Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
42
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 September 2008
Trivium are a band that have divided the opinions of the metal community since their breakthrough, but even if some people question their style no one can question their talent; Trivium are a true collection of virtuoso musicians who are able to write catchy and enjoyable metal songs.
'Shogun,' the Florida Metal band's fourth studio album is a delight for fans of the band's first two albums 'Ember to Inferno,' and 'Ascendancy,' as it brings a lot of the better elements from those releases back to the forefront, including the screaming Metalcore vocals which divided fan opinion so much.
This choice will take some getting used to for fans who preferred the band's third album 'The Crusade,' but in the end, it is worth being open minded as 'Shogun,' may well be Trivium's best album to date both musically and in all the other areas such as lyrics and production.
In my opinion the best songs on the album are the aggressive 'Like Callisto To A Star In Heaven,' and the slightly dark 'Insurrection,' which borders on extreme metal at times.
The album also should get credit for the career highlight drum performances from Travis Smith, who is frankly amazing behind the kit.
To some fans, the album may appear off-putting on first listen; as the more commercial tracks appear early on in the album and could make the album seem less than heavy on first listen. As with all of Trivium's releases however, the commercial side is balanced with very heavy and technical metal elsewhere.
Whether you are a Trivium fan or a curious outsider you should not be afraid to try Shogun, it contains all the band's various styles distilled on one brutal, thoughtful and fresh album. Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2008
Trivium are a young band and deserve a lot of credit for what they've achieved.

Now, I am a big fan of The Crusade but some fans were unsure due to Matt Heafy (singer) singing a lot. With Shogun, the screaming is back as well as singing. When I first listened to the preview of their album up on their MySpace profile, I loved what I heard. Now that I've got my mittens on the album, I've had more time to proper listen to the album. And can I also say as well, I got the special edition CD/DVD package, the behind the scenes of making the album is worth getting for any Trivium fan, it's a must! And for any metal fan, with the added bonus of instructional videos for guitars and bass of each song.

After listening to the album, I just love the fast riffs and solos. They're very fitting within each song. I think the guitars work very well together and are very solid, even when doing a riff, dual riffs and solos. I just love the band's fast riffs and the drummer Travis Smith (drummer) is such an amazing drummer to keep up with it. Another point to make is that Matt Heafy's vocals have improved - in both singing and screaming. In most of the chorus', which happen to be very catchy and it's quite easy to hum along to, Matt's vocals are clean. But TOO many songs on the album have very catchy choruses, which is a little overwhelming I must say. That's the only little problem I have with the album personally. That could be related to the band's influences (Metallica springs to mind). In some songs, like Into The Mouth Of Hell We March and Insurrection, the chorus' are fitting.

My favourite tracks on the album are Torn Between Seylla And Charybdis and Insurrection. For this album, for me, it's better than The Crusade (but as I said, I am a fan of that album!). I love the music and the band perform very well together.

4/5
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2008
Trivium are one of those bands that you either love or hate, there is not much middle ground. One reason for this is that many people criticize them for not sounding original. I won't go into the reasons behind this because if you care you will know already, but I myself don't agree with that group of people. I like Trivium and think they are original and by far the best band that the Metalcore scene has to offer.

On this effort Trivium bring back the screaming that was on Ascendancy but have kept the clean vocals as well. The guitar riffing is much heavier than it was on The Crusade and is more similar to the Ascendancy album. The drumming is fast and consistent as always and the bass is good as well. The solos aren't as plentiful as I was expecting even though there are a decent amount and they are very good. The lyrics have never been Trivium's strong point, although they are the best yet from the band. It has to be said that Matt is no Dave Mustaine but what he does write is acceptable.

I have the special edition which has three bonus tracks which are decent and include a cover of Iron Maidens `Iron Maiden' and a behind the scenes documentary, plus the band show you some of the riffs on the album and how to play them which for any guitar players out there is an interesting feature. The special edition with all these extras cost only an extra £1 so it is well worth it, in fact you would be stupid not to get the special edition.

Track ratings out of 10:

1) Kirisute Gomen- 9.2
2) Torn Between Scylla and Charybdis- 8.7
3) Down from the Sky- 8.9
4) Into the Mouth of Hell We March- 9.1
5) Throes of Perdition- 8.7
6) Insurrection- 8.4
7) The Calamity- 8.1
8) He Who Spawned the Furies- 7.9
9) Of Promethius and the Crucifix- 8.5
10) Like Callisto to a Star in Heaven- 8
11) Shogun- 9.2

Bonus Tracks:
12) Poison, the Knife or the Noose- 8.2
13) Upon the Shores- 8.1
14) Iron Maiden- 8.4
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 29 September 2008
Trivium have finally arrived!

The Metallica comparisons have been well and truly shrugged off and this album takes Trivium into the next league. And make no mistake, although Death Magnetic is a fine album, this one is more "now", more "future", more "wow"!
Pretentious twaddle that bit I know, but this is seriously heavy, seriously melodic when required - excellent singalong choruses aplenty, and onlt a hintof balladry in the last extended track Shogun.

Strange album title though, as most of the tracks deal with Greek mythology yet the album is called "Shogun",

Am I missing something here?

Seriously though, any metal fan shouldn't miss this as it will be on all the most discerning "best of 2008" lists at the end of the year.
33 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
WOW! This album is absolutely mind-blowing! The 7 string guitar riffs are extraordinary and epic. What i can't believe is that this album has so many eargasmic solos that gives me the chills! That awesome breakdown in the 2nd song (I'm rubbish at remembering song names) just give me the chills every time I hear it! Ascendancy was fanfookingtastic, but Shogun is better! THIS IS EPIC! The drumming (oh my god) is incredible in every way. Matt Heafy screams in such an awesome demonic way that you can't help but think he is in fact the devil himself!!!! Sometimes theres elements of death metal in some of the songs and in Shogun the 10 min long epic song, theres a beautiful melody about 5 mins in with a bluesy sort of guitar solo that makes the hairs stand up on end. This has to be in my list of 10 fave albums of all time. I could cry for being so happy at discovering such a gem.
THIS IS A GEM TO BE CHERISHED FOREVER.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2008
Ok, let's get this clear - i've never thought much of Trivium - from the 1st track on Ascendancy to now, i've been HIGHLY anti-Trivium, as they seemed somewhat staid and dull... a bit generic if you will!

This has all changed.

Having heard a mass of tracks off this album i'm pleased to announce that this is actually a bloody good album! They've finally stepped out of the shadows of their inspirations and created their OWN sound, which is amazing. The soppy vocals of the Crusade are gone, and instead they are replaced with a mature sound of a band that FINALLY deserves the hype.

If you're not a fan of the band (like me), then try this... you might like it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2008
This album sits somewhere in between Ascendency and the Crusade.

Production and structure of the songs just seems much better worked through.

Vocally the band make use of all their previous styles in good measure and bring back the screams in perfect dosage! There is also a new vocal direction featuring deep/black metal stylings.

Musically Trivium are better than ever with melody as well as suitable heavier sounds prominant as ever.

Better than the Crusade. This album restores my faith!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
This album, as always with Trivium is amazing, it can be clean and epic, to heavy and fast. The solos are also amazing. It is kind of a combination of The Crusade and Ascendancy as it is a balance between singing and screaming I find.
The DVD is also very helpful and shows how to play plenty of iconic riffs from the album and shows it in the making.
Must have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 September 2008
Trivium are a band that have divided the opinions of the metal community since their breakthrough, but even if some people question their style no one can question their talent; Trivium are a true collection of virtuoso musicians.
'Shogun,' the Florida Metal-er's fourth studio album is going to delight fans of the band's first two albums 'Ember to Inferno,' and 'Ascendancy,' as it seems to bring a lot of elements from those releases back to the forefront, and this includes the often controversial metalcore vocals.
This choice will take some getting used to for fans who preferred the bands more 'Testament/Metallica,' style third album 'The Crusade,' but it is worth being open minded as 'Shogun,' may well be Trivium's best album to date both musically and in all the other areas such as lyrics and production.
In my opinion the best songs on the album are the aggressive 'Like Callisto To A Star In Heaven,' and the slightly dark 'Insurrection,' which borders on extreme metal at times.
The album also should get credit for the career highlight drum performances from Travis Smith, who is frankly amazing behind the kit, (and a firm fan of the china cymbal).
While the album may appear off-putting on first listen; as the more commercial tracks appear early on in the album and could make the album seem less than heavy on first listen, however as Trivium always do, the commercial side is balanced with very Heavy and technical metal elsewhere.
Trivium fans will love this album, but if you are a curious outsider you should defiantly start here, its the bands entire career distilled on one brutal, thoughtful and fresh album. By the time 'Insurrection,' and the slightly progressive Title Track/Closer roll in you'll be hooked.
Highly Recommended
This special edition comes with a DVD and three Bonus tracks, slightly different artwork and is actually worth the extra couple of pounds, as while the Bonus material has a less polished production, it still has a high quality of songwriting and delivery. The Iron Maiden cover of the song 'Iron Maiden,' also happens to be suprisingly good.
The DVD is what you're really paying the extra money for, and what you get is pretty good value, A 'Making Of Documentary,' that is very long for a bonus feature and has not only insight in to the recording process, but the economics of Roadrunner Records and the feelings associated with being forced into contractual obligations you'd rather not have to fulfill. As well as this interesting Documentary (with a silly comedy prologue about Nashville) there is Some instructional footage on how to play the guitar and bass parts, which is a nice addition to the overall package.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2008
I wasn't expecting it at all, but this album completely blew me away. I loved their second offering 'Ascendancy', but their third album 'The Crusade' although it wasn't bad, i found i didn't get into it as much. This album on the other hand i loved from the first listen. The screaming is back, but the clean singing vocals have remained, and they have pulled it off brilliantly.

Whatever you do, don't discount Trivium because you didn't like the crusade, as they are back, and better than ever!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)