Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great portable solution!
Pros:
-Lightweight
-Easy to configure
-Handy overdrive at the flick of a switch
-Can accept audio input and output, so you can listen to an audiotrack from an MP3 player, etc. while playing along.

Cons:
-None
Published on 22 Sept. 2009 by Mr. A. van Nest

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hissssssss....
I bought one of these after reading the good reviews. Only one reviewer mentioned the dreaded 'hiss', so I dismissed it as maybe a dodgy connection. I was most dissappointed when mine hissed like the kitchen pressure cooker. Ok, it's not quite that bad, but still too intrusive for me. I've not used it much, and to be honest was going to send it back. But hey, what's 34...
Published on 17 Sept. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great portable solution!, 22 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. A. van Nest (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vox amPlug Bass Headphone Guitar Amp (Electronics)
Pros:
-Lightweight
-Easy to configure
-Handy overdrive at the flick of a switch
-Can accept audio input and output, so you can listen to an audiotrack from an MP3 player, etc. while playing along.

Cons:
-None
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket amp, 12 Aug. 2010
By 
Jem (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vox amPlug Bass Headphone Guitar Amp (Electronics)
Small and very portable, very acceptable sound. Basic controls of gain, tone, and volume, but also on/off switch has an effects setting. Very easy to use, and saves all the hassle of getting the amp out, cables, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good!!!, 19 May 2012
By 
D Lovatt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Bass Headphone Guitar Amp (Electronics)
the Vox bass headphone amp is a very good and useful thing to have around and about, i often use it in music classes in school for when we practice so i can be as loud as i want without my teacher getting cross at me.

the only down side about it is that when you play it too loud it starts to become distorted and then the sound isn't so good, but overall its a great thing to have and i would recommend it to any Bass player of any standards. XD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hissssssss...., 17 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Bass Headphone Guitar Amp (Electronics)
I bought one of these after reading the good reviews. Only one reviewer mentioned the dreaded 'hiss', so I dismissed it as maybe a dodgy connection. I was most dissappointed when mine hissed like the kitchen pressure cooker. Ok, it's not quite that bad, but still too intrusive for me. I've not used it much, and to be honest was going to send it back. But hey, what's 34 quid these days... I'll tell you what it is - too much money for a tiny little headphone amp that hisses. Come on Vox - you make some lovely gear, but this is a rip-off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for practicing alone, 1 Jan. 2011
By 
Ms. Debra Cordice "demelcy" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good for practicing in bedroom etc, so you dont have to lug a practice amp around. Feels a bit plasticity, but love the compression boost FX for Bass, really clear tone. Works with 2 AAA batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars gadget, 26 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Bass Headphone Guitar Amp (Electronics)
This is a good working gadget!
It's fun to use it, and lets you play around with a few sound options. With it, you can play bass with just headphones, anywhere you want.

That being said, it's nothing more than that:
a) the cheap plastic material is a bit of a let-down. It's light-weight and looks fake; definitely not a mini vox-amplifier. But I can live with that.
b) it doesn't produce a 'clean' sound. When used for recording, you get quite a bit of a hiss, especially with its top-e.q. turned up. No buzz or no crackles, fortunately, so it's still useable: in a loud multi-track recording, the hiss can fairly easily be covered up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of kit, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Bass Headphone Guitar Amp (Electronics)
Received as a Christmas present. Very convenient, especially for practicing.

The line in feature so you can jam along with an mp3 is very handy, and you can output to speakers as well as headphones.

It sits quite rigidly in the jack output of the bass (I expected it might be loose in the socket and swing around and was quite glad to see it didn't). It would be quite easy to hit it off something if you weren't careful, particularly if you were sitting down and I imagine it would be easily broken. The tone is ok for, it takes a bit of EQing on the bass to get it right as the bottom end can distort slightly if the bass setting is too much.

All in all though, a very convenient tool. Saves having an amp if you are stuck for space or indeed setting one up and it can be used with laptop speakers if you don't want to use headphones.

Has a slightly cheap look and feel to the unit itself (which is fair enough considering the price). Only for the VOX packaging, you would be forgiven for thinking it was an unlicensed product.

So far so good though and it seems like it's fairly easy on batteries. Very happy with this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 8 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Bass Headphone Guitar Amp (Electronics)
I was a little skeptical, but actually it really works. It won't blow your head off, but if you are wanting to practice without having to drag your wee Kustom amp about and find somewhere to plug it in, then this is for you.

Easy enough to set the levels so you can strum along to your favorite Bob Marley tracks. I am playing through the Ubuntu Rythm Box app on my Ubuntu laptop, but it looks like anything with a headphone socket should work. You will need a male to male small jackplug stereo lead.

Headphone socket on the unit is a small jack.

Takes 3 a AAA batteries... so I can even take the bass down to the waterline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for practice!, 28 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Vox amPlug Bass Headphone Guitar Amp (Electronics)
All/most bass amplifiers have a headphone socket, but if you want to practice your bass in another room and don't want to get a hernia, this is great. I would not expect a fantastic tone, and can't see why anyone would want to record through it but for practice it is great! There is a distortion position as well as a normal one, and a useful sound in port which you can attach a cd/mp3/ipod/iphone to jam along to. And you can do all this without disturbing anybody.

You have to be a bit careful with the unit when you sit down to play as it sticks out at 90 degrees from the guitar.

Well done VOX!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you play bass, get one, now., 7 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Bass Headphone Guitar Amp (Electronics)
This is amazing. It's not much bigger than a matchbox and is battery powered, yet has two channels, performs perfectly adequate amplification for practise, has an aux in so you can plug in your phone and play along to stuff.

I sit there whilst my wife is watching whatever and play along to stuff, or practice or whatever. The bass is not really easy to practice without amplification because a lot of techniques, slapping etc. produce a fairly naff sound unamplified and you only know you're getting the sound you want when you hear the output. However disappearing off into your home studio to practise for hours never goes down well with the family, this fills that gap.

The only negatives I could put would be that the quality of amplification is not as good as I get from my Behringer Head, but really that is not very fair considering the prices of the two.

In short, it's totally awesome, order it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vox amPlug Bass Headphone Guitar Amp
£51.84
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews