Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars66
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2008
The title says it all really because those of you that have R30 or Rush in Rio might be thinking 'why do I need this?'. Well, firstly it has a load of songs which are not on those DVDs, secondly Geddy's voice sounds better than ever (and is for once well up in the mix), thirdly the band play a blinder (this is even better than R30) and finally the sound and picture quality is the best yet (some dates on the British tour weren't so hot sound quality wise - don't judge this by them). The Snakes and Arrows cd of course is heavily featured and some Rush fans have been a little lukewarm about this latest cd. But most who stick with the songs end up loving them (which just makes it a typically Rush album!!).
11 comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2008
We've had quite a few live dvd sets from Rush recently but this is my far and away the best release of their career for me.
This is class from start to finish. The band are on top form, the timing is impecable, and they really do look like they are having a great time.
The camerawork and picture quality is superb throughout. The set starts with Limelight, the band bathed in white light, and that has to be the best picture I have ever seen on a live dvd. Probably any dvd.
There is a lot of older material here Circumstances, Digital Man, Entre Nous and A Passage To Bangkok that the band haven't played live in a while. A sprinkling of tracks from the new cd along with concert favourites like Tom Sawyer, The Sprit of Radio and Subdivisions.
That a lot of this music is 25 or more years old and still sounds great is testament to how good this band's back catalogue is.
Some of the band's quirky humour doesn't always work on me, but it does show the band have a sense of humour and can laugh at themselves a little.
Though when the concert is finished proper and the band has left the stage for good the sight of Geddy in his best Scottish attire announcing on the big screen "Thank God, that ****'s over" is priceless
22 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2010
Just thought I'd write this to let potential buyers know that there are NO audio sync issues with this excellent Blu-Ray.

Audio sync is a new problem with LCD/Plasma TVs. This happens because of additional video processing that the TVs go through. So, if you are watching normal TV using the speakers on the television this isn't a problem as the internal audio is delayed to "catch up" with the picture.

Problems arise when you take the audio from the Blu-Ray player and hook it up to an A/V amplifier as the audio is then not delayed and is out-of-sync with the picture. I suspect this set-up is familiar to the people that have noticed the sync problems as it's noticed more with music than movies.

There are two solutions:
1. Take the audio feed from the TV to the A/V amp using phono connections, but you will only get a stereo or at best a pro logic signal (no DD or DTS)
or, 2. Check to see if your player has an "Audio Sync adjust" setting in the player's menu (I know most Sony players have this so I'm sure other manufacturers will too).

Hope this is of some help. The Rush disc is excellent and I wouldn't want people to be put off buying it if they thought there were going to be problems.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Seeing as Amazon don't have any details, here is the tracklisting and content for this latest Rush live set, the main show being filmed in Rotterdam (in one of the venues also showcased in Dream Theater's recent Chaos In Motion DVDisaster) and the "authorised bootlegs" in Atlanta.

First off, the Blu-Ray release mercifully features everything the 3-disc DVD has on ONE disc, so no annoying swapping over mid-set. Secondly, the packaging is much better than the standard DVD, which comes in an awfully flimsy card case which widens at the folds. As the BD only has one disc, it's presented in simple two-panel digipak the same height as the average BD case, a vast improvement on the frankly cheap looking DVD alternative. As always, the picture quality is beyond reproach, and the audio is perfect. The choice of songs here is arguably the best of the six Rush concerts available on video, as it wisely focuses on the album the tour is in support of, while including a healthy balance of the obligatory ("Tom Sawyer", "Spirit of Radio") with some lesser known, arguably better tracks, including one of my personal favourites, "Digital Man", as well as cracking renditions of "Witch Hunt" and "Secret Touch". The extras on offer are a tad less impressive than previous outings, but for Christ's sake, its RUSH on blu-ray!! I'm sorry I can't offer a precise, technical description of the merits of the varied soundtracks, but you know it's excellent. Tracklist is as follows:

1. Limelight
2. Digital Man
3. Entre Nous
4. Mission
5. Freewill
6. The Main Monkey Business
7. The Larger Bowl
8. Secret Touch
9. Circumstances
10. Between The Wheels
11. Dreamline
12. Far Cry
13. Workin' Them Angels
14. Armor & Sword
15. Spindrift
16. The Way The Wind Blows
17. Subdivisions
18. Natural Science
19. Witch Hunt
20. Malignant Narcissism
21. Hope
22. Distant Early Warning
23. The Spirit of Radio
24. Tom Sawyer
25. One Little Victory
26. A Passage To Bangkok
27. YYZ

Live in Atlanta (bootlegs)
1. Ghost of a Chance
2. Red Barchetta
3. The Trees
4. 2112 Overture/The Temples of Syrinx

Extra features:
* What's Thats Smell (DVD Content)
* 2007 Tour Outtakes
* What's That Smell Outtakes
* Far Cry (Alternate cut featuring rear screen footage)
* The Way the Wind Blows (Alternate cut featuring rear screen footage)
* Red Sector A from the R30 Tour (A welcome viewing of a track omitted from the last DVD, now presented in full HD).

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to say its the best Rush concert offering to date, and given the picture and sound quality, would posit it's likely BETTER than actually being there.
1717 comments|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2008
Look no further for Rush's best live effort so far. All the irritating things about previous releases (poor sound and crowd noise on Rush in Rio, transfer quality from VHS to dvd on Replay or missing songs in R30), are not here, only one heck of a good live show representation. In one interview a few months back when they were still touring, Geddy Lee said they all thought that they were playing at their very best and most consistent on this tour. I think he was right and I think this dvd proves it.

For me, the presence of 8 songs from Snakes and Arrows, Alex sticking to Gibson guitars (sorry PRS- great guitars but not enough balls for the job), and the choice of some old and slightly unusual favourites from old times make this dvd. The guitar sound on Digital Man and Distant Early Warning in particular gives these tracks the rocky feel they lacked a little in their original mixes, and even well worn favourites such as Spirit of Radio and Tom Sawyer are given a new lease of life.

Visually, the experience is breathtaking; particularly on a large screen, and sound and video are well integrated in a way not seen on most music dvd's, giving a great deal of energy to the performance. Hey, I love it, and if you're a Rush fan, I think you will too...
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2008
I was there in Rotterdam when this DVD was filmed. I had instant goosbumps when the concert began and I now had them again when the DVD began. I experienced the whole concert anew (although the footage is of course a mix of the two nights they played). The quality of sound and image is in one word superb. Thank you Rush, and may you long continue...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
I had bought the cd of this concert initially, and then borrowed the Blu-ray disc from someone at work, and it impressed me that much I had to purchase my own. The picture quality is just second to none, and the band look throughout the show as if they are really enjoying themselves. It runs for about 3 hours in length on one disc, (which is why the blu-ray is actually cheaper than the 2 disc normal dvd), and there isn't a dull moment in it. I have all their previous Live Dvd's and have to say this is probably their best, not just because of the picture quality but also because of the song selection, they do big chunks of Permanent Waves, and mix well their new material with their old. There is not much music yet on Blu-ray, but if you want to show off your system to your friends, this would be one I would pick!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
The first time I saw Rush was at the Liverpool Empire in 1979. Seen them on every tour in UK since, except S & A, had tickets but had to sell as my wife was ill in hospital. As Neil wrote suddenly you were gone from the lives you left your mark upon.

This Blu ray shows Rush at their best. Have a ps3 and sony bravia 3 tv and picture and sound brill. I have had no prob's with Geddys voice and sync, so don't no why other people have.

Get this it's the best.

I brought the S & A's cd on the day it came out in HMV in the Eaton centre, Toronto, as we were on holiday there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2009
Got into Rush in the 80's but then lost interest. Read the reviews on the dvd which are very positive so thought I'd give a try. Every thing about this concert is first class; the camera work, the set, sound and quality of the blu-ray image. In the 80's I hadn't appreciated what great musicians they all are and after being together for this length of time, also shows how well they play together. If you've heard and liked any Rush tracks or just enjoy rock music I highly recommend this, I know I will be watching this time and time again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2009
Rush have a few live DVD's now under there belt but this HD film easily is the best yet from the superb light show and close ups of the band to the excellent set list with all the Snakes and Arrows album played as well as some fine tracks from there previous albums this show as something for all fans young and old.As ever the guitar solos from Alex are truly fantastic with Geddy and Neil keeping the tracks together I can recommend you will not be disappointed and a great concert to test your big screen.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)