Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Pirates game ever!!
This has to be the best pirates game ever made! I will admit that I owned Pirates on the Amiga many moons ago, so it helped in knowing the LARGE area you sail in. If like me, you will soon know your way around the map, and remember where certain ports are. But that said, the gameplay is so addictive.
The roam around anywhere feeling is nice, but you are best to carry...
Published on 17 April 2010 by Mr. Michael L. Illing

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old school simplicity, old school fun!
I suspect you will get most out of this game if you are of the Amiga/Atari era, those unfamiliar with such names will doubtless be horrified at the clunkiness of the graphics and general animation in comparison to current day epics!
The game is simple to get into and becomes increasingly addictive as you progress. The dual targets of the game (to find & rescue your...
Published on 22 Jan 2010 by Mr. Nicholas Lea


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Pirates game ever!!, 17 April 2010
By 
Mr. Michael L. Illing (Bovingdon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sid Meier's Pirates! (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This has to be the best pirates game ever made! I will admit that I owned Pirates on the Amiga many moons ago, so it helped in knowing the LARGE area you sail in. If like me, you will soon know your way around the map, and remember where certain ports are. But that said, the gameplay is so addictive.
The roam around anywhere feeling is nice, but you are best to carry out missions. Not just to swell your coffers, but to keep your band of pirates crew happy!!
One hint I think I'm allowed to give, is when playing the game, the wind factor (whilst sailing from place to place), can be annoying. I find that travelling from 'West to East' across the map is ALWAYS against the wind! (This was the same in the original Amiga version.) So although inevitablly you will have to do this, you can still enjoy attacking the Spanish, or any other shipping if you're brave enough, on the slow journey. Going from 'East to West' is a breeze, (pardon the pun). I don't know why but it happens that way!?
You can trade in any port, (as long as you are friendly to them), so you can replenish your food and upgrade your boat. The whole point of this stunning game is to remember to be a pirate. That means stealing boats from defeated enemies and looting there ports!!
If finding treasure and lost relatives isn't fun enough for you, don't forget, you are a PIRATE!! You can do anything you want. But remember to stay friendly with somebody or you will end up in 'Davy Jones' Locker quicker than you expected!
This game is certainly one of my all time favourites.
So don your eye patch, stick a parrot on your shoulder and become the most feared pirate in the West Indies!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old school simplicity, old school fun!, 22 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Nicholas Lea (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sid Meier's Pirates! (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I suspect you will get most out of this game if you are of the Amiga/Atari era, those unfamiliar with such names will doubtless be horrified at the clunkiness of the graphics and general animation in comparison to current day epics!
The game is simple to get into and becomes increasingly addictive as you progress. The dual targets of the game (to find & rescue your family and retire wealthy & happilly married) require you to increase the difficulty level in order to achieve the financial goal, however, this impacts on the ease of acheiving the other, sneaky!
A good game for the more nostalgic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pirates by Sid, 31 Jan 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sid Meier's Pirates! (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is great fun, even though it isn't enormously sophisticated. Wheeling your boats through the Caribbean, losing out to older pirates, picking off fat French merchantmen, even dancing with the Governor's daughter - suddenly an hour's passed and you haven't noticed. So if you're a gaming sophisticate who thinks a game's better the more complicated it is, don't buy this. If you play games for fun, do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 29 May 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sid Meier's Pirates! (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I ordered this game for my husband and it never arrived. Another was sent out in place and arrived within a matter of days. He plays it quite a lot and thoroughly enjoys it.

It also works on Windows 7 which is something we were not sure about to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pirate's life for me, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sid Meier's Pirates! (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I bought this to play on my netbook after finding the Wii version of the game a complete let down (in that format the governor's daughter game is nigh-on impossible - which makes it even more repetitive and irksome than it actually is) - but having seen reviews which suggested that the PC version doesn't have the same flaws. They were right! This harks back to the excellent Pirates! game of my childhood and is completely addictive: it's quite easy to lose an hour or so without really noticing it as you attack vessels and enemy ports, hunt down evil kidnappers of family members, gain promotions, and seek out treasures. As others have said, it's old school fun.

My only complaint? The governor's daughter 'game': a rather long-winded sequence of 'copy this move'. There's no variation to the 'game', it's always a dull 'dance sequence' which lasts FAR TOO LONG! You can get out of playing it, but only at the expense of useful information/gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game, 25 Aug 2009
By 
P. Johnson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sid Meier's Pirates! (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I had this game a few years ago but traded it in which was a mistake so when I found it for such a cheap price it was a must have. It's not the most complex game (although the hardest difficulty is almost impossible) but many hours of honest fun on a design which works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, but wish it was a bit slower!, 7 Feb 2014
By 
K. Flitter (Maldon, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid Meier's Pirates! (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Me and my 8-yr old love this game, its fast-paced and stuff is always happening. I also think it has some educational value in map reading and use of compasses, the geography of the Caribbean and real pirate characters.
If it was just for me, I would actually like it to slow down a bit . . . . . ships shoot out of port and slalom about, other ships go whizzing past and its all just a bit too quick. It would be nice to introduce some tension in the way of sighting a distant vessel, closing in to identify it then deciding what to do.
They could always have introduced a time-accelerator for long voyages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sid Miers "Pirates", 9 Nov 2012
By 
G. Edwards "PistonBroke." (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid Meier's Pirates! (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A bit on the fast side when sailing. Dancing with Governors daughters is a pain.
BUT still a great game, that keeps me absorbed for hours.
Highly recommended.
Shame all the other XP games were not compatible with Windows 7.
Thanks again Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still brilliant, 21 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sid Meier's Pirates! (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A gem, still the most fun pirate adventure game of all time (Monkey Island not withstanding) Despite the ease and apparent simplicity of the game there is more in it than you first think and each time through can be a very different experience. One of those rare joys a game that puts playability first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Den, 27 Aug 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sid Meier's Pirates! (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
One for the real pirates out there.Historically based, full of strategy but also fun. Certainly helps your geography. It combines dexterity with quickness of mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sid Meier's Pirates! (PC DVD)
Sid Meier's Pirates! (PC DVD) by Mastertronic Ltd (Windows Vista / XP)
4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews