Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars haunting and beautiful
John Debney's intense, melodic score adds much atmosphere to Mel Gibson's magnificent film, but can also stand on its own as intriguing and lovely listening. It uses a lot of background vocals and chanting to great effect, and fascinating instruments that give it a middle-eastern flavor; notable is the duduk, which is an ancient double-reed similar to the clarinet, often...
Published on 29 Feb. 2004 by Alejandra Vernon

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works on screen, not on an album
I have heard about the Passion ever since Septemeber and have kept a close eye on its progress. In the back of my mind i was always wondering who the composer would be. I initially thought it would be either James Horner (who callobrated with Mel Gibson on Braveheart) or Hans Zimmer and/or lisa Gerrard. Never in a million years would i have thought John Debney to be a...
Published on 16 Mar. 2004 by TBudgen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars haunting and beautiful, 29 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Passion of the Christ (Audio CD)
John Debney's intense, melodic score adds much atmosphere to Mel Gibson's magnificent film, but can also stand on its own as intriguing and lovely listening. It uses a lot of background vocals and chanting to great effect, and fascinating instruments that give it a middle-eastern flavor; notable is the duduk, which is an ancient double-reed similar to the clarinet, often used in Armenian folk traditions.
It is a score that changes from gentle tenderness to percussive strength, always interesting in its many moods. A few tracks have lush string arrangements, and track # 9, "Mary Goes to Jesus" takes flight on wings of sound.
Other contributors to the score are Jack Lenz, Shankar & Gingger, with lyrics by Lisbeth Scott.
It is all at once inspiring, peaceful, and energizing music, and a score that I will be listening to many years from now.
See the film, and hear the music; this is the rare stuff that changes lives with its beauty, power, and truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting music from the film, 3 July 2004
By 
This is truly superb music in the same style as Hans Zimmer's Gladiator soundtrack. Just as the film made me weep, so too does this soundtrack have the same power to evoke the same reaction. Since seeing the film back in April, I have played this CD at least once a week, and some days I just put it on repeat for a couple of hours. For those who haven't seen the film and/or aren't 'into Christianity' then the music itself can easily stand apart from the film and be enjoyed for what it is - a CD containing some excellent classical pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music That Surrounds, 15 Aug. 2004
This is by far the best album in my collection. The compositions suited the film well and are robust and full enough stand as an album on it's own.
If you're after music that you can get lost in, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Visceral and Mesmeric Masterpiece, 11 Feb. 2007
By 
Adil J. Hussain (South Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This score is enchanting. What I really loved about John Debney's soundtrack here was his mesmerising use of choral vocals and strings. At the end of track 8 is a great example of music that just gives you an awe of admiration for genius mix of melody,structure and emotion.

If you haven't seen the film, then play this CD all the way from start to finish - because this score contains lots of variation throughout the 15 tracks.

John Debney was a strange choice for composing this film, but he probably did a far better job than anyone could have done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another score from a master, 5 Jan. 2008
Don't let the movie put you off this score. Whether you like the subject matter or not, Debney has worked another simply stunning score into his repertoire and one that should be bought and treasured by anyone who claims to love movie music.
For those who haven't heard of this composer, it serves as a brilliant introduction to his work and also implores you to purchase his other works. He doesn't get the headlines and he doesn't have the reputation otside film circles but listen to this or Cutthroat Island and then say he isn't a master of his art.
Breathtaking epic scroring that soars from heights to depths in feeling and emotion matching the journey depicted in the movie. Mel Gibson shows that he knew class when he found it. Buy this and treasure it. It's destined to become a true classic in future years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and amazing, 19 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
Excellent soundtrack to an excellent film. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful and emotional piece of music, 21 Oct. 2010
By 
M. Mulholland (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cd takes you along with Christ, through His Passion. The music is very thought provoking and you can imagine yourself going through everything He did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds Familiar..., 29 Mar. 2004
An excellent soundtrack, and one which sounds almost identical to Peter Gabriel's The Passion, the soundtrack to The Last Temptation of Christ. You could mix the two together and hardly notice the difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 26 Feb. 2004
By 
C. P. Jackson "jacko_1984" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passion of the Christ (Audio CD)
What can i say except, what an excellent score!! Not since the likes of Gladiator or, it can be argued, LOTR has there been such a sountrack that is both haunting and emotionally draining than this! If the film is anything like the soundtrack we're in for one hell of a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome soundtrack, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passion of the Christ (Audio CD)
fantastic soundtrack, great soundtrack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Passion Of The Christ - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews