Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old friend finally gets what it deserves
Having been a dyed-in-the-wool Nilssonian for nearly 30 years I had always been in the camp that preferred the follow-up 'Son of Schmilsson' to this, Harry's real 'breakthrough' album...but this reissue may be about to change all that...
Firstly, the sound on this reissue is wonderful; much clearer and 'livelier' than the recent Camden version. The song which really...
Published on 23 Feb 2004 by Mr. M. O. Harry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I expected from Nillson
I watched a program on telly about Nllson's life and found him to be just the type of guy who takes life by the horns and has a go at it at full pelt. Unfortunately he went a bit too hard at the wall and it ended up killing him. However, the man has a great voice and a fantastic range. For these reasons I bought three of his CDs. Unfortunately on listening to them I was...
Published 6 months ago by Dunx


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old friend finally gets what it deserves, 23 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. M. O. Harry "Marc Harry" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having been a dyed-in-the-wool Nilssonian for nearly 30 years I had always been in the camp that preferred the follow-up 'Son of Schmilsson' to this, Harry's real 'breakthrough' album...but this reissue may be about to change all that...
Firstly, the sound on this reissue is wonderful; much clearer and 'livelier' than the recent Camden version. The song which really jumped up at me in a whole new way was the beautiful 'You'll Never Leave Me' where the voice, instruments and orchestra weave their magic together to make for a completely marvellous aural experience! All the favourites you'd expect to hear on NS are similarly 'reborn': Coconut (which many only know from its numerous film soundtrack appearances - e.g. Reservoir Dogs, although the recent US Diet 'Lime' Cola ads may add a few sales to this release as well), 'The Moonbeam Song', 'Jump Into The Fire' and perennial heartbreaker 'Without You' all sound better than ever, unless you are especially nostalgic for the rumble and click of vinyl, of course!
The bonus tracks, however, are the icing on the cake and are worth the (cheap) price on their own. 'Without You' in Spanish, 4 early demos of tracks on this and later Nilsson albums and the typically quirky and never before heard 'Lamaze'...and there's still more to come if you listen to the end.
The packaging is attractive and informative with quotes from most of the personnel involved and, as is usual these days, superb, humorous and informative liner notes from Nilsson-fan extraordinaire Curtis Armstrong (yes...that one, 'Nerds' fans!). I doubt I'll play my other 4 NS discs much more apart from the bonus cuts - THIS is the benchmark. Thanks, RCA/BMG!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Live If Living Is Without You , Can't Live Anymore, 24 Aug 2007
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"In which the whimsy and vocal pyrotechnics of Aerial Ballet and Pandemonium Shadow Show, now cunningly collapsed into a disc called Aerial Pandemonium Ballet, are apotheosized under the direction of popmeister Richard Perry. The bathrobed recluse who shows his unshaven face on the cover (his well-stocked fridge is on the back) veers from kitsch fantasy both romantic and comic to terrified evocations of everyday existence -- that kicks off side two). The two-and-a-half years since his last real LP, Harry, have been worth it -- if only every artist could learn to mark time until a good one was ready." Robert Christgau

Harry Nilsson was the sum of my musical existence in the late 60's and 70's. I fell in love with his voice and his music, no one could top him, he was the sum of all parts of the decade and in my mind. The Beatles came and left, Van Morrison was in his league but Harry was my man.This CD is the best of the man and his music- a CD I have never been without and this remastered edition 'Nilsson Schmilsson' is the best of Harry. I recently heard 'A Little Touch Of Schmilsson In The Night' and it is glorious, but this CD is mine. This CD took Harry to the top of the charts with one of my favorites 'Without You'. ;'Put the Lime In the Coconut, gave the CD a fairy-tale feel and 'Moonbeam Song' is just dreamy. "The Forgotten Soldier' brings us back to earth and 'Let The Good Times Roll' brought us back into the stratosphere. 'Jump Into The Fire' is seven-minutes of bliss that gave Nilsson a reputation of a talent of unusual depth and scope.

"Harry had an impish wit -- yet he hadn't made a record as cohesive as this since his first time out, nor had he ever made something as shiny and appealing as this. It may be more accessible than before, yet it's anchored by his mischievous humor and wonderful idiosyncrasies. Chances are that those lured in by the grandly melodramatic "Without You" will not be prepared for either the subtle charms of "The Moonbeam Song" or the off-kilter sensibility that makes even his breeziest pop slightly strange. In short, it's a near-perfect summary of everything Nilsson could do; he could be craftier and stranger, but never did he achieve the perfect balance as he did here." Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Harry Nilsson had a bumpy life of rock, folk and then roll. He is remembered in my soul and mind, and I find myself often singing his tunes,
'Put the Lime In the Coconut', 'Can't Live Without You'.

Highly, Highly Recommended. prisrob 08-24-07

The Point! (Deluxe Packaging)

Harry Nilsson - Greatest Hits

A Little Touch of Schmilsson in the Night

Son of Schmilsson

Harry / Nilsson Sings Newman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hits - Great Songs, 13 Dec 2002
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nilsson Schmilsson (Audio CD)
This being Harry Nilsson's most popular album (garnering three major hits), is Harry's most entertaining album. Every song is upbeat containing romantic, rock, silly and torch songs filling your ears. "Down" pushes the envelope of reckless rythym and blues abandon, while "Jump Into The Fire" showcases the same frantic voice working a drum/bass line that never lets up. "Without You" is his most known song, a true tear-jerker and "Coconut" will make you laugh or drive you nuts. Finishing off with the romantic "I'll Never Leave You", Harry Nilsson pulls on your heart strings. Richard Perry did a marvelous job of production; probably one of his best and for the perfect voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Big Album, 30 Oct 2002
By 
J. Skade "joeskade" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nilsson Schmilsson (Audio CD)
Nilsson finds a new producer (Richard Perry), travels to England and takes his first steps into his later Rock style. And the results make wonderful listening. 'Without You' is too famous to require comment except to say that the voice still astonishes after all these years. 'Gotta Get Up', a gentle rocker a la McCartney, has always been a personal favourite whilst 'The Moonbeam Song' is unmistakeable Nilsson which would not sound out of place on 'The Point'. But there are signs that all was not progress. Whilst 'Coconut' has its charms, its humour is less subtle than before and the whimsy more prominent - and 'Jump into the Fire' is more self indulgent than any earlier Nilsson song.
But this still a fine album worth anyone's money.
The bonus tracks are skippable but 'Old Forgotten Soldier' is lovely in this unadorned version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nilsson Schmilsson, 15 Jan 2010
This review is from: Nilsson Schmilsson (Audio CD)
Having grown up listening to this music on a vinyl record it was great to be able to find this album digitally mastered on a CD. The recording is as clear as a bell and of high quality and, if you like Harry Nilsson, is a great addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 14 Aug 2011
By 
Bz (Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nilsson Schmilsson (Audio CD)
Like others, no doubt, I was re-introduced to Harry Nilsson and his work by the recent BBC documentary in the Imagine series. A well constructed commentary of Harry's life and work, this encouraged me to buy this CD the following day. I know some shudder at the term 'Re-mastered' but I have to agree with earlier crits - this revised version is stunning. Anybody searching for examples of 60's and early 70's music MUST have this in their collection as an example of a singer-songwriter's performance. A brilliant musician and wordsmith.
( Currently unavailable from Amazon because of 'a purchaser's complaint' - words fail me )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has to have time to 'grow'., 1 Dec 2013
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nilsson Schmilsson (MP3 Download)
In many ways, an unremarkable album from what was at the time - and still is a much highly regarded Singer/Songwriter - especially in what one may have expected of perhaps only being familiar with the major chart-topper `Without You' which stayed at number one for five weeks in the UK in the spring of 1972. This had been the first Single record I'd ever purchased with my own money and so naturally sticks in my mind. I recall playing the B Side just as much `Gotta Get Up' which is also featured here on this album. Apart from these two great songs, there's very little else to appeal upon first listening, though it has to be said that Harry Nilsson had a remarkable voice. However; after several listens, this album does tend to grow and one is able to appreciate the style a lot more - but just not what one may have expected given the more popular material the listener may be familiar with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Nilsson, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nilsson Schmilsson (Audio CD)
Always been a fan so loved this album I had it as a LP but now can play it on my cd player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic music, 1 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. Richard A. Spanner (Colchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nilsson Schmilsson (Audio CD)
A great album from someone who did not really achieve the status that he deserved. Probably this was his own fault,but listening again to his music reflects how most of the current performers fail to satisfy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nilsson Schmilsson (Audio CD)
CD Nilsson Schmilson
Just as I remembered the songs Very quick service and a good price.
I brought it for my husband to replace his old tape. He was equally impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nilsson Schmilsson
Nilsson Schmilsson by Harry Nilsson
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews