Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as seeing Justice live
Having seen Justice live twice now (Electric Proms 2007 supporting the Chemical Brothers and Rock Werchter 2008) I was hoping that at some point they'd release a recording of one of their shows. The album "cross" is great but once you've heard the two french boys mess around with the tracks live it never really captures the crazy feeling of hearing the beatmashing on...
Published on 24 Nov 2008 by J. Shaw

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Justice - A Cross the Universe
Justice arrived on the electro house scene only very recently, with their debut release "Cross" hitting shops a mere 18 months ago. But already they have made a name for themselves; their two biggest hits "D.A.N.C.E." and "We are Your friends" feature in almost every DJ's set accross the country right now. This live cd pays homage to their year long tour accross the...
Published on 20 Mar 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as seeing Justice live, 24 Nov 2008
By 
J. Shaw "carcrashdisco" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Cross the Universe [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
Having seen Justice live twice now (Electric Proms 2007 supporting the Chemical Brothers and Rock Werchter 2008) I was hoping that at some point they'd release a recording of one of their shows. The album "cross" is great but once you've heard the two french boys mess around with the tracks live it never really captures the crazy feeling of hearing the beatmashing on "Let there be lite" or the ear-splitting filters on "Phantom pt 1". Now I need look no further - I've not watched the DVD yet but the CD alone is worth the price of entry. Superb stuff, and brings the memories of crowd-surfing, head banging and raving flooding back. One of the best live acts around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 28 Dec 2008
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Cross The Universe (Audio CD)
Hailed as the new Daft Punk, fellow French duo Justice are just as electrifying live. This CD captures the madness of their recent 18 month album tour.
Whereas last years 'Cross' was great, some strange tunes (Valentine, DVNO) prevented greatness. Here, they are incorporated into the mix with a much more ferocious sound. 'We Are Your Friends' is dropped at the precise moment. The monstrous 'Phantom gets a part 1.5, and part 2 runs for a healthy 10 minutes.

Much like last years Daft Punk mix 'Alive 2007; Across the Universe epitomises Justice more than their album release.
The next best thing to seeing them live, which should be done anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electro's Finest, 20 Aug 2009
This review is from: A Cross The Universe (Audio CD)
In general I don't like live albums at all, but these are other circumstances! :)
Justice show in their live performance how to entertain masses of people.
Most songs from their studio album 'Cross' are played, but much faster.
'Genesis' makes a first good impression, other songs which weren't fully convincing on their studio album are here the more convincing.
My favorite tracks are 13, 14, 15 which result in 20 minutes of musical mass hypnosis. Nice chanting 'We are your friends', suddenly mixed with Ministry's 'Just One Fix', going over into 'Waters Of Nazareth' which comes by so much harder and the better, then resulting in the ever rising 'Phantom Part II'.
Metallica's 'Master Of Puppets' in an even harder version finishes the live act.
Though a live album I prefer it to their Studio album 'Cross', which still is outstanding.
The only disadvantage of this album is that I haven't been on this tour...

The DVD is a documentary from their USA tour. Justice blow the minds and ears of their audience, just a bright Cross flashing in the front of the audience. The documentary is really entertaining, with lots of fans, marriages, police, a gorgeous bus driver and a lot of live acts. The DVD version is really worth it's little more money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blitzering Bop, 6 Feb 2009
This review is from: A Cross the Universe [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
Where the album "Cross" showed signs of absolute "oh my god" genius (Genesis et al) it did labour in places and until I saw them live I suspected that the lazy Daft Punk comparisons were tired truths. The reality is that Justice are harder and better than The Chemical Brothers and The Prodigy in the live environment. I am hoping, like The Prodigy, that their live experiments will morph into a new studio album because if they do it'll be blistering and they will become legend. In the meantime this CD is the peak of recorded Justice. For some reason there are a few reviews here that are mindlessly slagging the DVD because it's handheld, has low production values and doesn't have talking head interviews. I'm sorry but if you want an Electronic Press Kit become a journalist. This is the best fly-on-the-wall touring band documentary I have ever seen. It's absolutely hysterical and unbelievable. True the live segments (no whole tunes here) are distorted but that's what makes it...its like watching The Ramones playing electro. Think Radiohead's brilliant "Meeting People Is Easy" and add violence, sex and drugs and you basically have it nailed. I liked Justice before I saw this, now I luv em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Justice - A Cross the Universe, 20 Mar 2009
This review is from: A Cross the Universe [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
Justice arrived on the electro house scene only very recently, with their debut release "Cross" hitting shops a mere 18 months ago. But already they have made a name for themselves; their two biggest hits "D.A.N.C.E." and "We are Your friends" feature in almost every DJ's set accross the country right now. This live cd pays homage to their year long tour accross the world in support of their electrifying debut.

Musically Justice are most comparable to Daft Punk, being similar in ther beats and melodies. "A Cross the Universe" plays in the same way as Daft Punk's "Alive 2007" live album, albeit with a smaller studio catalogue to make use of. The setlist (recorded in San Fransisco on the North American leg of the tour) comprises of 11 tracks from "Cross" mixed together over 70 minutes. It features a few extended versions of studio tracks, as well as fan favoruite "We are your friends", and a couple of new songs to boot.

What you have to look for in a great DJ set is how the band works the crowd into a frenzy and then keeps them there for the duration of the set. It is a skill that takes time for most to learn. The method that justice employ is to extend the changeover times to over a minute, or to mix a one second sample of the next track halfway through the previous track, to extend the build up. Consequently, a lot of the cd is a build up to the next crecendo. The audience reaction is the most telling sign of all - screams can be heard over the tracks at various points and the atmosphere never seems to die down.

So there are beats, and there are catchy melodies aplenty, but if you own "Cross" then think twice before buying this cd: Will you appreciate the same album in a different order with a few more beats? Its not that the cd isn't for everyone - it's that "A Cross the Universe" is so similar to its predecessor that unles you are a hard core fan or haven't heard "Cross" then you won't fully appreciate this cd.

3 Stars

Gregory Jolliffe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I don't like dance music, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cross The Universe (Audio CD)
Cannot stand Euro electronic pop - except somehow I love these French boys after hearing New Lands. The same goes for M83 and the Daft Punk boys. This live album has great sound and atmosphere - you could be there!! Have not even looked at the DVD included as it lives in my car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's as if you're there!, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cross The Universe (Audio CD)
I loved 'Cross' so this was a must have. Live versions of all the tracks and extras! It's SO immersive! The whole if the first track is just a screaming crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect live moments, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: A Cross The Universe (Audio CD)
Probably one of the greatest live albums ever made, A Cross The Universe sums up everything there is to love about Justice: raw energy, a wild youthful charm and a sometimes scary serious side. The music part of the double feature is amazing, each song juxtaposing into the other with precision that could only be delivered by the French duo. Fan favourite songs are present, as well as some remixes done over the years, ending in a furious rendition of NY Excuse. As for the documentary, it is easier to watch than to explain. At times funny, it is also shocking, culminating in a particularly frenzied gig. If you like even the slightest amount of Justice, you absoultely should not be without this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A spectacular live dance album., 25 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cross The Universe (Audio CD)
There is not really much I can say about this which you won't already know already. If you liked Justice's album, then you will definitely like the live album.
Often, live albums don't seem worth it when you have all of the songs anyway. However, as with many dance live albums, this one is absolutely worth it, as it has small variations on the songs, and has them mixed together in a way which makes it a very exciting album to listen to. There are one or two songs which do not appear anywhere else, such as a cover of Metallica's Master of Puppets, and overall it leads to an exceptional CD.
Definitely worth it if you are a fan of Justice, or even just artists similar to Justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasure to listen!, 28 July 2010
By 
V. Daflou "Kiki" (Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cross The Universe (Audio CD)
My son was really happy to get his favourite album that listens all the time since. A must for Electronica fans!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Cross the Universe [Limited Edition]
A Cross the Universe [Limited Edition] by Justice (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews