Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Legend lives up to his name!
'Get Lifted'was without doubt my favourite album of last year and a day rarely went by without me listening to it. I worried that John Legend would find it difficult to produce anything that came even close to living up to the success of that album. But he has truly proved the appropriateness of his name by bringing us a stunning album that is completely different to but...
Published on 30 Oct 2006 by Lovin' This Album

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm?!
No denying his voice is as great as ever but I think I need to keep listening and hope it grows on me.
Published 5 months ago by raceytrace


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Legend lives up to his name!, 30 Oct 2006
This review is from: Once Again (Audio CD)
'Get Lifted'was without doubt my favourite album of last year and a day rarely went by without me listening to it. I worried that John Legend would find it difficult to produce anything that came even close to living up to the success of that album. But he has truly proved the appropriateness of his name by bringing us a stunning album that is completely different to but equally as brilliant as his debut. This has a more mellow sound to it but retains Legend's wonderful ability with lyrics resulting in some deeply emotional and exceptionally beautiful tracks. I thought it almost impossible but his voice has developed too, I can't imagine ever tiring of hearing this man's sound. Some stunning love songs - 'Each Day Gets Better' and 'Where Did My Baby Go' mix with the more risque lyrics of 'PDA (We Just Don't Care) and 'Another Again' and there are some more upbeat numbers there too 'Stereo' and 'Save Room'. This would be a perfect soundtrack for a night in with the love of your life!

I'm sure this album will have a more widespread appeal than his first and will bring appreciation of his talent to a wider audience. At the moment it seems that he can do no wrong. If you liked 'Get Lifted' you'll love 'Once Again', if you haven't yet tried John Legend you could ask for no better introduction.

Buy this album you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Living up to his LEGENDARY status!, 7 Nov 2006
This review is from: Once Again (Audio CD)
John has done it again! No sophmore jinx here, John has put together a beautiful album, great from begining to end and not like anything else out there today. And if you are expecting "Get Lifted pt. 2" forget it, but u will Get Lifted AGAIN. Yes there are songs that can easily go on the Get Lifted album but Once Again is differfent, for those of us old enough to remember, certain songs take you right back to the "good old days" of SOUL music. And dare I say that Johns voice is FLAWLESS? OK I WILL, John's voice is flawless! You dont want to miss "Once Again" I suggest you approach it as if you have never heard of John Legend before, go in with an open mind and come out with a musical experience you won't forget!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Legend, 2 Mar 2007
By 
P. J. Ollerton "PJO" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once Again (Audio CD)
As a follow on from the excellent debut, this is a truly impressive progression and proves that Legend is living up to his name. Greater variation, subtlety and depth than his first album, which makes it slightly less accessible but more rewarding long term. If you like blues and soul you will not fail to enjoy the talent this guy displays with every track. Saw him live and his performance was flawless, confirming he is a true legend in the making. If he can keep focused and productive, will take his place in the hall of fame among Marvin Gaye, Sam Cooke, Stevie Wonder et al. Not many other artists, if any, of the last 20 years can make such a claim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Get Lifted, 20 Nov 2006
By 
Alicia Dear "Alicia" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once Again (Audio CD)
This is a top album. Save Room and Each Day Gets Better are amazing tracks. Its a really nice album to chill out to, just need a glass of wine to compliment it. Get Lifted was an excellent album, but Once Again is even better!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I don't care about propriety / Let's break the rules / Forget society.",, 29 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Once Again (Audio CD)
His explicit banner doesn't string high enough to pull off the mischievous boast of "P.D.A.": to place Legend as a bad boy. Instead this album places Legend on doing throwback to clean-cut crooners like say ....Smokey Robinson, which makes him once again, an appealing singer-songwriter and a legend in the making. Even though Kanye West shifts his cocky nature further into the corner this still comes out a great album. "Once Again" is defiantly more low-key and less bold than his debut album. But I think his new album is far more ambitious. Usually with more ambition comes a higher degree of difficulty. Once I gave this album a second round I fell madly in love with it.

From the opening track "Save Room" to the last emotionally thoughtful track "Coming Home" this album is great and I'll say it again....... It's great! I can listen to this entire album without skipping one track. I love most of the tracks but some of the best cuts are from Legend's vintage soul era and several Motown-styled tracks produced by Will.I.Am -- "Each Day Gets Better," "Save Room," of course and "Slow Dance" -- is well suited to Legend's classic soul vocals. "Stereo," "Show Me," and "Where Did My Go," are just as beautiful as well as lyrically stimulating because he manages to have you sing right along side with him.

After hearing this album it proves to be a successful second coming. I don't consider it a disappointment in the least. You have to applaud and appreciate an artist that's not afraid to walk the beat of their own drum (so goes the saying). To me it would have been way too easy to make another "Get Lifted," so instead of taking the easy way he decided to shift gear, take on to this challenge and managed to executed it very well.

I'm glad to have this album and I also support his desire to try new things and explore other areas of music while still maintaining his R&B roots. Legend might lose a lot of dedicated fans regarding this album but a lot new fans can accommodate those vacant areas and then some. Much Love John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good..., 24 Oct 2006
By 
Alistair Kay "Ally" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once Again (Audio CD)
Having been blown away by 'Get Lifted' and by seeing the man himself live in concert last year I was expecting massive things from this album. It is good but you have to listen to it a few times to appreciate some of the songs. No one song really blew me away though other than perhaps number 13. Alot more mellowed than some of the collaberations on the previous album. Definetly worth listening to but was always going to be a big ask to match the success of his first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He definitely did it 'Once Again'..., 24 Oct 2006
This review is from: Once Again (Audio CD)
I had the great pleasure of going to see John Legend in concert at the Royal Albert Hall (which was absolutely amazing btw), and he sung a lot of his new material (i think 9 out of the 13), which was beautiful, so i couldn't wait to buy his album and listen 2 the studio versions :)...

John has an amazing voice, but it has excelled even more on this album. It made me want to rewind and want 2 hear him sing wateva part, again :) he had so much emotion behind his singing, it brought out so much tone and atmosphere to his voice..

I love the whole album, but i absolutely love the

songs 'Again', 'PDA', 'heaven', 'once again' and 'save room'. 'where did my baby go', is so reminiscent of the sounds of sam cooke. i luv it :).

I love how this album is different to his debut, but the standard is still high, if not better. it has a beautiful classic soul feel to it overall, so if u r into the old skool, u will not b disappointed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of a Generation, 25 April 2007
By 
Toby Clayton "T.Clayton" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once Again (Audio CD)
This album is arguably the best r'n'b album of the last ten years. It's got everything you want in a cd of this nature. The maturity of Legend as an artist is remarkable considering this is only his second album. The first was admittedly superb, but this one has a more organic and retrospective feel. i love the fact that there are no featured artists on here, it's all about Legend. Topics vary throughout the album from the gospel-tinged to cheating on his girl to war. His voice is always spot-on, with emotion and soul, and his skills on a piano make the melodies of the album that bit more beautiful. Of course it always helps to have the big name producers helping out such as Will.I.Am and of course Kanye West. But all in all, this is an album from the heart and genius of John Legend, I feel and hope that he will be around for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's done it Once Again, 11 Oct 2006
By 
N. DINES "Nick" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once Again (Audio CD)
Having left the safety blanket of producing for big names in the R&B world, such as Lauryn Hill and Alicia Keys, John Legend went solo, selling three million copies of his debut album, `Get Lifted,' excelling on his own, proving what many had always thought.

The three time Grammy Award winner had set the pedestal too an enviable height and The Royal Albert Hall was the litmus test for his new material, `Save Room.' If his `Get Lifted' failed to engage people first time around, his latest collection will surely extend his popularity in this country.

Days after hosting hip-hop god, Jay-Z, Legend had to compete with the rave reviews and high expectations. Performing in a venue fit for royalty, Legend had the audience captivated as they were truly in the presence of a king of his musical genre. There's a fine line between arrogance and confidence and Legend's cool demeanour has found this mark.

Legend purposely set about entertaining and swooning his audience with a number of new tracks, `Heaven Only Knows,' `Stereo,' `Each Day Gets Better' and `P.D.A' providing a conveyer belt of romantic messages. Each track proved as polished as the piano he was orchestrating. However this proved his one flaw as his audience had to wait for the first recognisable track they yearned for.

The prayer track, `Slow Dance,' which Legend explained was co-produced by friend and fellow artist Raphael Saadiq, proved an instant crowd pleaser as did `Again' and his imminent new single `Save Room' which already had the crowd mouthing the lyrics.

The audience was soon awoken from the hypnotic ballads with some of Legend's original material, `Lets Get Lifted,' `I Can Change,' Used To Love You' and `She Don't Have To Know' which had a more bouncier rhythm, engaging the full house.

Legend typically saved his very best until last with an untouchable version of `Ordinary People', which was greeted with continuous applause. He was to soon acknowledge similar if not greater thanks than his pal Kanye had received as he completed his set only to return for an amazing rendition of hit single `So High,' which sent everyone home happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man's a Legend!, 6 Oct 2006
By 
Richard Manning (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once Again (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of 'Get Lifted', his fantastic debut album, I went to see John Legend at the Royal Albert Hall on 2nd October, where he performed about 10 tracks from the new album. I must say, I wasn't expecting such strong material from the follow up (my expectations were high), but you can expect more strong melodies, some beautifully crafted lyrics and a good mix of up tempo anthems and ballads.

The stand out tracks include the new single 'Save Room', a mid tempo classic soul number. In fact all the tracks performed were very reminiscent of the nu classic soul of artists like Maxwell and Lynden David Hall.

'Stereo' and 'Show Me' really uplifted the crowd, and the beautiful 'Where did my baby go' is this album's 'Ordinary People'. All in all a fantastic performance from an extremely talented singer/songwriter. If you enjoyed the first album, you'll love this. [...] A true talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once Again
Once Again by John Legend
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews