Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars40
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 17 October 2008
This four disk set contain the entire third series of Dalziel And Pascoe. Starring Warren Clarke (The Invisibles) and Colin Buchanan (The Pale Horse) The episodes in this set are Underground, Child's Play, Bones And Silence and The Wood Beyond. The episodes have english language options with removable subtitles. Being a Dutch import the packaging in in Dutch language but don't let that put you off.

Like the Silent Witness dvds the UK releases seem to have stopped with series two. At least we can still buy the Dutch release through Amazon. Now lets hope that the rest of this excellent series is released soon.
11 comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
I'm a big warren clarke fan and I love detective programes in general.

everything from a touch of frost to The Mrs. Bradley Mystries i will simply lap it up

so this series is very up my street

Clarke is on fine form as usual as the slightly unpc but brillaint Andy Dalizel

the crimes are quite grim but the main leads are very solid as any character in these shows have to be

I have collected all 12 series of Dalizel and Pasco except Diolouges of the dead which I cant get at present

these two go from stregth to strength

as we see a freindship grow in this unlikey police officers

can recommed this series to any crime fan
the only thing that i disliked it the dutch subtiles but they can be easily taken off your screen

but that is my own fault
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 November 2010
I think this is a rather poor product. The only version available seems to be a Dutch import. All the descriptions of each episode are in Dutch - only the title is in English - which is not likely to be of much use for most English-speaking viewers. Subtitles (in English) are set in the ON default position, so most English viewers, other than the hearing impaired, will want to turn them off before viewing. When the four episodes were screened in two parts, the DVD does not run from Part 1 to Part 2 without stopping and starting again. The four stories themselves are quite gripping and it's good to have these available to view to order, but surely the BBC could have done better than this in marketing the series.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
I had almost forgotton what an outstanding detective programme was all about - until I was reminded when I watched this series. Not only are the episodes full of tension, fantastic acting and great plot lines (thank you Mr Hill), but it represents gritty drama at its best. It reflected issues that were so taboo at the time: homosexual policemen (look out for the kissing scene), the loss of the pits, the adoption of mixed raced babies, the role of women in society and loads more.

What I marvelled at and loved the most, was seeing some of the things I had grown up with: floppy discs, people using 'phone boxes, chunky computers(and mobiles)and men wearing light blue jeans - although no jean pleats! All of which just enhanced my viewing of each episode.

The best way to watch this series? If you can, back-to-back. They are such a treat, I really think you would have difficulty controlling the urge not to pop the next DVD into the player. Furthermore, you will (without doubt) watch them over and over again.

Happy watching - xxx
Product Link: Dalziel and Pascoe - Series Three - 4-DVD Box Set ( Under World / Child's Play / Bones and Silence / The Wood Beyond ) ( Dalziel & Pascoe - Series 3 )
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
Didn't read the small print and see that this is a Dutch version. However if you switch off the subtitles before you start watching then it is perfect!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2009
It's a huge pity that the BBC appear to have given up releasing D&P dvds in Britain (although I've not given up hoping), but luckily this European import does work on British dvd players even if they won't accept US imports. Although pricey, the four episodes are top-notch entertainment.

Most of the episodes are again based on specific Reginald Hill books. Firstly a skeleton is uncovered at a mine when an old mine working is opened up. This ignites old problems even before a journalist gets involved and starts reporting on the investigation. The best tale of the season for me is the second in which an inheritance causes problems after a very unliked woman dies and a long-lost relative turns up. Seemingly unlinked at first, a man tries to blackmail Wieldy about his private life.

Thirdly Dalziel sees a neighbour killed, but there's not enough other evidence to convict the man. Dalziel is convinced he did it and sets about a personal vendetta. Finally we drift into Morse territory when after a murder involving animal rights campaigners the main suspect and Dalziel get romantically entangled.

The relationship and banter between the leads is as crisp as ever and pleasantly the previously underused Wieldy gets a character of his own rather than being just a minor character who gets told what to do.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
I recently purchased all of the series from number 1. My husband and I both enjoyed watching these when they were shown on T.V. but we knew we had missed a lot, certainly the first series. We have had the opportunity to watch some of them now, right from the beginning, and we were not disappointed. It was amusing to see how young they looked, and good to see and understand how it started and watch their characters form. A great purchase. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Very disappointed ,the DVDs were obviously distributed from the Netherlands and although the language is English there are Dutch subtitles on the screen which cannot be removed on my player. This was most distracting and did tend to spoil the experience. Why amazon should sell items in this country that were meant for selling abroad beats me. I did think of returning the items but could not put up with the hassle.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
This was a Dutch version with Dutch commentary on the covers, and Dutch subtitles. I relay on subtitles as I am deaf, and I should have been told this. I would never have ordered this if I'd known= speech is in original English form, but I can't hear it. I had it for over a month before playing it so did not ask fro a refund.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
What I hadn't realised when I ordered this DVD was that it comes with German subtitles, not something I had thought to check having bought other series from amazon with no problems, however I now am having to buy his again as ey are so annoying I can't actually watch, which is a real shame
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)