Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars10
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2007
I have been completing my Lou Reed collection and putting the harder to find, more expensive ones last. This is a wonderful Lou Reed album, probably one of his best, but mainly available as a Japanese Import.
For some reason the last few albums from the Eighties (before the "return to glory" of New York) do not seem to have been reissued on CD.
I must confess to finding Metal Machine Music relaxing, and Lou is not for everyone, but if you like more than, say, three Lou Reed albums then you will really like this one.
I'm not going to do a track by track breakdown or anything actually helpful, but as Kevin Smith might say "Check this out"
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Wow, what a great album. From the rocking opener I Love You Suzanne this is one song after another of Lou at his melodic best, with horns, keyboards and backing singers used to great effect. As a celebration of life, it does occasionally hint at the dark side (like violence in Endlessly Jealous, My Friend George and loneliness in What Becomes A Legend Most) but the overall impression is one of finding magic in everyday experiences. My favourite tracks are Doing The Things … with its glorious girl chorus and the almost ethereal, breezy High In The City (“Don’t wanna talk politics today/Feelin’ pretty witty/Getting’ high off of the city …” and that just about sums up the mood of the album.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 August 2006
Occasionally inspiring and never less than solid New Sensations shows Lou coming to terms with modern technology far more effectively than many of his contemporaries. The mid eighties was a strange time in music because traditional instrumentation/recording methods seemed so deeply unfashionable even the musical greats felt it was necessary to compromise their sound simply to be heard.

Lou is largely successful here, particularly with the title track 'New Sensations'. His use of a drum machine in addition to band member Fernando Saunders highly effective bass makes for a Lou classic. 'I Love You Suzanne' is also highly effective - its rock 'n' roll spirit proving a great deal of fun.

Many of the songs lyrics (in particularly the chorus's) do sound a little repetitive especially 'Down At The Arcade' and 'My Red Joystick' but these songs do reveal themselves to be rather addictive on repeated listens.

New Sensations is one of Lou's most commercial albums (and poppiest) and that's by no means a bad thing on this occasion.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
Im not saying its his best but for me its my favourite.I suppose it depends what you expect from a Lou Reed album. Ive always been more drawn to his more melodic side (going back to the V.U)then his more experimental work,consequently TRANSFORMER to me was his ultimate accessible masterpiece,with the fusion of lyrics to great melodies and catchy hooks.NEW SENSATIONS follows the same tradition it might not be his deepest work but its certainly his most catchiest & happiest with Reeds distinct vocals sweetened by the effective use of backup vocals throughout. Though the 80s production slightly dates things if you're into energetic catchy rousing songs full of joy and humour you wont be disappointed.The slower numbers are very strong melodically (WHAT BECOMES OF A LEGEND../TAKE ME TO THE SUN)While all the tracks have something to recommend them my personal favs are TURN TO ME/NEW SENSATIONS/ DOING THE THINGS../MY FRIEND GEORGE.Its a fine album dont be put off by other reviews Like TRANSFORMER it showcases brilliantly the melodic side of Lou Reeds talent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Wow, what a great album. From the rocking opener I Love You Suzanne this is one song after another of Lou at his melodic best, with horns, keyboards and backing singers used to great effect. As a celebration of life, it does occasionally hint at the dark side (like violence in Endlessly Jealous, My Friend George and loneliness in What Becomes A Legend Most) but the overall impression is one of finding magic in everyday experiences. My favourite tracks are Doing The Things ... with its glorious girl chorus and the almost ethereal, breezy High In The City ("Don't wanna talk politics today/Feelin' pretty witty/Getting' high off of the city ..." and that just about sums up the mood of the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2004
there's some great songs: "i love you suzanne", "turn to me", "new sensations" , "my friend george" and a few others. there are also some really bad tracks like "my red joy stick" and "down at the arcade". i'd say buy it if you like lou reed but if your a newbie get the "new york" album or "coney island baby".
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
This enjoyable, but slightly dated, album has a tendency to be over-rated, but nonetheless there's enough here to be enjoyed by any fans of Lou.

After getting rid of Robert Quine, the sound is much more stripped-down. Lou does all the guitar parts, and his characteristically loose style is set (somewhat incongruously) against over-compressed 80s drums, which don't really suit Lou's style, although Fernando Saunders on bass is excellent as always.

Most of the album is listenable, with the exception of the extremely dull Endlessly Jealous. The album's strongest suit is the run from tracks 3 to 6, which include the jacket-sleeves- pushed-up-to-the-elbows funk of My Red Joystick, the pulsing rhythms of the title track, and the irresistably cheesy Doin the Things That We Want To.

Otherwise, My Friend George is rather good, as is the opening ditty I Love You Suzanne. I'm also rather partial to High in the City, which has a reggae rhythm, "shah-yah-yah-yah" backing vocals, and parping ersatz horns. The album closer, Down at the Arcade, is an enjoyably throwaway track which proves that Lou is sometimes best when he doesn't try too hard, singing here about playing video games (and being awarded a Nobel Prize for R&B!).
33 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Great value Lou Reed Album. All as described and very prompt service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
No need to go too far. "Turn To Me" and "Doin' The Things That We Want To" are drop dead stellar, hands down my friend, while "What Becomes A Legend Most" grows into sheer VU glory towards the end. These aren't mere highlights. They're bleeding classics.

Sadly, the rest is ok-ish, reduced to near-banality by 80's drumming/rhythm -- listen to "New Sensations", which is otherwise muse-laden songwriting.

In other words, it's another Reed album. If you look back a couple of years, it's the 'New York-Album-Syndrome' all over again: A handful of sheer brilliance accompanied by perfunctory sidekicks.

If Reed had only waited till The Great Tunes knocked on his door and released just 1 or 2 albums through the 80's, his legacy would be secured (there are isolated Works Of Art in each release) . But Lou, being Lou, HAD to put it all out.

Shame, really, yet this album is worth your dough for those three consummate pieces.

Lou, oh Lou!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
Big Fan..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)