Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jello's genius
This may be one of the finest debut albums ever made. The Dead Kennedys were without a doubt the finest political punk band and this album shows why. Every track is a killer from the anti-war anthems "Kill the Poor", "When Ya Get Drafted", "Chemical Warfare" and the masterpiece "Holiday In Cambodia" to the teenage authority hating "Forward To Death", "Let's Lynch The...
Published on 23 Jun 2004 by Ec Tipton

versus
3 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Totally overrated
It seems this album is considered a classic and a favorite among a lot of punk fans, so I might be wrong here, but the greatness of the record escapes me by a mile. The music here is way too unrocking for my taste, and Jello Biafra must have the most annoying voice of any punk singer I can think of at the moment. It gets an extra star for the anti-Reagan sentiments...
Published on 14 Aug 2003 by Michael Pedersen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jello's genius, 23 Jun 2004
By 
Ec Tipton "donkey_sandwich" (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This may be one of the finest debut albums ever made. The Dead Kennedys were without a doubt the finest political punk band and this album shows why. Every track is a killer from the anti-war anthems "Kill the Poor", "When Ya Get Drafted", "Chemical Warfare" and the masterpiece "Holiday In Cambodia" to the teenage authority hating "Forward To Death", "Let's Lynch The Landlord", and "California Uber Alles".
What makes this album special though is the sheer genius of the lyrics. Although the titles don't give much away (in fact they sound retarded) the lyrics are cleverly constructed and observed though sadly overlooked. The instrumentation is also superb. East Bay Ray has the weirdest guitar sound in punk and the drums and bass never miss a beat.
From the beginning right up to the fading guitar chord of "Viva Las Vegas" (their best cover) this is fascinating exhilerating and essential listening. And it isn't even their best album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic album, 23 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To the guy who said this is over-rated, you are obviously allowed your own view. Me? I saw them back in 1980 or so. I was a punk back in the late 70s to early 80s. I also love a lot of metal and this album is way up in my top albums of all time - along with the Pistols 'Never mind the Bollocks', SLF 'Inflammable Material' and newer faves like QotSA 'Songs for the deaf'.

Yes, Jello's vocals take a bit of getting used to but nobody puts as much passion into what they sing about as he did on this album. He voices his anger, cynicism and other feelings as well as Jake Burns on Inflammable Material.

My 17 year old son absolutely loves this album - up there with other faves of his by SOAD, Foo Fighters etc.

Go on, you know it makes sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Punk Debut, 28 Nov 2003
It must be said that DK are one of the all time great bands, and like Nirvana and Sex Pistols I wasnt in the right place at the right time to see them live. The only other DK album Ive got is the posthumous "Give Me Convenience" complilation so I cant say if this is the best... but its a bloody good start to a great but short career.
The tracks on this album sum up much of DKs trademark sound, the fast slashed barre chords, the powerful drumming, the noodly surf guitar riffs and Jello's razor sharp satirical lyrics. All in all you will find it difficult to find a much more powerful and yet restrained debut in the history of punk. And then theres the songs.
You will find it difficult to find a punk worth his/her salt that doesnt absolutely love the seminal trio of "Kill The Poor", "Holiday In Cambodia" and lets "Lynch The Landlord". Off all the songs that came out of the early 80's San Francisco Hardcore though, there is probably none more classic than DK's debut 7", "California Uber Alles", an attack on then SF Governor Jerry Brown.
As aggressive as the tracks are on this album, they never turn into 100 miles an hour hardcore blasts. The blasts would rear their head on the follow up 10", In God We Trust. The "Vegetables" lp may not of matched the all out fury of later classics such as Nazi Punks F*** Off" but the album did still help move the punk cause away from punk rock into the domain of hardcore.
The Bad Brains may have been Hardcore's muscle, but the Dead Kennedy's were its mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing, 19 April 2012
By 
1. Kill The Poor
2. Forward To Death
3. When Ya Get Drafted
4. Let's Lynch The Landlord
5. Drug Me
6. Your Emotions
7. Chemical Warfare
8. California Uber Alles
9. I Kill Children
10. Stealing People's Mail
11. Funland at the Beach
12. Ill In The Head
13. Holiday In Cambodia
14. Viva Las Vegas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have the money, buy this CD. If you don't..., 23 May 2002
then sell something so that you can buy it. This is punk. This is what punk is about. This CD together with Plastic Surgery Disaster/In god we trust is by far the best punk rock album/s you can buy. Jello Biafra has no equal when it comes to delivering strong, political and a lot of the times vary funny lyrics. It is a hard hitting album that is as relevant now as it was when it was released. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God told me to skin you alive!, 11 Jan 2002
Oh lord! Finally got round to buying myself a record player and dug out my old vinyl. The christening record was this fine, fine album.
Ten years on since I bought it as an angry (skinny, white, middle class) youth, it still gets the blood pumping. Jello Biafra's cartoon radicalism, Easy Bay Ray's sick in the head surf guitar and a lightning-fast rhythm section crackles with energy. Attacking the political left ("California uber alles"), the political right ("Kill the Poor"), cosy middle class kids (like me!! guilty as charged!!) ("Holiday in Cambodia") and pretty much anyone who strays into his crosshairs, Jello Biafra pours forth bile and invective, but with enough wit and originality to carry you along with him, all driven at merciless speed by searing punk guitar and (don't say this too loud) belting melodies. And they're not above a bit wanton stupidity - witness the witless magnificence of Viva Las Vegas given a DK enema!
So, OK, not all the songs are classics, the production is, errm, rudimentary and perhaps Jello Biafra takes himself a touch too seriously (much more so on later albums where it gets a bit hard to take, as evidenced by the bonus tracks). But this is a blinder. Buy it, leap around your room, annoy your neighbours and regret that you will never have the balls to firebomb your office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk classic , most surely not, 29 April 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
The Dead Kennedys debut album Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables was originally released in September 1980 ( On Cherry Red records in the U.K., though it gained a later release on the bands own Alternative Tentacles label).Coming on the coat tails of the original punk movement- which had now morphed into post-punk the album showcased a harder edged hardcore tinged sound with genuinely political themes. It is in fact more a punk album in true punk attitude than just about any released during punks halcyon years.
The music is frenetic and loud but has a real songwriters nous behind the surf punk mayhem. It is not just a barrage of vociferous pummelling rhythms . The odd song apart this is a fiercely intelligent yet aggressive disembowelling of classic American AM rock. The playing too is incredible with Klaus Fluoride providing jet streamed fluid bass while the guitar of East Bay Ray, who also produced, is just sensational , especially on "Holiday In Cambodia" which in my humble opinion is one of the greatest guitar led tracks ever.What makes it even more impressive is the entire album was recorded live with the only additions being backing vocals, courtesy of various guests and some rhythm guitar.
Lyrically too, this is a tremendous album with Jello Biafra providing some of the most stringent satirical barbs ever committed to tape .It,s like Bill Hicks fronting Minor Threat.....or indeed The Dead Kennedys. Biafra lambastes the left and Governor Jerry Brown on "California Uber Alles", the right on "Kill The Poor" and the closeted middle class on "Holiday In Cambodia". Avarice and stupidity in society are lampooned mercilessly though the band are not above a bit stupidity themselves as their breathless cover of "Viva Las Vegas " proves. Biafra,s voice , like Johnny Rotten before him, is very distinctive with a tangible warble adding to the caustic sneer.
This special edition has an extra CD with different versions of "Kill The Poor" and "Holiday In Cambodia" which are,nt as good as the originals but still worth a listen. There is also the notorious and to be honest slightly asinine "Too Drunk To F**K". The other extra tracks are,nt that great but completists will no doubt be thrilled by their inclusion. The most striking aspect about this album , apart from the music of course, is that the very things that Jello Biafra is railing against are if anything even more prevalent today. A song like "Kill The Poor" has even more resonance in George W Bush,s America of 2008 than it did in 1980....same in Britain under New Labour(Though it may have to be amended to Tax The Poor).Which begs the question where are the contemporary bands with the same sense of outrage and indignation as The Dead Kennedys?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most lyrically great album EVER, 14 Sep 2002
Wow, one of my favourite albums, even though it was made about five years before I was born.
I got into them after downloading Kill the Poor, and Holiday in Cambodia, and any person foolish to say that file sharing is a bad idea is a retard. I must have bought 10 different CDs as a result of downloading their songs. Anyway, back to the music........
Most of the album is amazing with only a couple of weak songs put in for shock value, like "I kill children" (satirical, but still....) Standouts are "Holiday IC", "Kill The Poor" (showing Biafras amazingly sharp wit), and "California Uber Alles" another amazing song, packed full of venom at Govenor Jerry Brown. Whether hes real or not, I dont know, but he aint painted in a favourable light here. "I will be FÜhrer one day, I will command all of you, Your kids will meditate in school" and "Now it is 1984, Knock knock at your front door, It's the suede/denim secret police, They have come for your uncool neice"
Jellos lyrics and voice are amazing, and the rest of the band are great too, not just a vehicle for Biafra's messages, although when they need to be, they take a back seat. East Bay Rays guitar work is amazing, somehow he manages to make his GUITAR sound angry and frustrated itself, never mind the guitarist himself.
I find it quite appaling, upsetting and basicly embarrasing that the many things that Jello and Co were complaining about havent been addressed in the last 20 years. The poor are still poor, America doesn't care about any other country in the world, and the multinational companies are still prepared to bulldoze the last rainforests to save about £10 on land to graze cattle (MacDonalds, I'm talking to you) Thats deeply depressing.
So anyway, if you like almost any sort of punk, the anger of the Sex Pistols in some songs, the fooling about of Blink 182 in others, the anti establishment attacks of NOFX, buy this album. The Offspring are huge fans apparently. Listen to this album to find out where the likes of "Keep Em Separated (Come Out And Play)" and "The Kids Aren't Alright" came from, simply listen to this album. Everything punk should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best half-hour slice of punk from the US of A, 23 Nov 2003
From the opening refrain of 'Kill the poor' to the closing jamboree of 'Viva Las Vegas' this album is on a non-stop mission to assault your ear-drums into submission. Surprisingly for a record of this genre, it has more hooks than Aerosmith and memorable lyrics. This is the best example of the DKs and should be in the collection of anyone who enjoys the old NYC or London punk music, though they are from neither!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bona fide punk classic, 4 Dec 2009
By 
Riaan (South Africa) - See all my reviews
Hilarious. Sublime. Pure Genuis, I could go on and on....

This is a true punk classic and your punk collection truly is rubbish if you don't have this one in there. Jello Biafra is a genius.

Great punk music and very funny. Stealing People's Mail, Chemical Warfare....side splitting stuff! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews