Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A step forward
I wasn't really sure what to expect from the Chiefs' second album. Their first album was a successful hit, and I wasn't sure they could improve on it. I was proved wrong.

'Yours Truly, Angry Mob', is a more guitar-driven affair, with catchy hooks and superb vocals. KC maintain their radio-friendly image but they also add a more rocking sound to their already...
Published on 15 Mar. 2007 by Dafydd Jones

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Nice' in a beige sort of way
This is rather as anticipated. It is a nice but rather forgettable record with typical Kaiser Chiefs fomulaic dittys! Some tracks will go down well at festivals having a great time jumping about. That's about it though. No real stand out tracks, no real depth and 'Ruby' has been played to death on the radio and is now rather irritating!

Would say 'could do...
Published on 9 Mar. 2007 by Muso


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A step forward, 15 Mar. 2007
By 
Dafydd Jones "MetalliManic" (Aberystwyth, Ceredigion United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yours Truly, Angry Mob (Audio CD)
I wasn't really sure what to expect from the Chiefs' second album. Their first album was a successful hit, and I wasn't sure they could improve on it. I was proved wrong.

'Yours Truly, Angry Mob', is a more guitar-driven affair, with catchy hooks and superb vocals. KC maintain their radio-friendly image but they also add a more rocking sound to their already accomplished sound.

'Ruby' was the first single to be released and it's not difficult to see why. Shot straight to number one in the singles charts and has a great chorus mixed with brilliant guitar riffs. Ricky Wilson's vocals are improved on 2004's 'Employment', and his vocals have always been strong. An excellent opener. 10/10.

'The Angry Mob' is another anthem, and a typical KC song. Catchy, memorable and brilliant. The part where Wilson begins to sing 'We are the angry mob, we read the papers every day....' is sure to be a highlight around stadiums wherever they go. Superb. 9/10.

'Heat Dies Down' is track three, and it maintains the intensity and purpose of the previous two tracks. This is more in the vein of 'Ruby' than 'The Angry Mob' to be honest. Excellent riffs, and an infectious chorus, coupled with superb, witty, sharp songwriting. This song is the Chiefs at their very best. 10/10.

Track four is 'Highroyds', which harks back to the band's youth. Wilson sings sharply about their teenage years. 'No need for ID with those dresses...' is one witty line among many. The 'woo's' are catchy and the riffs are equally as rememberable. The song finishes with Wilson singing about an ex asking for a song to be written about her...'I don't think so!' is Wilson's emphatic answer to that. Excellent. 9/10.

Track five slows proceedings down, and possibly the slowest track the CHiefs have produced since 2004's 'The Modern Way', off their previous album, 'Employment'. A combination of acoustic guitar, marching-style, 'Welcome To The Black Parade' drums, maybe, occasionally, make for a hazy, dreamy ballad . 'I won't be the one to disappoint you....anymore', Wilson sings. The track, incidentally, is called 'Love's Not A Competition (But I'm Winning)'. 8/10.

Track six, 'Thank You Very Much', harks back to the harder, driven guitars and the catchy pop-rock hooks that KC are renowned for. This is the Chiefs' producing their best style of music. 9/10.

Track seven, 'I Can Do It Without You', is a slightly slower affair, but still a guitar-based one, and still catchy at that. 8/10.

Track eight, 'My Kind Of Guy' is a great tune. Not as good as the earlier tracks on the album, but the lyrics are still as witty and funny. 'You're my kind of guy, 'cause I like your style and you sound as horrible as me,' Wilson sings. Very good. 8/10.

Track nine, 'Everything Is Average Nowadays' is another catchy number. The guitaring is excellent, and the chorus is the pinnacle of the song, as it is with most of their other songs. The songwriting again is super, and the song is short and sweet. 9/10.

Track ten, 'Boxing Champ', is unlike anything the Kaisers have done before. A piano/keyboard piece, lasting only 91 seconds, it could be dismissed as filler, however I see this song as a story and it has somehow affected Wilson for the better. Therefore it's got a purpose and the words are excellent. 8/10.

Track eleven, 'Learnt My Lesson Well', goes back to the usual rocking style of most of the songs heard so far. A simple guitar riff coupled with sharp drums and great rhythms and vocals make for a great song. This might be the strongest song on the album since 'Heat Dies Down', most certainly for its all-round combination of everything- lyrics, vocals, music and rhythm. 10.10.

Track twelve, 'Try Your Best', starts very slowly, but you can hear the anthemic guile within it right from the beginning. It moves along quite slowly but it has a purpose in its sound and the final 30 seconds or so has a tinge of 'Ruby' in it, which can only be a good thing. 9/10.

Track thirteen, and the final track, 'Retirement' is a more up-beat number. The lyrics are as witty as ever and it's about Wilson talking about creating an invention and retiring early. Quite funny, actually, but from a musical perspective, it's also very good, if only a bit repetitive, and makes for the album's weakest track. 7/10.

So, what do I make of 'Yours Truly, Angry Mob'?

I bought this the day it was released and have taken until npw to write a review to try and get into it as much as I could. And I took to it straight away. It's a great album, not quite the finished article, but it nearly is. It's an improvement on 'Employment', but it isn't quite 5-star material just yet. 2007 has been a good year so far for albums, here's hoping the standard continues.

Ricky and the boys get a 9/10. Excellent. Highly recommended for fans of indie rock and supporters of Brit-Pop revival!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kaiser Chiefs Grown Up, 13 Mar. 2007
By 
Matthew (Flitwick, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yours Truly, Angry Mob (Audio CD)
I liked 'unemployment' but like was as much as I ever felt of it. It was overhyped in my opinion and the songs got boring, if the singles weren't played as much then maybe I would of appreicated it more, but blame music TV for that.

I got this as a present for my birthday and thought that maybe the chiefs were going to be more than an 'ok' band after I listened to this, and I was right. Everyones heard 'Ruby' the catchy tune thats currently one of the best songs of '07, and as soon as that ends the rest of the album doesn't disappoint with more catchy tunes and riffs, on a whole they sound a bit different to the unemployed chiefs on some tracks but very very similar on others.

The music is just so chilled out and easy to listen to, and the lyrics are brilliant. You can hear that they have put much thought into this album, which is an uncommon thing for a modern band to do, and therefore I praise them for this album, its a great CD to put in my music collection,

recommended, if you are a fan of the fratellis, the killers and other indie mainstream music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second outing for the Kaiser Chiefs, 28 Sept. 2007
By 
Bj Lucas "saculnamron" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yours Truly, Angry Mob (Audio CD)
I'm surprised to read the negative reviews here, Unimaginative, and uninspiring are just some of the terms I've read that have surprised me. 'Rock' never used to be my thing, the kaiser chiefs among some others have changed my mind on that. This is a brilliant second album. Of note of course is the brilliant 'Ruby'. 'Everything is average nowadays?' not with this album my dears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yours Truly, Angry Mob, 4 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Yours Truly, Angry Mob (Audio CD)
Yours Truly, Angry Mob surprised to see this is selling for £5 on amazon because this is a superb 2nd album from the Kaisers with the hit singles Ruby,Angry Mob and my personal favourite Love Is Not A Competition (But I'm Winning]. High energy Brit pop on steroids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop goes the Kaiser, 21 April 2007
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yours Truly, Angry Mob (Audio CD)
The second album from this English five-man band finds the Chiefs sticking to basic radio-friendly anthems like flies to flypaper. More Britpop than the first album Employment, most of the songs are instantly catchy, but share a certain "sameness" that may cause some tracks to be gone and forgotten before they get even fifteen minutes of fame.

First single "Ruby" is one of the ones you'll remember, especially if your name happens to be Ruby. The song has already become the band's biggest single to date, due to the cool intro and beat, but other than a lot of "da da daaas" and "ahaa, ahaa ahaas", and of course "Ruby, Ruby, Ruby, Rubys", there isn't a lot going for the song lyrically.

Second single "Everything is Average Nowadays" is another upbeat song, but there are better on the album. A track to note is "The Angry Mob", which although is actually an attack on the press, has a chorus that will stick in your head forever:

"We are the angry mob

We read the papers everyday day

We like who we like

We hate who we hate

But we're also easily swayed"

The others are "Heat Dies Down" - another great chorus; "Highroyds"; the slower paced "Love's Not a Competition (But I'm Winning)"; and the quirky "My Kind of Guy" (I like this one)

Kaiser Chiefs may have gone pop on this album, but the carefully baited hooks will have you coming back for more.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you very much!, 17 Feb. 2008
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yours Truly, Angry Mob (Audio CD)
'Yours Truly, Angry Mob' was always going to be a very high-profile release given the outstanding success of their debut, 'Employment' and their second album has, without doubt, proved that The Kaiser Chiefs are no one album wonder, delivering an album that is, arguably, every bit as good as their first. The secret to the success is combining slightly dark, intelligent lyrics that many 'real' people can almost certainly relate to with some of the most annoyingly brilliant catchy mainstream indie (how's that for an oxymoron?) music. They combine the best elements of both the popular, rabble-rousing Oasis and the witty, subversive Blur very effectively and yet are always unmistakeably The Kaiser Chiefs.

I doubt if there are many people who have heard 'Ruby' on the radio and then have been left desperately trying to get that chorus out of their head and, if you listen to the whole of this album, there are many other hooks which will drive you crazy as you start singing it for perhaps the seventeenth time that day. It does, however, make me wonder just how many people outside the UK will be able to relate to some of their lyrics which are very typically working-class Britain at it's best and worst, whether it's talking about 24-hour drinking yob culture in 'The Angry Mob' or growing up hanging around the streets in 'High Royds', a song that is reminiscent of Blur at their 'Parklife' peak. Oddly enough, this particular album has received criticism from both Liam Gallagher and Damon Albarn who liken 'Yours Truly, Angry Mob' to 'bad Blur'. I respectfully disagree.

Disillusion, alienation, violence and discontentment (Everything Is Average Nowadays) are all themes running through this album, but it never seems to be anything other than an exciting, enjoyable listen and that's a pretty neat trick to pull off. For me, 'Yours Truly, Angry Mob' has only strengthened my admiration for this band and has banished any uncertainty I felt about The Kaiser Chiefs after 'Employment'. There may have been some mixed reviews about this release, but I have to agree with those who have lavished praise on it - Ricky Wilson & co. have certainly won me over. Thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good album by the Kaiser Chiefs, 10 Mar. 2007
By 
Mr. S. J. Eagers (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yours Truly, Angry Mob (Audio CD)
I have been waiting for a while for a good album to come out and i was exstatic when i heard the Kaiser Cheifs released a new album. The album is more or less the same as 'employment', with some a lot of good tracks 'Ruby, Heat dies down, The Angry Mob', and a few bad ones 'boxing champ' (why so short?). However this is a really good album and i do recommend that you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blur-ry Follow Up, 25 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Yours Truly, Angry Mob (Audio CD)
I have recently heard the Kaiser's new album on nme.com and it is a good follow up to their debut smash.

It is a grungy, paranoid, rebellious look on the rubbishness of modern life and culture. They have a talent for speaking exactly what's on the british peoples mind in a dark, dirty poetic nature.

You can really hear their influences in this one, especcially blur and the Smiths.

It is funny and fresh and they have become much tighter and more polish and new look, i think, will be well recieved. Highlights are Ruby, The Angry Mob, Highroyds, Learnt My Lesson Well and Everything Is Average Nowadays (and the funny Boxing Champ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Everything Is Average Nowadays" (Except the Kaisers), 17 Oct. 2012
By 
This review is from: Yours Truly, Angry Mob (Audio CD)
A worthy follow up to "Employment" the music is enjoyable with a good (but not overpowering) beat. The lyrics are intelligently wriiten and show a dry wit. All credit to the Kaisers for consistently ensuring that every word of their sung lyrics is intelligible!

Enjoyed all the tracks, but the final track "Retirement" made me chuckle - When I first saw the Kaisers at T in the Park (not so long ago) quite a few of the audience looked old enough to be looking forward to retirement!

1. "Ruby"
2. "The Angry Mob"
3. "Heat Dies Down"
4. "Highroyds"
5. "Love's Not a Competition (But I'm Winning)"
6. "Thank You Very Much"
7. "I Can Do It Without You"
8. "My Kind of Guy"
9. "Everything Is Average Nowadays"
10. "Boxing Champ"
11. "Learnt My Lesson Well"
12. "Try Your Best"
13. "Retirement"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars superb, leaves employment in a trail of dust, 11 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Yours Truly, Angry Mob (Audio CD)
when employment hit the shelves in 2005 and introduced this unlikely collective of semi yobs from leeds, we all jumped on board. they were a refreshing breath of air in a midst of middle class pompous bands like coldplay, snow patrol and keane. they came across like loud but friendly drunken football fans at a match more than indie stars - ricky wilson, sort of everyone's bloke. the sort of bloke i bet still gets stopped by security at his own gigs.

songs like 'oh my god' were party time, summery, feel good tunes. the album was fun without being shallow (eg fratellis), oafish in nature without being dumb. even in the depths of winter when your a*se was freezing and bones aching in the frosty air, if you heard 'everyday i love u less and less,' a rush of summer came straight back through the vents and a delicious, knowing grin (given the lyrics) came back onto your face, if only for a second.

however, employment wasn't a work of genuis even though it got heralded as such. it had its moment, and it got old. it went from cool laddish music to oafish loutish music in a years time. you just didnt want to listen to it anymore. and if the critics had known how good yours truly would have been by comparison back then, perhaps they would have deferred the acclaim until 2007.

alas, yours truly. its an entirely new sound, and its grand. i dont even know how to describe it apart from wham, bam, thank u mam. whatever they've done, they've done it spot bloody on. where they had their signature drunken sailor feel to them before, now they've become as soulfull as they are blokey (and probably still drunk). could houdini have outdone this feat? the answer, emphatically, NO. he couldn't have. he would have had to undo the shackles before getting out the box. the kaisers, they've let nothing go. they've only added on. and its brilliant.

the sound is more grown up now, sort of along the lines of a more killers 'sams town' style grandness and substance. ruby is quite simply a masterpiece. other tracks on the album are equally compelling. the best pop songs hit you on the head like a brick, knock u out on first listen, and keep you dizzy, at their mercy, for months. the best albums hook you with the main tune (eg ruby), then little by little, like a morphine drip, the other tracks slowly lure you into a full blown addiction.

yours truly catapults the kaisers into a whole new league. welcome boys, to the league of gentlemen, the league of rock n roll greats who write timeless tunes. when working class bands get it right, they are unbeatable and make every other band look like shandypants copycats. so if you liked the kaisers before, you're gonna buckle at the knees this time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yours Truly Angry Mob
Yours Truly Angry Mob by Kaiser Chiefs (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews