it in late 1994, it's one of those that has stayed at the forefront of my selection ever since. The term 'wise beyond his years' is one which aptly describes both members of this crew. The lyrical delivery is sometimes awe-inspiring, and with a bizarre twist of irony, the ugly subject matter is dropped beautifully. One of the best rap albums of all time, and I don't say that lightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So you like the Mobb's latest with 50 Cent?, 12 Jun. 2006
By 
Dazher (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Infamous (Audio CD)
So you like the Mobb's latest with 50 Cent? And now you're looking at what albums they did before?

First off - this isn't the same Mobb that stars alongside Fiddy!! (I can't stress this enough - the music is significantly different)

Now go and find samples of the following tracks to listen to:

Shook Ones Pt II

Drink Away The Pain

Cradle to the Grave

Survival of the Fittest

If you like these 4 then buy this album as these are only 4 of 13 great tracks and give a good idea of the spread of music on this album (or better yet get the double pack with "Hell on Earth" included too)

This is, arguably, the best of Mobb Deep's output (personally I like the rawness of Juvenile Hell but that's my opinion).

If you still prefer the Fiddy co-operations check out the Mobb albums: "Amerikaz Nightmare" and "Murda Muzik"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOBB DEEP-THE INFAMOUS-CLASSIC, 24 July 2006
By 
This review is from: The Infamous (Audio CD)
this undoubtedly is one of the best rap albums ever made, it basically takes you through a day in the life in the new york projects, the production on this is gritty but really good, it has haunting piano samples and drum loops which really suit the dark mood of the songs and the album, havoc and prodigy are really good rappers as well, they may not be as charismatic as say, biggie, nas, or Big L, but they are still great, they both have really good flows(especially prodigy), really good lyrics, multi syllable rhyming and wordplay, the subject matter on this album is really dark too, mobb deep rap about running from police, friends in prison, depression, and various other things, although now mobb deep have signed to g unit and are really bad, back in 1995 they were great, if you are a rap fan i would highly recommend this, if you dont already have it, you will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The incredible mobb deep, 8 Aug. 2004
This review is from: The Infamous (Audio CD)
This lp is amazing. Prodigy and Havoc not only show their ryhming talents but also show their producing talents. There is not a weak track on this lp and it covers all issues of growing up on the streets. You feel that you can understand what they are talking about and compared to commercial hip hop, it stands out a mile. If you already own material from mobb deep and you dont have this yet, WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN? get it now! If you havent heard mobb deep yet but like genuine hardcore hip hop then this is a must buy for you, mobb deep at their best.
It features guest appearances from the ghostface killah, Q tip, raekwon and nas. My favourite track is the dark 'shook ones pt II' which features an incredible beat, maybe the best beat i have ever heard. This lp is a definate 10/10 and deserves every record sale it gets, and then some!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Infamous Debut, 6 Dec. 2004
By 
G. J. Shanks "DJ Max-Ray" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Infamous (Audio CD)
Look. If there is one album that symbolises all that is grimy and atmospheric about east-coast storytelling, this is it. From the start this album takes you on a journey though the streets of Queensbridge, NY, and spits you out the other side, leaving you wanting to go back around again. The album showcases some the greatest MCs of the mid 90s (Nas, Raekwon and Q-Tip), but it is the performances and production of our hosts- Prodigy and Havoc that leaves you most impressed. Prodigy can flow, no doubt. It is just unfortunate that they never again reached these heights. Own it, now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE INFAMOUS...... MOBB DEEP, 5 Aug. 2005
By 
This review is from: The Infamous (Audio CD)
The best album created by the Mobb nothing better, the music is sooo good and Havics production varies form the trademark Dark Piano style to some lighter beats to lace less violent, hardcore rhymes on songs like drink away the pain and up north trip. The best songs here are eye for an eye, right back at you, q-u hectic, shook ones pt II (this is by far the best song) and survival of the fittest. If you listen to rap this is the album to get whether you listen to the Mobb or not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The infamous, 29 July 2010
This review is from: The Infamous (Audio CD)
This CD is indefinately my most favourite album of all time, due to many reasons, firstly it amazes me why it hasnt received more praise and credit due to hav and p's ability to articulate 90's new york streetlife which they make so vivid and surreal with their laid back but stern rhyming styles. The general theme for the Album is street life but this is what i feel the hip hop community has failed to deal with many times as any hip hop album that doesnt use generic themes pertained within popular culture or idealistic notions to make a point gets phrased as "hardcore" or "street" which i feel is unfair as hip hop as an oppresive art form supposedley represents artisits viewpoints from the struggle, which sadly doesnt reflect most mainstream hip hop nowadays and thats exactly what the infamous album brings from tracks 1 all the way through to 11 you get nothing but a raw uncut portrayal of new yorks working class hell which personally i dont feel has been described so honestly by any other artist or group for that reason i wouldve have given it a straight 5 mics back in 95, lol stand out tracks for me:

1. Start of your ending
2. Shook ones part 2
3. Trife life

Must buy for any avid hip hop fan!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so much more than shook ones, 19 Mar. 2005
This review is from: The Infamous (Audio CD)
i admit i purchased this album because i knew about shook ones (pt2). that may not even be the best track on the album. this album gives a great incite of life in queens. prodigy produces some quality rhymes (for me verse 1 on trife life stands out), havoc can rap too but his production is perfect for the themes. the middle section (from tracks 3-9) really makes the album. look out for the big noyd verse on give up the goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 26 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. W. A. Third "will_3rd" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Infamous (Audio CD)
The output of New York Hip-Hop scene in early to mid 1990s is well documented, but this album is rather overlooked along with AZ's Doe or Die.

But aside from that this album is top dollar, the production (inc. Q-Tip) and lyrical content is second to none. The Mobb's MC's Prodigy and Havoc are in fine form and guests appearances from Nas, Raekwon and Ghostface Killah round out the line up.

Some of the finest cuts on this album include personal favourites 'Survival of the Fittest', 'Eye for a Eye (Your Beef Is Mines)', 'Right Back at You' and 'Q.U.-Hectic' are simply outstanding. Rating among some of my favourite beats and lyrics in Hip-Hop.

I can't recommend this album enough if you are a fan of Nas, the production style of the RZA or the Wu-Tang Clan.

All in all a fine album, that a lot of fans of Hardcore Hip-Hop should own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Infamous
The Infamous by Mobb Deep
Buy MP3 Album£6.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews