Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reason to love Lou
Lou Reed needed to make this album. His previous work, the infamous Metal Machine Music had alienated all except the chin-stroking arty brigade. No one in their right mind would call that collage of feedback and screaming a work of genius, however bold and unprecedented. So with his recording contract with RCA hanging by a thread, mounting legal battles, no money and no...
Published on 10 Aug 2007 by Ryan Douglas

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, But A Few Classics.
It's a familiar story with Lou Reed's mid-seventies albums, as it is with his weaker eighties albums, there's always a few tracks worth getting the album for. Coney Island Baby has a couple of the finest Reed tracks you can hear. The title track's homage to the fifties is, as always with Lou in this mood, touching without resorting to sickly sentimentality. It is an...
Published on 21 Jan 2003 by Mr. G. J. Taylor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars At his most beautiful..., 11 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coney Island Baby (Audio CD)
Now, this is a gem. Lou Reed at his most beautiful. Mellow & romantic, in that twisted Lou Reedish fashion, it is often overlooked by the glamtastics Transformer, Berlin etc, but it more than holds its own. I defy you not to fall in love with the gorgeous, dreamy melodies of 'Crazy Feeling', 'A Gift' & the swoony title track 'Coney Island Baby'...Buy & love. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A GIFT..., 11 Mar 2014
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Coney Island Baby (Vinyl)
This is one of Lou Reed's most divisive albums that splits opinion.

My own view (for what it is worth) is that it is an excellent album that has classic moments on it.

Lou is a lot more subdued here than on early releases and often the beauty is in the subtlety of the songs and the poetic lyrics.

For me, it is not quite up there with his very best, but it is nevertheless a lovely album which shows us another side of Lou's talent...after all, wouldn't it be boring if they all sounded like 'Transformer'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A GIFT..., 11 Mar 2014
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Coney Island Baby (Audio CD)
This is one of Lou Reed's most divisive albums that splits opinion.

My own view (for what it is worth) is that it is an excellent album that has classic moments on it.

Lou is a lot more subdued here than on early releases and often the beauty is in the subtlety of the songs and the poetic lyrics.

For me, it is not quite up there with his very best, but it is nevertheless a lovely album which shows us another side of Lou's talent...after all, wouldn't it be boring if they all sounded like 'Transformer'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best got better, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Andrew Aldridge (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coney Island Baby (MP3 Download)
OK, probably Berlin is the best Lou Reed album but this runs it a damn close second. I bought this on vinyl when it first came out in 1975, then on CD and now this expanded edition which is worth every penny. The new songs are superb though much more rocky with the exception of the brilliant 'Downtown Dirt' which would have fitted in very nicely on the original and I'm not sure why it wasn't included since running time wouldn't have been an issue. The remastering is very good and makes the familiar songs shine all the brighter. Where to start with them? Kicks, She's My Best Friend, Nobody's Business and the title track are sublime but there's no duds here. Much of the material is addressed to Lou's partner of the time, (the transvestite Rachel), and is sweet and sincere. (What a turnaround from 1974s Sally Can't Dance - Lou obviously loved her very much.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lou, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coney Island Baby (Audio CD)
Great Album by Lou reed I partially enjoyed the blurb in the back of the sleeve telling you of how the album came to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coney Island Baby like Lou Reed's others records on vinyl is perfect!, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
vinyl is the best support for Lou Reed 'voice : for the warmth , the deepness it produces. I got the vinyl in a perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lou Reed as few get to hear him...., 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coney Island Baby (Audio CD)
As a Bowie fan, I was one of the first to hear and love Vicious, Satellite of Love and so on. I dipped out of Berlin, but got off on The 'Yellow Banana' of The Velvets.

However, whilst adoring his later New York album, Coney Island Baby is my favourite. The first three tracks serve to set the scene but thereafter the rhythm kicks in with some riffs that will have your mind in replay mode all night for a week. You will literally have to go to the doctors to seek treatment for your addiction!

If you want to see just how much influence this genious had on the likes of, say, Mark Knopfler, listen to tracks like 'A gift' or Coney Island Baby itself. They are hooked-on masterpieces that you will find hard to put aside and that will drive your friends mad
until they themselves become intoxicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a classic, 15 Jun 2013
By 
dan (HULL, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coney Island Baby (Audio CD)
Lou Reed has produced many good songs and albums in the past, but having listened to Coney island Baby as it should be listened 'as an album', it is hard to argue that this is one of the best he's done.

With memorable songs like 'Crazy Feeling' and 'She's My Best Friend' that keep you humming all week through to the more blues-rock of 'Kicks', 'Nobody's Business' and 'Ooh Baby'. Lou Reed really hits the mark with every song on the album and the eponymous finale is a true gem. My particular favourite however is 'A Gift', a soft flowing song that, in classic Reed fashion, gains a new lift midway through as he adds an additional dimension with a delightful melody that runs on in the background.

Definitely one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Distinctive guitar sound, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coney Island Baby (Audio CD)
Bells on Crazy Feeling are brilliant.
Charley's Girl is one of my favourite Lou Reed songs
Kicks will make you jump when you're least expecting it.
Two really interesting versions of "She's My Best Friend", still not as good as the VU version, but the bonus track sounds particularly good, more upbeat and with Michael Fonfara on keyboards.
Title track is exceptional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Downtown Dirt, 17 Dec 2011
By 
Rooksby (United KIngdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coney Island Baby (Audio CD)
Am frequently overlooked LP but a terrific one, & definitely one of Lou's finest. Surprisingly accessible - bearing in mind that it's immediate predecessor was Metal Machine Music - Coney Island Baby is an immaculately produced collection of (frankly) GREAT songs, containing some of Lou's breeziest ("Crazy Feeling"), darkest ("Kicks"), funniest ("A Gift") & loveliest ("She's My Best Friend") compositions, whilst maintaining much of the lyrical brutality of Berlin & Sally Can''t Dance. The extra tracks are excellent too - several songs that would eventually turn up on Street Hassle appear here in earlier, superior studio versions (with Doug Yule on bass). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coney Island Baby
Coney Island Baby by Lou Reed
Buy MP3 Album£5.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews