Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this one!
I bought not long time ago this item for an incredible bargain price. This BD collection is something anyone must have. Movies are legendary, you just cannot stop watching them. It's true that the 3rd movie is not comparable with the others (I think people like more "sand" mummies than a chinese mummy), but is still a great enjoyable movie. Video and Audio are superb...
Published on 28 July 2010 by Charles Burl Ellwood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Movie great, but disc 1 has defects
While the set was received in perfect condition from Amazon, there was a noticable defect during playback of "The Mummy" in a couple of spots where pixelation occurred. While I tried the disc in 2 players, the small, but obvious issue was still there. Since I am in Canada, return is not worth the trouble due to the shipping cost. Consider this if purchasing outside the...
Published on 5 Feb. 2013 by pj


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this one!, 28 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought not long time ago this item for an incredible bargain price. This BD collection is something anyone must have. Movies are legendary, you just cannot stop watching them. It's true that the 3rd movie is not comparable with the others (I think people like more "sand" mummies than a chinese mummy), but is still a great enjoyable movie. Video and Audio are superb. What else? There are a lot of adds and bonus features on each disc.Audio tracks available are : English DTS Master AUdio 5.1, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese DTS Surround 5.1(all discs); Subtitles: English SDH, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Korean, Swedish, Danish, Finnish, Dutch, Norwegian, Portuguese, Traditional Mandarin (all discs). Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great boxset, 1 Jun. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These movies are great and are an enjoyable watch. I purchased these as an upgrade from DVD. The quality is fantastic, great picture quality and great sound. The detail is brilliant. The only downside is that i feel they should have stopped at the second movie. The third movie just doesnt have the same buzz as the other two, and it makes a different not having Rachel Weiz in it. But overall a brilliant blu ray, well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great box set, 17 Dec. 2008
By 
Steve (Manchester (Salford)) - See all my reviews
I used to own the 1st 2 mummy movies on HDDVD and to be honest the blu-ray versions are on par with the HDDVD, they may not pull out as much detail as say The Dark Knight but the picture is still detailed, smooth and vibrant. There are quite a few extras on the Discs too, each movie comes on 1 disc and extras are on that same one disc, Sound seems to be limited to DTS on all movies, its possible there are other sound formats but as yet I havent found them.

The best of the 3 is the original mummy and each other getting worse as the trilogy goes on, thats not to say they are bad movies by any means. The 3rd in the trilogy suffers from the obvious cast change, Rachel Weisz is no longer in the mummy movies and is greatly missed, her replacement does a sterling job but the change is still too obvious.
The annoying kid from the mummy returns has grown up in the 3rd installment and has suddenly developed an american accent but even so the 3rd movie is ok to kill a couple of hours.

Now, what makes this collection stand out from the crowd is the 3rd movie absolutely oozes BD-Live extras (BD LIVE PLAYER IS REQUIRED), these come in the form of previews for other movies, a BD-live communtiy where you can send clips from the movie to friends on the PS3, im pretty sure you have to register online for this tho, a fast internet connection will be best for the movie previews as mine is quite slow it did cause the clips to stutter while buffering, even so, its nice to see a BD movie that actually takes advantage of BD-Live and does a good job of it, unlike IRON MAN!

All in all this box set is a fantastic buy, 1 fantastic movie, 2 pretty good movies and loads of BD LIVE extras on the Mummy Tomb of the Dragon Emperor.. oh and just incase anyone wanted to know, King Kong will be availible soon on blu ray (information found on the mummy 3 BD Live extras)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Price, Poor Delivery, 15 Mar. 2013
By 
G. Mellis "Seahorses in Japan" (Placentia, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all the Blu-rays that I bought. I had not intended to re-buy movies on blu-ray that I already had on dvd, but after buying the Harry Potter set at such a great price with prompt delivery. I bought seven of the "sets": Mission Impossible, The Mummy, Indiana Jones, Toy Story, Jurassic Park, Back to the Future, and the Bourne series. The prices were unbelievable and they all play fine. I am especially happy with the Toy Story series as I have waited a long time to buy it in the States and can't. I bought this set, and while the title didn't say Region-free, the detail did. And yes, it, along with all of the others played fine on my U.S. blu-ray (well, I just made sure the machine could read them). Delivery was another issue. They did not come when promised. I called Amazon and the were VERY good about it. They offered an immediate refund, no questions asked---except, I didn't want a refund. So, they changed it and resent it. I received Jurassic Park by itself, and as of 3/14/13, still have not received the other six. However, the original box arrived about 3 weeks late, ripped open, but will all of the blu-rays still there. Well, at least I got them, they all play, the price was FANTASTIC, and Amazon service gets an A+ for caring. I tell all my friends to order from the Amazon UK site. Oh, I was very surprised to to see that the price shown INCLUDES shipping, which I didn't find out until I ordered. Again, just make sure anything you order says REGION-FREE somewhere in the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2 good movies.......and the other one, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
J. Richards "The Icon" (Caldicot, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The trilogy of movies starring Brendan Fraiser as the heroic treasure hunter Rick O'Connell and John Hannah as Jonathon. I only mention them as they are the only 2 cast members to appear in all 3 movies.

Great set, it's a pity they didn't make the boxset like others into a set. Thats my only gripe with it, instead it's in 3 individual boxes.

The first 2 movies alone are value for the price of the set, both are high action and contain great moments throughout. The worst one, still watchable mind, is the "Tomb of the Dragon Emperor". I'm not saying it's a bad movie, but this genre shouldn't have moved away from Egypt. It was made purely for "money" i believe, but it is decent enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good family entertainement, 19 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's an excellent value bundle. You get the mummy flicks with extras.
The first two films are a ton of fun and are very rewatchable lots of great interaction between characters, the third is just a mindless action movie, not bad but not remotely in the same league.
The picture progressively improves , the first title being the weakest with lots of ee and dnr (possibly the result of the quality of the cg work back then), the third being the best . Audio is great and a solid mix on all of them.
Extras provided are worth watching , not a huge amount but given the space provided they're fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good trilogy!!!, 11 Jan. 2011
By 
Carlos Carmo "Carlos Leao" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 3 movies are very good, specially the first and second. In my opinion the third movie should not be done, because it's almost like the other 2 movies before. Even the actress Rachel Weisz gave up of making the last movie. Maria Bello replaces Rachel in the 3rd movie, she is good actress, however Rachel is more beautiful and better actress than Maria ... Brendan Fraser is brilliant in the three films! Action, humour and very good special effects will make you enjoy this movies! Great image in the 3 discs, even the first movie that was recorded in 1999 is a very good image!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OOPS!!!!!, 9 Nov. 2013
By 
D. E. WOOD "Slinger" (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this trilogy, even the third one which took us away from the African desert to the Orient. The HUGE problem with my particular set was that it contained The Mummy Returns (Part 2) twice. There was no first film. So I had to order the first film from someone else online. I had bought this set a few months before I actually managed to view it so didn't realise it was missing. Having said all that, the whole trilogy is amazing. Great adventure, no swearing (so my grandchildren can watch it too) and plenty of action. Good CGI makes it all the better. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Egypt great; China not so great!, 16 May 2015
By 
Mr. David Titley (Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed the first and second films. The scripts were funny, lively and had plenty of shocks. The last film was hampered by a lot of explanations about Chinese emperors and a long-winded prologue. I thought the plot had many good things in it, but they were not given the time to work well. The newly cast wife was not up to the mark and the son - albeit he was handsome and good at the action stuff - was no actor.
The usual thing with sequels: they always do one too many!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PURE ACTION AND ADVENTURE, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
YOU KNOW WHY YOU BUY THIS, YOU KNOW WHAT YOU WILL GET, PURE ACTION AND ADVENTURE WITH GREAT CGI, THE FIRST HAS A MEMORABLE SCORE BY JERRY GOLDSMITH WHICH YOU SHOULD BUY ON CD, THE FILM ITSELF IS GREAT FUN AND ONE TO WATCH REPEATEDLY OVER TIME. THE SECOND FILM HAS A CAST OF THOUSANDS AND IS VERY ENJOYABLE, THE THIRD FILM, OKAY THEY CHANGED A CAST MEMBER FOR A NEW ACTOR BUT FOR ME IT DID NOT DETER THE ENJOYMENT OF THE FILM. 3 GREAT CLASSIC ACTION AND ADVENTURE FILMS FOR A GREAT PRICE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

3 Film Box Set: Mummy Trilogy - Red-Tag Version [DVD]
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews