Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly and quicky first time provided...
You follow the simple and clear instructions to the letter, don't ignore the warnings or rip off the red sticker and go plugging things in at random.

It took just two minutes to configure the server with the first printer, within five minutes it was working with two Windows 7 laptops and a Windows XP desktop. Another 5 minutes brought the MFD functions into use...
Published 8 months ago by dimitri hadjidakis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars replacement
purchased updated model when old one packed up, hopefully this one will last longer. It works fine and for the money is good value
Published 8 months ago by Mr. J. Newbould Metaltex Ltd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly and quicky first time provided..., 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-link Multifunction Print Server 2 USB 1 Parallel Port (Electronics)
You follow the simple and clear instructions to the letter, don't ignore the warnings or rip off the red sticker and go plugging things in at random.

It took just two minutes to configure the server with the first printer, within five minutes it was working with two Windows 7 laptops and a Windows XP desktop. Another 5 minutes brought the MFD functions into use with PS Link.

Hasn't missed a beat since. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, works thoroughly well printing on our office network., 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-link Multifunction Print Server 2 USB 1 Parallel Port (Electronics)
Great product, works thoroughly well printing on our office network. We have sevetal computers driving this server, and it in turn runs an HP plotter, an epson A3 colour printer, an A4 printer and never misses a print!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worked for me, 24 Oct 2014
By 
Jon (Farnham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-link Multifunction Print Server 2 USB 1 Parallel Port (Electronics)
It isn't the easiest setup but it works just fine when you do it properly. I have it running an HP 5940 and an HP 300. Neither are on the supported list but the server accepted drivers for both from the installation CD. The HP 300 (and maybe other colour lasers) has a stupid bit of software called Smart Install that you have to turn off before it will recognise a print server. Once I did that everything worked just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works like a charm, but really needs the CD to be set up, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-link Multifunction Print Server 2 USB 1 Parallel Port (Electronics)
Really easy to set up and get working (with a Canon MP490 multi-function printer on USB and a time-honored HP LaserJet 6P attached to the parallel port) -- once I had submitted to the necessity of using the bundled "easy setup" CD. To be fair, they're really going out of their way to tell you that.

Using the MP490's scanner functionality also worked well once I had installed the "PS-Link" tool from the CD, which allows Windows to make sort of a network-mediated USB connection with the device. By necessity, only one computer can be attached to a device in this way at the same time, but that's inherently not really a problem with a scanner. (And it's certainly not a disadvantage to having to make a physical USB connection.)

Update: If you're using Windows 7 and find that one of your network printers suddenly appears "offline", try this: (1) Open "Devices and Printers" through the Start menu; (2) double-click on the offending printer; (3) open the "Printer" menu in the window that appears; (4) note that the "Use Printer Offline" menu item is checked, and click on it to uncheck it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars replacement, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-link Multifunction Print Server 2 USB 1 Parallel Port (Electronics)
purchased updated model when old one packed up, hopefully this one will last longer. It works fine and for the money is good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Print server, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-link Multifunction Print Server 2 USB 1 Parallel Port (Electronics)
Excellent piece of kit. Easy to set up and worked perfectly first time. Does just what it says on the box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars D-Link Multifunction print server, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-link Multifunction Print Server 2 USB 1 Parallel Port (Electronics)
This product has performed well since purchase and is a stable part of our office network. It was easy to install and to add printers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars D_Link printer server, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-link Multifunction Print Server 2 USB 1 Parallel Port (Electronics)
I tried to set up a TP Link server, paid a techy to do it for me and the next day it needed to be re-installed AGAIN. SO, I bought a D-Link server, and hoped for the best. The first computer took about 20 minutes to set it up, as I had to follow the instructions carefully, the next computer on the network took 6 minutes and my old XP machine took 3 and a half minutes to do. 2 months later, I have to say, it is the best gadget I have purchased in a long time. I now leave my printer on stand by (4 watts power on stand by) and I can print from any of my 5 computers (Yes 5) without any messing about. (My printer is a Kyocera Laser, 14 seconds from sending the document to print, by the time I walk to the printer room, the document is there.) Yay, go D-Link for reliability and ease of set up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value product., 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-link Multifunction Print Server 2 USB 1 Parallel Port (Electronics)
Easy to setup and allowed me to reuse my old kyocera FS-1500 which is 20 years old. Great if you have a printer that only has a parallel port - as most computers today don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars which is excellent. What it does is complex and it is ..., 29 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-link Multifunction Print Server 2 USB 1 Parallel Port (Electronics)
This works, which is excellent. What it does is complex and it is very easy to set it up wrongly, or to mash up an existing installation. But once you set it up correctly, if you then just leave it, it works perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews