Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're Back!!!
At last Wallace and Gromit are back in a half hour feature which they seem best suited to. This time they have converted their house into a windmill and have opened a bakery, with dough to door delivery. When making their deliveries one morning Wallace goes to the rescue of Piella Bakewell, the former Bake-A-Lite girl and a pin-up of his. Could Wallace have found love...
Published on 25 Dec 2008 by M. Dowden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not one of their classics
Being a W + G fan I awaited this latest adventure, A MATTER OF LOAF AND DEATH with much expectation. Whilst the general or overall effect of the animation is good, I don't think it will ever match the craftsmanship of the earlier works. The movie also felt as though it was too short, having said that, I'd want more if it were 2 hours long. This movie felt as if it had to...
Published on 13 April 2010 by Mr. George E. Berrill


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're Back!!!, 25 Dec 2008
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit - A Matter of Loaf and Death [DVD] (DVD)
At last Wallace and Gromit are back in a half hour feature which they seem best suited to. This time they have converted their house into a windmill and have opened a bakery, with dough to door delivery. When making their deliveries one morning Wallace goes to the rescue of Piella Bakewell, the former Bake-A-Lite girl and a pin-up of his. Could Wallace have found love at last? If only things were that simple, because there is also a 'cereal' killer on the loose, killing bakers.

There seems to be something not quite right about Piella, and even her poodle looks scared. Surely Piella doesn't know anything about the murders? And surely no one is out to kill Wallace?

If you haven't seen this on the tv, I don't want to ruin it for you, so you will just have to watch it to find out who the killer is, and see if Wallace, or Gromit can find true love. What I really like about this is the more subtle humour, such as the tribute to that famous scene from 'Ghost', and the album covers that pop up, just look at the titles and singers.

All in all a very funny edition to go with the rest of your Wallace and Gromit collection. Will be enjoyed by all the family, or just by yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Use your loaf, 16 April 2009
Wallace & Gromit return to their better suited 30 minute films. This short is packed with the puns that we've grown accustomed to in their earlier features. The BluRay picture is top bun and you'll see jokes which you can't on standard DVD. It would have been nice to have a few more extras but since the BluRay is only a bit dearer than the DVD, it's really a complaint that can be levelled at both versions. My favourite joke remains Gromit's look after Wallace says that he's "in bread". Also like the homage to the 60s Batman movie when they can't get rid of the bomb because of ducks, nuns, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but Good, 2 April 2009
By 
Glad to be able to add this to my collection, but short run, would have been better to have the other short films together on this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wallace and Gromit, 4 Mar 2009
By 
Jane Godfrey (Poole, Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit - A Matter of Loaf and Death [DVD] (DVD)
It dosn't matter what the actual film is like, wallace and gromit deserve 5 stars every time. This is easily the darkest film yet, but we still get the superb lines and pop culture references that we have come to know and love. Pull your finger out and buy this dvd. It's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking!, 30 Dec 2008
By 
Craig Taylor (Scuthorpe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit - A Matter of Loaf and Death [DVD] (DVD)
The best thing on TV this year worth watching was this, but don't worry if you missed it as the DVD is on the way!
Wallace and Gomit now run a bakery which get Wallace attention from the new love of his life. Unfortunately it is only Gromit that sees her evil ways!
The series is as good as ever, with many visual gags and laugh out load moments. Some great British TV!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wallace and Gromit run a bakery and there's a Cereal Killer on the loose!, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit - A Matter of Loaf and Death [DVD] (DVD)
`Wallace and Gromit: A Matter of Loaf and Death' is a Christmas treat I shall always cherish. I was lucky enough to watch this when it was shown on Christmas Day, 2008. Beforehand I had been able to see repeats of the classic Wallace and Gromit episodes as a kid and have fond memories of them. But this was the first time I managed to see a `Wallace and Gromit' special for the first time and with such clarity. It's been worth watching over Christmas and has been an enjoyable experience.

It's been three years since 'The Curse Of The Were Rabbit' (that brilliant Wallace and Gromit movie back in 2005) and the pair are now running a bakery. I love the opening sequence where Gromit the dog wakes his master Wallace up who's sleeping in the actual bakery workings and has his ears stuffed with cotton. Wallace gets woken up with a balloon full of cold water, and they do that traditional `Thunderbirds Are Go' sequence except with a twist as we see Wallace going through the bakery workings before reaching their new bakery van (which is possibly a remake of their Anti-Pesto van from `Were-Rabbit'). It's a lovely opening sequence with Wallace enjoying a cup of tea and a very well-done slice of toast provided by Gromit who drives the van.

However, Wallace and Gromit are under threat in terms of running a bakery as there's a mad mass murderer called the `Cereal Killer' on the loose who's killing bakers off one by one by the dozen (the latest was `Baker Bob' who we get to see murdered at the beginning). Gromit is obviously worried, but Wallace doesn't seem to be bothered as this gives him and Gromit the chance to have their business in prospering selling bread, cakes, etc, to family homes and stores.

They then come across Piella Bakewell (voiced by Sally Lindsay of `Coronation Street' fame), who was a former pin-up mascot girl for the apparently famous `Bake-O-Lite' bread company. `Light as a feather, she's the Bake-O-Lite girl' apparently. She's got her own dog - a poodle called Fluffles - much like Wallace who's got his own dog Gromit. Wallace takes a fancy to Piella since she happens to be the `girl of his dreams'. Pretty soon they start going out dating together, feeding ducks in the park; punting on some boat trip; dancing at a restaurant, etc. It's a relationship that's slightly over-the-top and too much for Gromit's liking who's suspicious of Piella, especially after Wallace rescued her and her dog from her bicycle rolling down a hill and nearly getting eaten by a crocodile in a zoo when the bicycle seemed to be working perfectly. But Wallace is blind by love to not even notice Gromit's suspicions.

I liked Gromit's relationship with Piella's dog Fluffles as it seems more like a real love relationship that's subtler and sweet. I like that scene where Gromit finds his room redecorated by Piella with flowers and cutie doggies and he gets so agitated before receiving a visit from Fluffles who returns his things for him which she kept safe and hidden. That moment when Gromit accidentally touches Fluffles' paw by mistake when taking the box of things from her was really sweet. And the moment where he blushes after she giggles a bit was really touching. Fluffles is very much like Gromit who can't speak and you can tell what she's saying by her facial expressions. It truly is a well-deserved match between the two.

As the story progresses, Gromit soon discovers that Piella is in actual fact the Cereal Killer and she wants to get her `baker's dozen'. Wallace is next on her list, and Gromit panics determined to stop Piella murdering his master. He goes to great lengths, setting up an electronic security system that detects metal when Piella walks through it wearing a security hat to go with it, locks up all kitchen cutlery and utensils in a `WMD' shed and stops Wallace from eating soup that is a `special' recipe by Piella. It goes to show how Gromit's loyal to his master and determined to protect and save him out of harm's way.

I really love the comedy moments in this episode. When Gromit tries to get the `cake of death' out of harm's way from Wallace, I love it when he jumps in the air and shouts to Gromit (in slow motion), `Where are you going with that CAKE!!!!!!!!' Then when the cake turns out to be the bomb with big words `BOMB' written on it, Wallace goes `Gromit! It's a bomb! The cake's a bomb!' Gromit has that aggrieved look on his face like he's saying `You think?!' I also like that moment when after Wallace feels rejected by Piella and he says to Gromit `And I'm not a fruit cake, am I lad?'. Gromit pats Wallace on the back like he's saying `You're alright'. The animation in this episode's really good and the way the characters look like Gromit with his face reactions without saying anything are truly wonderful to enjoy.

The climax to this episode where Gromit tries to get the bomb away from Wallace before it eventually ends up in Wallace's pants was really funny and exciting to watch. Seeing Wallace running in a panic and going `Gromit! There's a bomb in me pants!' was so amusing. When Gromit and Fluffles use a hose oozing raw pastry to stuck enough in Wallace's trousers to stop him getting killed as the bomb explodes, everything is safe. Wallace's buttocks get exposed which for me was a little inappropriate especially for children, and even gave the `nouns' a shock when walking outside with their cats. I also love it when Fluffles uses the Wallace and Gromit bakery truck with gloved mittens as cranes to fight against Piella in order to save Wallace. Wallace's reaction when he goes `Well done lad...err, lass?!' was truly inspirational. I love it with Fluffles wearing a pink safety helmet to fight in.

In the end, Piella get gobbled up by the crocodile in the zoo as she was meant to when dropping down in her balloon. It's a really sad moment for Wallace who says goodbye to Piella seeing her `angel' form going up to heaven. But it quickly passes him by as he goes off for a cup of tea. Fluffles however is affected by this sudden loss of her former mistress, and Gromit invites Fluffles to join him and Wallace to which she declines at first. Eventually when Wallace and Gromit decide to deliver some bread to cheer themselves up, Fluffles comes to join them in the end, and three of them go off into the sunset playing an LP record of `Puppy Love' in the car. It's lovely way to end the episode on such a high and funny note.

Written by directed by Nick Park along with co-writer Bob Baker (well-known for creating K9 in `Doctor Who'), this is Wallace and Gromit special worth watching. It may not be a touch on the classics like 'A Grand Day Out', 'The Wrong Trousers' and 'A Close Shave' (see here), or `The Curse of the Were-Rabbit', but it certainly fits in to the collection of adventures about this dynamic duo. It made my Christmas watching it, as I'm sure it'll do for you too.

The special features on this DVD include a `making of' documentary covering `A Matter of Loaf and Death' as well as many more including a PC game demo that can be played on your computer. There are also trailers on `Timmy Time' (hang on that's my name isn't it?) that was shown on CBeebies about a little cheeky and naughty sheep at school; and also the DVD releases of `Shaun the Sheep' shown on the CBBC channel.

I like to dedicate this review to Peter Sallis who provided the voice of Wallace in all the `Wallace and Gromit' films and recently passed away earlier this year. He will be truly missed by all those who remember him. `Job well done, lad! Hmm, hmm!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another piece of cracking humour, 19 Nov 2009
By 
J. Leighton (Geneva) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit - A Matter of Loaf and Death [DVD] (DVD)
The quality of this movie further underscores the brilliance of the team that make these shortish films. The jokes/puns and play on english humour are as good as any other W and G and frankly I await another one within the next two years. Keep um coming. Hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another tricky love story..., 14 Oct 2009
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit - A Matter of Loaf and Death [DVD] (DVD)
As usual, the Aardman team gives us a new an exciting story about our two unfortunate heroes. As in the previous film, the beginning is spooky with lots of funny overtones. It has a touch of crime mixed with inventivity and genius. Wallace is gullible at best and Gromit does his part with wit and sincerity.
Even though the film could have been a little longer, it is really entertaining for kids of all ages !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like they never left, 21 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. A. Lane - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit - A Matter of Loaf and Death [DVD] (DVD)
after a huge absense on t.v. they were back on form with this entirely new episode from the wallace and gromit series. Although it had a somewhat more sinister undertone compared to the others - it didn't hinder the episodes constant barrage of hilarity. Another great thing about wallace and gromit is nick park and peter lords original and fresh ideas: for example in each short/long film they starred in, they had different jobs each time like wash 'n' go window cleaners, anti-pesto and now as bakers. along with each new fresh occupation comes an entirely new story seemlessly slotting in hilarious cultural references, puns, and comical situations. The only thing I'd say is it is quite short for it to be standing alone on a dvd, however if you don't get it you miss out greatly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Park does it Again!!!!!!!!!, 10 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallace & Gromit - A Matter of Loaf and Death [DVD] (DVD)
Even more goodies from the team at Aardman. Where does Nick Park get his ideas from? It's the little touches that really count, like the SMUG fridge, first seen in "The Curse of the Wererabbit" and the baloon from the '70's Nimble ads. Pure Genius. What ever he's got, I want some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wallace & Gromit - A Matter of Loaf and Death [DVD]
3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews