Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic - but perhaps about 40 years too late
The Coral are a band who seem to deny the existence of any decade of music beyond the 1960s, which - depending on your point of view is either a great or frustrating thing - and their last album 'The Invisible Invasion', as decent as it was, had left me growing slightly tired of their sound. This album, however, restores all faith in their ability as songwriters and...
Published on 17 Feb. 2008 by Andy Sweeney

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too lightweight
The Coral's fourth full length album starts very well with the fantastic light psychedelia of lead single Who's Gonna Find Me. With its strong melody, harmonies and chord changes, it's difficult to think of a better song released in 2007. Sadly the same can't be said of much of what follows on Roots & Echoes.

The main problem with R&E is the dominance of...
Published on 4 Jan. 2008 by Greg Farefield-Rose


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic - but perhaps about 40 years too late, 17 Feb. 2008
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roots & Echoes (Audio CD)
The Coral are a band who seem to deny the existence of any decade of music beyond the 1960s, which - depending on your point of view is either a great or frustrating thing - and their last album 'The Invisible Invasion', as decent as it was, had left me growing slightly tired of their sound. This album, however, restores all faith in their ability as songwriters and musicians - it's a fantastic listen, full of vintage, top-class songs seeping with craftsmanship and quality.

On 'Roots & Echoes', The Coral have controlled their excesses and tendency to throw in the odd sea-shanty or two and, instead, produced an album with shades of late 60's psych-pop reminiscent of The Zombies. In fact, has this album been released in 1968/1969, it would probably be talked about as a classic but, instead, it is compared alongside it's influences and the obvious charges of unoriginality and being derivative are, whilst perhaps valid, slightly frustrating given the fact that this really is brand new, well-written, fantastic music.

If anyone doubts the songwriting ability of The Coral, they should check out the dreamy 'Rebecca You', the catchy 'Who's Gonna Find Me' or the beautifully touching 'Not So Lonely'. In fact, this could quite easily lay claim to being The Coral's best album. It's certainly on a par with my previous favourite, 'Magic & Medicine' and the two albums certainly share similarities in terms of direction and consistency. There are no weak songs here, just track after track of soaring melodies performed with passion, pure love for music and the very aurally-pleasing acoustic, late 60s sound, with touches of organ, strings and wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's here, 24 Aug. 2007
By 
Cuban Heel "Neil Schiller" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Roots & Echoes (Audio CD)
This is the album I've been waiting for from The Coral. There have been some outstanding tracks before - most notably 'Dreaming of You', 'Goodbye', 'Pass it On' and 'In the Morning' - perhaps the biggest hint of what they were capable of came with the entire second album 'Magic and Medicine'. Anyway, they've finally delivered here. This is an absolute classic.

The same influences are on display here as before: Merseybeat, The Doors, Love, Them - this time around there is more than a passing nod to the Walker Brothers. But it's so much more than just a pastiche of their heroes. What they've done this time is to really focus on crafting a consistent collection of songs. And the result sounds really polished and timeless. The artwork gives it away really, harking back to the days when bands really worked on delivering albums rather than a couple of singles and a load of disposable tracks.

I'm sick of hearing about how many great bands there are around at the moment because there really aren't. It's a crime The Coral get overlooked in favour of pretty bland output from the likes of Razorlight or The Killers. But I have a feeling I know which band is going to stand the test of time, especially on the evidence of 'Roots and Echoes'. I can't recommend it highly enough. Check out 'Rebecca You', it's the best song I've heard since, well, since 'In the Morning'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real SONGS, 4 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: Roots & Echoes (Audio CD)
The Coral are one of the best bands out there today and this new one shows why. They always show you a new side to themselves. Don't listen to anyone who says this isn't as good as their previous albums because there's less chaos & upbeat songs. This has its own timeless sound, and displays classic songs that still sound fresh and have the lovely bizarre feel for which we love these gents. 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An astounding album, 30 Dec. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roots & Echoes (Audio CD)
Not being a huge Coral fan, I was blown away by 'Who's gonna find me' which (I think) they performed on the Friday Night Project. I promptly downloaded it and played it to death.

In the true spirit of free downloads, I thought I'd buy the album. How surprised I was! I've had it 6 days now and it's been played constantly. Far from being a one-trick pony, this disc is filled with delights from start to finish. With hints of John, Paul, George and Ringo right through to Love and other West Coast influences, I am delighted once again to find a disc that I want to play and play and play. Friends that have heard this playing are asking who it is, and are amazed to hear me say The Coral. I think I've just found a new favourite band!

Highlights for me are 'Rebecca you', 'Who's gonna find me', 'Jacqueline' and 'In the rain'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 17 Dec. 2007
By 
John F. Doyle (Ludlow, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roots & Echoes (Audio CD)
I've waited two years for another release from The Coral and it was well worth it. Not a bad track on the album - this band really do write & perform proper songs and this is another superb album in their evolution. One of the best albums of the last couple of years, I can't recommend it strongly enough. 'Put The Sun Back' and 'Rebecca You' are the stand outs for me among and album of eleven very decent songs.

The Coral must be one of the best British Bands of recent years. As other reviewers have already said there are other bands who are awarded far more of the limelight who only have a fraction of The Corals talent.

Go and buy this album everyone, it's a cracker. Even if in doubt, the current price of £5 - £6 is hardly the stuff regret is made of, but regret it you won't!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Q: Who's Gonna Find This?, 7 Aug. 2007
By 
Chris Gower (Rayleigh, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roots & Echoes (Audio CD)
A: Hopefully everyone who likes listening to above average talent as this record proves to be.

The Coral seemed to disappear into the wilderness after the single release of 'The Invisible Invasion' from the album of the same name and, with only 2 single releases from that particular album, it seemed The Coral were fading from the public eye.

However, Roots and Echoes is their way back in. After a clever publicity stunt of supporting the ever popular Arctic Monkeys in the summer I hope this record gets the sales it deserves. Stand out tracks are 'Put The Sun Back', 'Rebecca You' and the first single release 'Who's Gonna Find Me?' and, in my personal opinion, there is not one weak track on the album.

Safe as one review suggests? Maybe. I would say this record sits nicely between being safe and being experimental...and it really works. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's a place where the music plays, 18 Aug. 2007
By 
D. Smith (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roots & Echoes (Audio CD)
I'm not bothered about whether this album is 'safe' or not, let's just enjoy some damn good music. The Coral have yet again produced an album of high quality, not only in terms of songwriting and musicianship but also of production. The Gallaghers' studio can be used again for me, and they should keep both Craig Silvey and Ian Broudie to twiddle the dials.

James Skelly's vocals are his best yet, much more vitality and expression than on The Invsible Invasion but more mature and subtle than on the first two albums. I also like the string orchestration; it's a first for The Coral, but it adds extra depth and layering to the songs, particularly to Music at Night.

I honestly don't think there's a weak track on this album unlike some of its predecessors. Standouts for me are Put the Sun Back, Jacqueline and the awesome She's Got a Reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I knew they had a masterpiece in them..., 8 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Roots & Echoes (Audio CD)
...and this is it!

The Coral have always been influenced by Love, and it is even more in evidence here, especially with the superb Forever Changes-style rumbling drumming on "Remember Me" and "Rebecca You." The guitar freakout at the end of "She's Got A Reason" is also reminiscent of Johnny Echols on "A House Is Not A Motel." For an Arthur Lee fanatic like myself, this is as good as it gets!

I didn't think that they could better their excellent debut album, but this shows how they have matured immeasurably, with the musicianship on display quite simply breathtaking.

5 stars, no question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What it says on the Tin, 17 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Roots & Echoes (Audio CD)
With The Coral, more than any other band, you know exactly what you are going to get with every album and they never disappoint. Roots and Echoes is no exception - great uplifting melodies and lyrics for any occasion. Not a bad song to be found here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Safe - but so what?, 6 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Roots & Echoes (Audio CD)
I've already seen a rather average review of this album describing it as safe and predictable. So okay, the Coral may not be innovative, but who is these days - there's nothing really new under the sun.
Personally I think the Coral make great melodic music. Okay it might not be that memorable, and despite having all their previous albums and enjoying them thoroughly, I'd be hard pressed to remember the names of even half a dozen of their songs. But the fact remains when the discs are playing they are full of melodic, well constructed, sixties influenced pop/rock music and this album is no different. It's difficult to single out individual tracks - suffice to say that there isn't a bad tune on the album, and if you've liked the Coral's previous work, or you're a fan of other Merseyside bands such as the Zutons or the Stands (who I understand have now disbanded), you will certainly enjoy this. It's also certainly better than the new Thrills album. The Thrills are in some ways a similar type of band, but they've disappointed since there first album; it helps that the Coral have a much better singer too! The Coral might not have broken any new ground with this release, but they've certainly not disappointed and it's easily as good as any of their previous albums.
I'm not sure where the band can go from here as rather like the Beautiful South did they've probably taken their type of music as far as it can go. I do fear diminishing returns with their next release, but whatever happens in the future at least we have four excellent albums from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roots and Echoes
Roots and Echoes by The Coral
Buy MP3 Album£5.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews