Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm in love with this game!
Got it for my 10th Birthday, played it once and fell in love with it! Amazing graphics as you have to free run your way through a dangerous city: City Eye. Some people forgot about city eye's faults, and chose a comfortable life... but "others" didn't. These "others" communicate using runners. People that use rooftops as paths to move. They keep out of sight, which makes...
Published on 8 Nov. 2009

versus
76 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for the price to drop! Or rent it first...
For people who don't want to read the whole thing, here's a basic summary of my opinion of this title:

Pros:

- It's a new experience.
- The first few levels and last few are pretty fun provided you can put up with dying quite a lot.
- When the combat and gameplay do work together it is fun.
- The visuals are nice!
- The...
Published on 16 Nov. 2008 by SusanRoz


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mirror's Edge, 2 Jan. 2009
By 
Richard Birkett (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The exhiliration which one receives from this game is simply exceptional; from flying seamlessly from rooftop to rooftop, to running along walls over thin air.

The art style used within the game borders on personal taste, although the bleached, bright white buildings to the use of distinguished primary colours throughout the landscape is phenomenal. The 'runner vision' system, in which important objects glow red is superbly dealt with: providing a non-intrusive gameplay experience while also making use of a basic hint system which should help gamers. The lead protagonist, Faith, is often seen visually through the use of flailing arms and other body parts entering the screen, giving the truest sense of taking part in the experience like no other game yet.

Mirror's Edge features a give-or-take story, it is clear that DICE decided to concentrate on the gameplay mechanics and art profoundly more than the narrative, featuring an uninspiring premise of trying to decipher the murder of an influential politician in a totalitarian, dystopian society. Each chapter of gameplay is split with the use of anime-style cut scenes which are stunningly well crafted down to the intricate emotions of the characters, pushing the plot forward in a discreet fashion.

The gameplay, while the game's main draw is also its biggest weakness when it comes to combat. DICE once again shoots themselves in the foot with the obvious exclusion of time and resources poured into this section, the combat in Mirror's Edge is poor. The game rewards you for not getting into combat, however, it is often seemingly impossible to avoid this. Bordering on frustration, this section of gameplay features unresponsive mechanics and dumb AI to match.

Mirror's Edge is a fine, albeit short, experience. The story needed work along with the combat mechanics but overall it is impossible to avoid its stylised, superbly rendered artwork and its propel of exhilirating gameplay. Well worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mirrors Edge - Platform Game for the Next Generation, 7 Feb. 2009
By 
David Thompson "T FUNK 1984" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've just finished playing the story through for the first time so thought I should share my thoughts. I found it to be a good (if somewhat frustrating at times) game, something different from a normal FPS or role-play game and very playable. In a way this game is very innovative as theirs nothing else like it, in another way its all been done before as this really is just a 3d platform game. Rumor has it this is the first of a trilogy. Here's what I found:

THE GOOD
- Excellent graphics, the use of colour is particularly good
- Inovative movement system
- Easy to learn, difficult to master controls and moves
- Although the story mode is short, there are various time trials to keep you playing
- Reinvents the platform genre - about time!

THE BAD
- Quite short
- Movement on certain parts of certain levels is difficult and poorly thought out. e.g. you can jump off a huge building and be fine but it takes you 3 goes to hurdle a guard rail
- Due to the nature of the game you will spend a lot of time looking at walls and not at the beautiful game environment
- Levels are quite linear, I don't mind this but I know some who didn't like the game for this reason alone
- Combat system isn't great, once I got the achievements for combat a pretty much just avoided it

Lets be honest for a good Xbox 360 game this is really cheap now so there's no excuse not to give it a go. Really good game, frustrating at times but that could be said of most games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time for a 'Leap of Faith', 2 Dec. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Are you a masochist?

Have you played more first person shooters then you can shake a preverbial stick at and fancy a change?

Have you always wanted to wear womens cloths?

If you answered 'YES' to any of the above then this is the game for YOU. But there is only one way to play a game like this, so repeat after me:
'I -insert name here- do solemly sware not to use a firearm during the coarse of playing mirrors edge, or at any point set the difficulty below medium, because easy is for Pussies'

By making this pledge you will find the game more challenging and more importantly earn youself an ACHIEVEMENT (<-----So needs girlfriend). Off the bat you will notice the crisp clean visuals and soothing ambiance, as you wisk your way from roof top to roof top, enjoying the emersive feel of your caracters movements and vocalisations(farcry 2 take note), making you feel like your literally in her shoes (and cool shoes they are too). Enjoy this time of tranquility while it lasts, for t'is short lived, soon you will come face to face with... The Rozzers 'OH NO'(so not using capitals to create hightened sense of drama). From this point on you will be running faster then games developers run from Uwe Boll. If you are to survive, you must learn the art of disarming, learn to spoil your enemys prostate with a sliding kick, and later on when you meet the persuit rozzers (or as i said at the time 'oh no, NINJAS') learn to run away.

In short the game is a pure pulse pounder, a must for all armchair addrenaline junkies. Propare to spend alot of your time chacing faster times in the 'speed run' and 'time trial' before realising what a geek you've become. But be warned, as much as i love this game, it is not perfect. The game is not an open world, but this alone means nothing as open world games can be weaker then liniar ones(Assasins Creed, ArmA, Farcry 2). You will Die, a lot, and some times it will not seem like its your fault, but checkpoints are well placed, so this is not so bad and besides, its meant to be challenging.

Every true gamer should play this game, buy it, borrow it, rent it, steal it (no wait, scratch that). Love it or hate it, its a change from the norm and a welcome one at that.

Signed: A masocist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent..........In Areas, 5 Dec. 2008
By 
B. Taylorson "Pixel" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What can I say, when it came out I wasn't all that bothered about this game, having seen the reviews for it and looking deeper finding the trailer i though it would be worth the 30 quid i paid for it.

Having said this i found the game at the start AMAZING! the combat system has come under alot of scrutiny but i feel it is excellently adaped, alot of people say it isn't, but what they are not thinking is the character is a slim small woman, of course you are going to not be able to run at full speed when carrying a gun or have the physical strength to wrestle a guard, the shooting isn't great but then the game tries to if anything to steer you away from using weapons and to use the surroundings to your advantage, running up walls etc.

The story mode is way to short for my liking, 4 hours seems to be the max that i must have spent on this game.
The racing mode, grows more and more frustrating as time wears on, when trying to find different/quicker routes you mostly end up splatterd on the pavement 90 storeys below.

I would say this game is a must play, probably best to rent before though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something Different (AT LAST!), 1 Jan. 2009
By 
Steve (Manchester (Salford)) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I first downloaded the demo of this game when it arrived on xbox live, after 5 minutes i gave up...

being forced to buy a new console (thanks microsoft for the poor consoles!) I bought the Arcade version from a high street store and got this game bundled with it, well it was free so i figured I would give it another try.. after 10-15 minutes i was running around walls, flipping all over the place, jumping from building to building and I was amazed just how much fun this game was, at last a first person game thats not a straight shooter! even tho i gave it 5 stars its by no means perfect, i agreee with the reviews that mention flawed combat, fighting both hand to hand and with a gun can be tricky and frustrating but for the free running parts of the game it does a great job and is fun to play, take the time to master the controlls (I wish i had) and you will be doing wall runs in no time at all.. the big question is, if I hadnt got this game bundled and I actually paid full price for it would I still give it 5 stars? ABSOLUTELY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, But Get's More Challenging As You Progress, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Had a blast playing through the game, Have got up to chapter 5 and I'm still figuring out how to get through the mall level. You play as a girl called Faith who you can control through the city as you do parkour over several objects as you fly through the air, jump from side to side of walls and scale new heights.

As you complete each level the game gets more and more challenging and challenges your brain to think more where you need to jump and where your objective is and how your going to get there. To add to that there are several enemies you must evade/defeat to complete the levels. Although I have to nitpick here a bit, It can be a pain to grab a gun of them without having to use the slow motion feature.

In conclusion, The game is great and recommend it to anyone who likes using there brains to get somewhere in the level using different parts of scenery and scaling walls like spiderman.. Oh.. and parkour.

4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keep the faith, 7 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
You play as Faith, a 'runner' challenging the totalitarian regime of a dystopian city. The city has control over everything, monitoring all activity, controlling the media and politics. Runners have become the only means of distributing information around the city, always under the ever watchful eye of the authorities. Something sinister stirs within the city, a movement has risen to eliminate all runners, going hand-in-hand with a conspiracy that will shape Faith's future.

The plot lacks substance throughout the game, but its the city that tells the real story. The bleak setting paints a vivid picture of subjugated life. Faith isn't given a strong script to work with, but she proves that she is more than capable of holding her own in a scrap.

G R A P H I C S & S O U N D
The use of pure colour visuals in Mirror's Edge brings a unique vibrancy to the presentation. It's not just the oppressive outlook of the city which welcomes the monotone colours, but many of the gameplay mechanic require the distinctive colours to work their magic. Mirror's Edge may lack fancy texturing, but the vivid colour palette keeps the world fresh and exciting. The colours help to aid the gameplay in effective ways. The use of graphic design adds little details to the world, helping players identify with the city's persona; story.

The animations are highly immersive, and suck players into the experience. Every movement, jump, despairing dive and acrobatic showboating is realistically through the first-person viewpoint. The range of environment types is also an impressive feature throughout the game, plunging player into the heart of the city. The soundtrack mixes cyber-punk and sweeping orchestrals together to create a range of truly unique tracks.

The facial animations and expressions lack believability, which do little to help weal support characters come out of their shell.

G A M E P L A Y
Free-running all through a first-person view. Faith moves very smoothly, picking up speed as she runs, allowing to vault over a multitude of surface types. Players can jump over fences, slide under vents, run along walls and even navigate narrow pipe
ways. Everything feels fantastic when in full flow, which can make it equally frustrating when you mistime movements.
Controlling Faith's landing is another challenging aspect, ensuring that no damage is taken and that she can continue moving forward. The controls can be a little tricky at first, as the shoulder buttons will do most of the leg work. It is near enough impossible to deviate from objectives in Mirror's Edge. Specific level objects are coloured red to keep players on the critical path. Level design isn't always so straightforward either, which gives environment greater width and provides Faith with additional routes.

Platforming is an extremely daring aspect, you may not think you can reach a certain area, but you'll be amazed when you do make that distant jump. Faith will not run unopposed, as the city's police force creates numerous obstacles for her. Faith has some nifty combat moves up her sleeves: a speedy slide kick, stun punches and even disarm techniques. As the game progresses, enemies become tougher to overcome and in many cases carry firearms to put you down for good. Faith can acquire firearms from fallen enemies, but this isn't an FPS so don't get too trigger happy.

Unfortunately the combat and shooting mechanics are under-developed and create a weak impact. The hand-to-hand combat becomes a test of temperament, as its unresponsive and clunky nature break the immersion.

O V E R A L L
Mirror's Edge is an innovative title, bound by excellent free-running mechanics and thoughtful level design. The story is a little primitive, the visuals are nothing short of absorbing, and the gameplay works to lure you into the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Game!, 2 Sept. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was reccomended this game from a friend; I looked at the trailer and thought, wow, these graphics are amazing.

The whole game was definately more than amazing, the whole story is based on a woman named Faith, she travels around the city using parkour/free running. This part is definately unique and unlike any game that I have ever played before, The gameplay fabulous you don't always have to stick to the same old route, if you feel like it you can just turn around and find another way. Runner vision is very helpful as it points you in the right direction but not so much that it's doing all the work. You have to travel around objects to get to where the reticle is pointing. The paths marked in red such as ramps poles and ladders are very helpful and when you come across them, you know you are going the right way! The Graphics are great and very reallistic and magical. Some people would call the colours bland and boring and too bright but this all adds to the affect of the city.

Now, this game isnt all marvoulous as the cutscenes are cartoon, some people like myself don't really mind but some people hate this feature. Also the hand to hand melee combat, and gunplay are unatural and quite hard to use but often you can run away and avoid this, sometimes you can't and you have to also fight, but once you have got a gun you can just shoot the other enemys off. Another thing is that the game is quite short so you will finish it in under three hours.

I can't say any of it affects me and I can play this game quite happily without a care in the world! Also when you pull of moves in quick concession keeping the momentum you can do some great stunts and really feel proud of yourself.

For some people this game will just click with them and others just don't get it.

If you are looking for something new and the first of its kind then get it, its actually quite cheap now as it was released in 2008, that doesnt mean anything as you could say it was made in 2012 and people would believe you!

If you have got this far, well done and thanks for reading!
Sam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mirrors EDGE, 19 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. S. Djumpah "SoLoMoN" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
When I finished Mirrors Edge two things became apparent; one was that I have never played a great game like this and the other was that I have never been so emotionally attached to a game that has a weak main plot.
The level design of Mirror's Edge emphatically implicates the dystopian imperialistic society that has submerged (that's a mouthful) and it's in the way the environment tells this story that truly makes it mesmerising. Games like Shadow of the colossus are commended for the use of interactive storytelling, which is to say that instead of being told a story, a story is already told and therefore your purpose is to exist in it and create your own story through your experience and this credit can now be bestowed to Mirror's Edge also. I never raced to the finish because I wanted to see the end instead I lingered and tarried transfixed by the irreverent levels and that unnerving calm of oppression the designers get across via these beautiful complexes that are too beautiful to be this barren.

So I have praised the indirect story (If I can call it that) but it is the synchronisation of the level design and music that binds it all together and provides an audio visual experience that few and I mean very few have achieved, its application is mesmerising picking up pace when reaching a climax in a level or starting a level with a chilled out transient track that consequently infuses your experience with its symbolic cool.

The graphics are great driven by all the contextual art in the environment and the gameplay is ingenious with motions that are mapped in such a way to the pad that mentally you process your traversal in as similar a fashion as you would in reality.
And as with anything Mirror's Edge is not without its faults, most notably the combat which is on the right course as its simplistic design of only punching and kicking works and maintains the suspension of belief of an oppressive society (you can't exactly oppress Kratos if you get my gist) but where they fail is that they decide to include combos that end up locking the responsive Faith into and animation ala Quick time event in essence.

What's left to be said, we have a game here that easily makes my Top 10 games this generation if not ever. The whole experience was just brimming with ingenuity, intuition and flair and whilst some slightly poor design choices exist (average main plot and occasionally irresponsive combat) it's all water under the bridge for this herculean attainment in creating an experience unlike any other. My excitement reaches dangerous levels thinking about the sequel that can do away with the complexity of creating a comprehensive and revolutionary experience for the first time and that is a testament to the greatness that is Mirror's Edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mirror's Edge review, 29 July 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have to say I respect what this game was going for. It's a novel idea that's very enticing in today's market of "let's just do what everyone else is doing". But for all its innovation something just doesn't quite gel, failing in just a few too many areas to become a classic.

Essentially you're a courier. You live in a pretty great future really - the city is clean and looks like a nice place to live, when you're not being chased by the cops. On the down side it seems that freedom of speech is limited which is where you come in. Acting outside the law you move contraband around; it's never specified what or for who but it's definitely illegal. So it's not really the brave resistance against the tyranny of a V for vendetta or equilibrium-esque dystopia but rather a group of criminals causing a nuisance for everyone else. For all its attempts to make it seem like you're fighting the propaganda, it just comes across as you being a self-righteous criminal. You will regularly face cops, just doing their jobs, and proceed to mercilessly mow them down or kick them in the crotch, if you're feeling nice.

Anyway, your sister, a cop, is framed for murder and you endeavour to discover the who and why of it all. It all turns out to be rather disappointing; the big conspiracy twist thing they want to blow you away is just the response you'd expect to murderous criminals scaling your shinny buildings. The game is also just too short at 6 hours long for any of the characters to be fleshed out enough to care about them or the twists.

Gameplay wise it's technically an FPS I suppose, though the emphasis is on free running rather than shooting. You run, jump, climb and slide your way across the roofs of a very clean and minimalist metropolis. It's a nice place to mess about in and, if you get the hang of it, you can make it into your playground. You can interact with almost anything and the roofs provide multiple roots but overall lead you in the same direction. You have an action button that allows you to perform Parkour moves like wallruns and vaults to maintain momentum and avoid enemies with ease ensuring even a novice can keep going. Perhaps that's part of my problem with this game, whilst on occasion I managed to pull off some kick-a** moves; for the most part I just did the minimum to survive. I've seen people perform amazing acts, never once using the stairs to move up a floor, and I bet if I was as good as that I would love this game. It's a case of rewarding dedication that i just didn't have due to the story and length.

The game is at its best in moments when you have a clear root that allows you to build up speed whilst you are kept under pressure by pursuers. Where it doesn't hold up as well is when you are unable to proceed until confronting numerous armed guards or when you're forced into linear corridors. The sections of pure platforming are fun though the first person perspective does cause issues. Sometimes it can be hard to judge your position relative to the edge or a wall and a move ends up going horribly wrong as a result. The fast pace requires you to keep moving and when you do die it takes a lot from the atmosphere. I know there's something to be said for challenge but in a game so much about its flow you want the challenge to come from pressure not misjudgement. Still when it does go right the pace can become very immersive, aided greatly by the shaky camera that makes it feel more like you're really running.

The Final Word: an interesting concept though deeply flawed. It's certainly worth a look and considering how cheap it is second hand I can't think why you wouldn't buy it. Bear in mind the camera can be troublesome, the shooting sucks and it can be easily finished in one or two sittings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360)
Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
£38.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews