Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grab your hankies and enjoy
I read this book recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. I wasn't even aware it was a movie but I found it through conversation and on-demand. The film adaptation keeps quite close to the story with some changes, as expected. Good cast, good performances and thankfully lacking any real hollywood stuff. I would recommend both the book (ok moreso the book) and the film...and...
Published on 21 April 2009 by J. Mcfadden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not great. The book was much better
After reading the book I found out that there had been a film made. The film was OK, acting OK, not great. The book was much better, the film seemed very old fashioned.
Published 3 months ago by S. Gornall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grab your hankies and enjoy, 21 April 2009
By 
J. Mcfadden "J McFadden" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Memory Keeper's Daughter [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I read this book recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. I wasn't even aware it was a movie but I found it through conversation and on-demand. The film adaptation keeps quite close to the story with some changes, as expected. Good cast, good performances and thankfully lacking any real hollywood stuff. I would recommend both the book (ok moreso the book) and the film...and a big box of hankies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well cast and acted, 18 Jun. 2011
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Memory Keeper's Daughter [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This movie is based on the novel by Kim Edwards of the same title. The story is set in the 1960s and involves a doctor, David Henry, whose wife, Norah, goes into labour during a snowstorm. Unable to get to the hospital, he takes her to his surgery, where his nurse, Caroline Gil, assists with the birth. Norah delivers twins, a boy, Paul, and a girl, Phoebe: the boy is perfect, the girl is obviously mongoloid. Convinced that his wife will be unable to cope with their daughter's disability, he tells Caroline to take Phoebe to a children's home, and later tells his wife the baby did not survive. Caroline, unable to bring herself to leave Phoebe as instructed, takes her away to another town and decides to bring her up as her own daughter. This is a very moving tale, which loses none of its impact by being made into a movie. Whilst a movie can never totally encompass a book's content, the movie plot is quite faithful to the book. Casting is excellent, especially Emily Watson as Caroline and Krytsal Hope Nausbaum as Phoebe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elegant and moving, 21 April 2010
By 
S. Stolfa "beadyeye" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory Keeper's Daughter [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a thoughtful movie, and handles human failings forgivingly in its characters, which to me made it very enjoyable.
It's real drama, understated rather than 'in your face' and with complex rather than stereotyped or simplistic characters,
and similarly complex relationships. It also gives an insight about dark aspects of life in the 60s, reminding one that
some things have greatly improved since then!

Dermot Mulroney and Emily Watson are brilliant in their roles and, given the theme of disintegration which runs through
the story, the focus yet manages to stay on generosity and personal integrity. The film therefore leaves you with a feeling
of hope, so often missing from more intrinsically negative narratives. It also avoids the pitfall of cynicism
in an attempt to be sophisticated, and I loved it for that.

Why 4, rather than 5 stars? Well, 4 1/2 would be nearer the point. The film is great, but maybe its pace (of storytelling)
is just a touch ponderous in places. Don't let that put you off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nancy, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory Keeper's Daughter [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I have watched this film 4 times and will watch it again at some stage It was cruel in one respect what the doctor did but as the film unfolds understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supurb, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory Keeper's Daughter [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This needs to be more than 5 star. I have read the book which is out of this world and watching the film of it is even better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Memory Keeper's Daughter, 4 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory Keeper's Daughter [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Bought the book as a present by request and saw this DVD so purchased it at the same time. Recipient pleased with the two together but not had feedback yet on actual products.(Hoping to have them passed on for my pleasure too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not great. The book was much better, 3 Feb. 2015
By 
S. Gornall "S. Gornall" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory Keeper's Daughter [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
After reading the book I found out that there had been a film made. The film was OK, acting OK, not great. The book was much better, the film seemed very old fashioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Recommeded., 25 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory Keeper's Daughter [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Very touching story, but the lesson here is....never judge a book by the film.

Read the book first to get the real impact of the situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film, 20 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory Keeper's Daughter [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
very good film.it was a gift for my mother & she loved it.give us more film as good as this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory Keeper's Daughter [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this movie and pleased I purchased it, excellent delivery too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Memory Keeper's Daughter [DVD] [2008]
The Memory Keeper's Daughter [DVD] [2008] by Mick Jackson (DVD - 2008)
£6.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews