Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mirror shatters as you stand on the edge of society...
Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360)
This game is simply amazing. The dynamic is like no other game I have played. It really is about the rush of escapism, the thrill of running and keeping up momentum. Forget shooting and cover (although guns can be snatched off enemies and used), run for your life instead. You feel invincible as you traverse the city, jumping from rooftops to...
Published on 14 Nov 2008 by Dd Jones

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly frustrating
I wanted to like this game. I tried. I really did. I'm not a novice, and I can accept an initial learning curve, as long as the game lends itself to getting you used to the controls and then sucks you in. And I appreciate originality (valuing games like Bioshock and Red Dead Redemption over mindless CoD type shoot em ups).

But this lacks fluidity and is...
Published 6 months ago by Stephen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Has more potential, 25 May 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a late review but i feel i want to write one anyway! I was excited for this game to come out, but after reading reviews it was said to be a short game, so when it was available to rent, i done so and i personally really enjoyed it. There are moments in the game where you have to be really, really precise in your movements that it becomes fustrating. I was really in it for a single player experience, it is something new and works well. It is a game i found that gives you a great first play through and although you may feel dissapinted in areas, particualy the story, It really is a great experience. On a note of the story, it really is nothing that speical. It was rumoured that Mirror's Edge was going to be a trilogy i believe? So maybe they are holding back on the story front...

When the price dropped, i thought i'd buy it to play it through again, At £10 you can't go wrong, so i went to get the DLC time trial maps. Which is what really brings replay value to this game. Time trials on Mirror's edge can get a tad fustrating, but it is so damn satisfying when you nail your run and get 3 stars that you just want to go on and try the next time trial. It brings a challenging factor to the game if you found the story not to be all that hard. Also about the DLC, if you are interested, the maps are really fun, some may find it's not worth the money, but you get enough maps, roughly 7? I think it really depends how much you enjoyed this game or not, to decide getting the DLC.

If you still happen to hesitate buying this game, then just check some gameplay on the web. If you are up for something new, i'm sure this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worth it, 10 May 2009
By 
Ms. L. Cawley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
there are good points and bad points to this game. of course, if you don't get too stressed with the bad points, the good points are pretty good, and the game is awesome. it's totally different and new compared to other games i've played before, with a bit of puzzle solving, hidden case finding, speed running, combat and some beautiful views :)

a few bad things i want to point out though, that really stuck out to me:
*the graphics can be a bit dodgy. when i say this, i mean when you're on the rooftops and it's a sunny day, and everything is white, it's kinda hard to see where you have to go. and then when you're in a dark building trying to manouver around, it's quite hard to see where you're going. of course, you can just change the brightness/contrast which is accesible in the in-game menu.
*some bits seem impossible. even on easy there are parts where being shot by snipers is pretty unavoidable meaning you have to wait at the loading screen for a long time. this tends to happen later on. Also, some routes seem impossible to find.
*the controls can be a bit tempremental. since you use LB to jump, wallrun and wallclimb it's gonna be a bit of a pain. especially with wallrunning... it has taken me many attempts just to run along a wall sometimes!

of course, i don't want this to deter you from buying the game. this price is a bargain. yeah, the story isn't that long and sometimes the game can seem impossible, but you can spend hours trying to beat the qualifying times and extremely competitive high scores on xbox live. once you get used to the controls, it's a game you can play where you don't really have to concentrate too hard (when you know what you're doing and where to go... but finding new routes is what makes this game fun! That and jumping from train to train and flying down zip wires!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, great implementation, poor level design, 30 Dec 2008
By 
Mike Stevenson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There are moments of brilliance in this game. Moments where you'll genuinely find yourself breathing faster, on the edge of your seat, feeling constant vertigo combined with an adrenalin rush. The engine 'feels' fantastic. It's simple, yet covers all the bases. It works on every level.

Now the bad news. The first "proper" level, basically what you get with the XBox Live demo, is by far the best level in the game. That doesn't mean that there aren't good moments elsewhere - just that the feeling you get from that level is about as good as it's ever going to get, and you need to prepare yourself for a lot of interminable dross in between the excitement.

Some levels are horribly arbitrary - endless machine rooms and ventilation shafts that completely suck out the feeling of freedom and speed that the game fosters in it's rare moments of brilliance. More than 2/3 of the game is like this. What's worse is that you'll find yourself in machine rooms where poles have been randomly placed (for you to swing on, of course), there's mysteriously no way up other than a complicated set of gymnastic moves (how do the workmen get up there?) and there's ONE path - yes ONE path - to take to get to your goal. Every other route is locked off one way or another. You'd think the 'blues' (as the cops are called in this) would notice this, and figure out where you're going...

EA / Dice have really dropped the ball with this. Such a fantastic concept, and so well executed in terms of the engine, and they completely screw it up with the level design. For example, consider this. You have a parkour runner as a main character, you have an engine that gives you a believable rush of speed and momentum, and features gorgeous rooftops and bright sterile futuristic cityscapes. So what do you do? You put an entire level on the lower decks of a cargo ship. Pointless, arbitrary, and ill conceived. What were they thinking?

Combat is poor. The problem is you just can't avoid it. It's all well and good saying you can do some lovely disarming moves, and that's true. Unfortunately while you're messing about one of the 3 other enemies in the group is shooting you in the head. There's generally only one way to get through a group of enemies - disarm one, and shoot the rest. And because combat is unavoidable, it's shortcomings are there for all to see.

Story wise, nothing special. Fine concept to get it going (although don't the runners get capped on the CCTV?) but after that it gets hokey very quickly, and aside from Faith herself there's some *very* poor voice acting. And who's idea was it to put a wrestler in the mix? Give me a break. There are several "what the f....?" moments like this in the story, and you decide to ignore it very quickly, which is not good. How people got paid to write some of the dialogue is beyond me.

So after all this slagging off, why give it three stars? Because of those moments of brilliance. Without them, this would be a bargain basement shooter that would be forgotten about instantly. But if Dice / EA had really put in the effort this game deserved, this could have been a huge leap forward. As it is, we'll just have to wait until someone gives the concept the attention it deserves.

Just imagine this engine, but with an open world city the size of Liberty City....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to see something different, 4 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. D. A. Wilmot "dean252" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great innovative game... As good as the are you kinda get bored of FPS games blending into one another. This game flows so well and really gets your blood pumping as you run get your runners speed up...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A game as sharp as a mirrors edge, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. Henry L. D. Huish (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Although many people have said how repetitive this game is when i bought i couldnt stop. i dont normally play games pretty much non-stop but this game is my far one of the best i have ever bought. the time trials and speed runs in it make it fun to compete against your friends to see who gets the highest score. i have played this game twice already and am starting it again. the extra map pack for the time trials are fantastic but confusing. there are multiple roots and it is enjoyable to try and find the best route possible. the map pack isnt set in a city like the rest of the game but modern style blocks floating in the air which are cleverly placed to allow the feeling of a confusing nd randomnly arranged map but the feeling will only last long. the campaign itself could be slightly longer but i did enjoy it all the same. the feeling of freedom as you race along the roof tops is envigorationg. the combat system could be slightly better as there were limited attacks you could do on enemies. the only cool attacks are when you would wall run and jump of to attack someone whilst in mid-air but this attack has taken me ages to actually do so i wish there was a wider selection of attacks but apart from that a great game. a definite buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best game ever, 21 Jun 2009
By 
D. Ceccarelli (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this is one of the best games i have ever played, the graphics, the layout,the gameplay, everything is just stunning. the levels are occasionally tricky and its really gets your brain working which makes the game fun but strategical.also theres time trials and additional maps so you'll never be bored i think its worth the money. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, But Get's More Challenging As You Progress, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Had a blast playing through the game, Have got up to chapter 5 and I'm still figuring out how to get through the mall level. You play as a girl called Faith who you can control through the city as you do parkour over several objects as you fly through the air, jump from side to side of walls and scale new heights.

As you complete each level the game gets more and more challenging and challenges your brain to think more where you need to jump and where your objective is and how your going to get there. To add to that there are several enemies you must evade/defeat to complete the levels. Although I have to nitpick here a bit, It can be a pain to grab a gun of them without having to use the slow motion feature.

In conclusion, The game is great and recommend it to anyone who likes using there brains to get somewhere in the level using different parts of scenery and scaling walls like spiderman.. Oh.. and parkour.

4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 July 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The best game I have ever played. Aesthetic like no other, just beautiful. Fresh and inspiring, fun and innovative, takes me to another world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Run,jump and climb....., 11 Jan 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Hi.Delivery was fast and furious (as expected from AMAZON) 1day maybe less(the box was a little bit broken because of furious delivery i think, but nothing serious).
The graphics in the game is monotone but interesting. Gameplay is interesting, sometimes you want to stand up and run by yourself. In game you can run and jump and climb everywhere(B button on controler is navigation,press it and you will run in right direction if you lost), sometimes shoot. I played it 2 hour before writing this review, so i don`t know what else there will be,but so far so good.Engaging very fast, and keeps everyone attention (who is watching) while you are playing. Game itself have autosave on every 5-10 min. of progress, and this is first person view game, you can see only your hands and legs. You will be given a training (usefull training)before starting the game.

Hope thise review will be helpfull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different but exciting gameplay, 12 Sep 2009
By 
D. S. Garcia (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The concept of an "avoid confrontation" first person game might sound weird (you can fight as well, but isn't the easiest way to beat the game), but worth try. I love the stylish movement and gracefully jumping around. Difficulty is also well balanced, you can't beat the game quickly. Different is the word that best define this game, different gameplay, different graphics... Maybe it doesn't like you, but is so low priced that you must get a chance on it. I think is a perfect game for those who want a old-school hard platform game, with lots of exploration and try-fail levels, but with cutting-edge graphics (awesome, the bright city feels hyper-real).
My friends and I play by turns on it, is very funny have five people stucked on a jump, pass to a sixth and perform a "that-couldn't-be-the-way!-jump" to get finished the level.

PS: Sorry for my horrible english
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360)
Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
£11.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews