Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May surprise some
Trivium are a band that have divided the opinions of the metal community since their breakthrough, but even if some people question their style no one can question their talent; Trivium are a true collection of virtuoso musicians who are able to write catchy and enjoyable metal songs.
'Shogun,' the Florida Metal band's fourth studio album is a delight for fans of the...
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by Gentlegiantprog

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shogun
This is nothing like the old trivium. There isn't much to be said about this albums greatness apart from Down From the Sky and the solos of most of the songs. The whole album is pulled down by its boringness. The band went through some struggles to produce this album but if there next one is like this then they have truely lost there uniqueness and greatness.
Published on 30 May 2011 by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May surprise some, 27 Sep 2008
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
Trivium are a band that have divided the opinions of the metal community since their breakthrough, but even if some people question their style no one can question their talent; Trivium are a true collection of virtuoso musicians who are able to write catchy and enjoyable metal songs.
'Shogun,' the Florida Metal band's fourth studio album is a delight for fans of the band's first two albums 'Ember to Inferno,' and 'Ascendancy,' as it brings a lot of the better elements from those releases back to the forefront, including the screaming Metalcore vocals which divided fan opinion so much.
This choice will take some getting used to for fans who preferred the band's third album 'The Crusade,' but in the end, it is worth being open minded as 'Shogun,' may well be Trivium's best album to date both musically and in all the other areas such as lyrics and production.
In my opinion the best songs on the album are the aggressive 'Like Callisto To A Star In Heaven,' and the slightly dark 'Insurrection,' which borders on extreme metal at times.
The album also should get credit for the career highlight drum performances from Travis Smith, who is frankly amazing behind the kit.
To some fans, the album may appear off-putting on first listen; as the more commercial tracks appear early on in the album and could make the album seem less than heavy on first listen. As with all of Trivium's releases however, the commercial side is balanced with very heavy and technical metal elsewhere.
Whether you are a Trivium fan or a curious outsider you should not be afraid to try Shogun, it contains all the band's various styles distilled on one brutal, thoughtful and fresh album. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to form!, 5 Oct 2008
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
This album sits somewhere in between Ascendency and the Crusade.

Production and structure of the songs just seems much better worked through.

Vocally the band make use of all their previous styles in good measure and bring back the screams in perfect dosage! There is also a new vocal direction featuring deep/black metal stylings.

Musically Trivium are better than ever with melody as well as suitable heavier sounds prominant as ever.

Better than the Crusade. This album restores my faith!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trivium and this record, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
I discovered this band short time ago and to me this record his on of the best of the band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
Masterpiece!
Love the band love the genre!
Must have to any thrash / metal fan wont be dissapointed.
Now second time ive bought this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good!, 31 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
I'm not going to review each track individually in this review,instead I will simply say I was pleasantly surprised when I heard this album.I was not a huge fan of the only other Trivium album I had heard,Ascendancy,however Shogun is catchy throughout,with some great heavy tracks and some just plain good ones.Overall worth a listen even if you haven't enjoyed Trivium previously,this is more mature work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back Trivium!!!, 17 Oct 2008
By 
Jez1972 (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
Trivium are back with there strongest set of songs yet. Ascendancy is awesome The Crusade they went all Metallica on us and although it went Top Ten on it's release it wasn't a great album, however then Shogun came out and all i'm saying is this buy it, they've gone back to the old days and i've never Matt's full vocal range before from a growl to a scream and everything in between! the musicanship on this album is also amazing my fave tracks on this CD is Down From The Sky and the 12 min title track Shogun. All in all this a fantastic album it will blow your mind and your speakers any metal fan should have this in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Triviums - Shogun, 13 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
Shogun is Triviums fourth album and is probably the bands most powerful and well structured release.

The tracks on Shogun have the screaming vocal quality that was present in the likes of Ascendancy except there is alot more aggression added this time around. However is it also good to note that they have kept their clear sounding melodic vocals aswell.
The playing on the album is impressive, although i would have loved there to have been a few more guitar solos written in.

The two tracks wchih i think stand out most on Shogun are Into the Mouth of Hell we March and Down From The Sky, which also happens to be the first single release off the album. Both tracks have powerful riffs and great lyrics!

In my opinion Shogun is more similar to the earlier release of Ascendancy, rather than the Crusade (both of these albums are fantastic aswell). You can clearly see a line of steady progesssion throughout the albums right until the very end of this current fourth release.

One can 100% say that if you liked Ascendany and Ember to Inferno then this album is a must buy!

5/5 by far!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trivium Return!, 5 Oct 2008
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
'Shogun' is the new greatly anticipated album from Trivium. Now, I personally love Trivium. I've been a HUGE fan since Ember to Inferno and the album doesn't disappoint in anyway shape or form.

The blasting drum beats on 'Insurrection' can cause high amounts of mosh and head banging which as we all know is a huge plus! Other songs include, `Throes of Perdition', `Down From The Sky' and `Into The Mouth Of Hell' as well as many other killer tracks.

Heafy's powerful vocals, Corey's riffage, Paolo's pounding bass and Travis's blasting drum beats are breath-taking and for the die hard Trivium followers, this album only adds to their extensive collection of anthems. For the newer Trivium fans, this is the album you've been waiting for, the one that will change your life and your opinion on metal forever. It's Triviums defining album and their best to date.

Happy head banging!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could be their best yet...?, 11 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. S. Lewis (Saltash, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
This is probably one of the most maturist metal albums ever made. It combines elements of their previous three albums but mostly from Ascendancy and The Crusade. Infact, some songs literally sound like they half an idea from an Ascendacy song and stuck it with half an idea from a The Crusade song. the result is a fantastically heavy album. Time for a track by track run through:

Kirisute Gomen - A powerful album opener after the deciving little bit of classical guitar at the opening. Contains catchy choruses and good screamed vocals (yes, they brought the screams back!). 8/10

Torn Between Scylla and Charybdis - Firstly, what the hell does this mean? Secondly, this is another reasonably good song with nice guitar harmonies at the beginning but it's a bit riff based for me, i.e. they just tried to make a song out of about 5 riffs, but it's not bad. It has a great guitar solo though. 7/10

Down from the Sky - One of the best songs on the album and the first single. Great chorus and lyrics. 9/10

Into the Mouth of Hell we March - This was the first song that I heard from this album when it was posted on YouTube. At first I didn't like it but it's really grown on me. A really strong song. 8/10

Throes of Perdition - Another great guitar intro to go with another really strong song. I also like the way this song is sung. 8/10

Insurrection - This is a really fast paced song and in my opinion, is one of the heaviest songs that Trivium have ever made. It has great vocal pattens and strong drumming. 7/10

The Calamity - Another candidate for the best song on the album award. A great melodic song with a nice chorus and intro guitar riff. I think that the verses are quite spooky which contrasts the chorus. 9/10

He Who Spawned the Furies - This has to be the lamest sounding song title ever and is the shortest track on the album at 4:08. It's kind of a bit like 'And Sadness will Sear' from The Crusade and it's not really that good to be honest. 6/10

Of Prometheus and the Crucifix - Another song that's title means nothing. This is a fairly standard metal song and nothing really special but has a nice verse riff. 7/10

Like Callisto to a Star in Heaven - This song has a nice melodic guitar intro but turns into another fairly standard metal song with some fast paced riffs and aggressive vocals. 7/10

Shogun - The longest song Trivium have ever written at 11:55. This is kind of like their 'Master of Puppets' with loads of parts. A great song to finish the album off with. 9/10

Overall, this is a fantastic album and although there a couple of dodgy tracks, it still for me is their best album so far. I liked Ember to Inferno, loved Ascendancy and loved The Crusade but I LOVE Shogun. I think that every metal fan should own this for the guitar work and master-class drumming. My only moan is that I cannot say half the titles. Matt Heafy should stop trying to write really hardcore lyrics with words no-on has heard of but I still think it's a great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album!, 7 Jun 2011
By 
B. Dace (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shogun (Audio CD)
Much better than The Crusade album, but not as good as Ascendancy, but it is different in a good way.... They're new song 'In Waves' is showing better promise. If you get this album, make sure you pay the extra 2 to get the bonus tracks and DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shogun
Shogun by Trivium
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews