Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got up, fed the cat, stole three cars and bought some coke
I am probably not the typical player of this type of game, I am a 40 something female who normally plays stuff like Professor Layton, Scrabble, My Health Coach and My Spanish Coach...so why Grand Theft Auto Chinatown Wars?

It may be explained by the fact that I caught the GTA San Andreas bug when I owned a Playstation 2, when I sold the console on because it...
Published on 26 Mar 2009 by Pendleton Girl

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grand theft auto ds game
My son loves this game definately not recommended for under 12 I think as few too many swear words but lots of fun
Published 23 months ago by Karen williams


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got up, fed the cat, stole three cars and bought some coke, 26 Mar 2009
By 
Pendleton Girl (Buckfastleigh, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: GTA: Chinatown Wars (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I am probably not the typical player of this type of game, I am a 40 something female who normally plays stuff like Professor Layton, Scrabble, My Health Coach and My Spanish Coach...so why Grand Theft Auto Chinatown Wars?

It may be explained by the fact that I caught the GTA San Andreas bug when I owned a Playstation 2, when I sold the console on because it simply stopped getting played due to lack of time, I also sold San Andreas, with genuine regret because I had spent a lot of time playing it and really enjoyed it (as far as I got). The DS was the perfect solution to me, because of its size and transportation advantages - being able to take it away in my camper van (with charger), at home whilst the other half is on the computer or watching TV and even to work to play in my lunch break if I wish - meant that I had more time to enjoy playing games.

When I saw that Rockstar were bringing out a GTA game for the DS I thought "Yippee!" as although I love my more conventional well-behaved games, it is always fun to have a walk on the wild side!

To me, as an adult who has never been in trouble with the law, this game is simply a great exercise in escapism - a bit like watching the early Die Hard Films. The other day I got up, had breakfast, fed the cat, stole three cars for Uncle Kenny and bought some coke which I then sold on for an enormous profit. After going shopping and having lunch I recruited some triad gang members, pinched a taxi and picked up some fares for fun. Then it was time to get the dinner on. GTA Chinatown Wars is fun and a bit of a laugh, and not to be taken seriously under any circumstances.

Game play wise, I had been concerned about the possible limitations the DS's size may have presented, but so far I would say it copes well with the obvious necessary downsizing required and I have quickly adjusted. The mapping/routing system makes getting around easier than I expected although it is taking me longer this time to get used to where I am on the map as a whole. I don't feel 'familiar' with the city yet, although I have only been playing a few days so probably just need to give it a bit more time, although you could argue that having the routes planned out makes one a little lazy when it comes to orientation.

Stealing many cars has the added feature having to either 'hot-wire' the vehicle or input its security code, courtesy of the stylus, this makes challenges such as an early one, of having to steal three cars in 'six hours' - actually more like six minutes - far from a doddle and requiring some serious planning and co-ordination - for me in any case.

To summarise, I am pleased with it so far and look forward to playing the rest of the game but maybe as an older player, I personally would be careful not to rush the experience and make sure I take breaks from it from time to time, to do other things, like write this review!!!! and head back to the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTA: Chinatown Wars - A fun and addictive game for the DS, 3 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: GTA: Chinatown Wars (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Grand Theft Auto is one of my all time favourite games so I was thrilled when Chinatown Wars was released on the Nintendo DS. The DS version is shot from a birdseye view, and is a nostalgic throwback to the original GTA released on the first Playstation. Although in most recent years GTA has been adapted to visually high graphics on Playstation 2 and 3, the format translates incredibly well to the DS platform and makes for fantastic gameplay.

What makes GTA so addictive and enjoyable is that it is pretty much an open ended game. Along with the main missions, there are a wide range of side missions, such as warehouse raids, hijacking vans (many of which contain drugs and weapons), police car and ambulance missions, earning fares as a taxi driver, street races, rampages and missions involving helping random pedestrians on the street. Aside from completing the main missions, my favourite aspect of the game is the drug trading, where you will receive emails on the touch screen when traders are selling drugs cheaply or wanting to buy them for high amounts. In this game, trading drugs is the best way to earn lots of money, of which you can buy weapons from the ammunition store and buy safe houses all over the city. Owning lots of safe houses is ideal as you can flee to any one of them to get the police off your tail.

The use of the DS touch screen works really well in this game, for example when stealing a parked car you have to either hot-wire or input a security code into the vehicle using the stylus. You can also go to a tattoo parlour and give and receive tattoos using the stylus as well as going into a shop to buy scratch cards and using the stylus to scratch the cards. There is also the option to search dumpsters for treats which can result in either finding top prizes like weapons and drugs or nasty surprises such as used condoms and mouldy hot dogs! In addition to this, there is a useful PDA system which allows you to create routes to destinations such as safe houses, pay and sprays, as well as drug dealers, to name just a few. The PDA is particularly useful when trying to escape the police.

Overall, I would highly recommend Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars to anyone over 18 who wants a fun and exciting game for their DS. It is action packed with a great storyline and lots of exciting missions and interactions that will keep the player occupied for a very long time. In my opinion it is one of the best games for the DS and I am hoping for another GTA release in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent GTA Game For The DS, 21 May 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GTA: Chinatown Wars (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
WARNING THIS GAME IS RATED 18 & IS NOT SUITABLE FOR CHILDREN.

This is the first Nintendo DS GTA game & the results are very impressive to say the least.

Chinatown Wars sees you returning to Chinatown as you play the character of Huang Lee who is coming home to return a unique sword to his uncle following the death of Huangs father to ensure his family retains control of the triads in Liberty City.

On route Huang is robbed of the sword & left for dead & it's here were you take over, From escaping drowning in your car you guide Huang around Liberty City on multiple missions for your uncle as well as making a little money on the side while all the time trying to discover who it was who actually murdered you father & why.

Timelord Thoughts.
As a avid fan of the GTA games I was unsure if GTA Chinatown Wars on a handheld console would actually work but to my amazement Chinatown Wars more than delivers with a great storyline & plenty of side missions that gives you the freedom to explore the Liberty City at your own leisure.

Hotwire car's, Make some money on the side by stealing a cab doing taxi fares, Plan warehouse raids, Do drug deals or gun running, Buy safehouses, Compete in ambulance or police side missions, Get a tattoo or buy a scratch card either way what you do is up to you.

Rockstar have once again delivered there trademark GTA gaming experience with the games highly addictive gameplay that has had me hooked for months on end.

The graphics are decent considering the capabilities of the DS & while the game is dialogue free the sound effects of the city's environment are authentic plus you get certain radio channels available to listen too whilst driving in your vehicle yet these are just made up music & not officially released songs by artists like on other consoles of previous GTA games.

The controls can take a little while to get to grips with especially the controlling of your vehicles but with practice you should be able to master this part of the game in no time as the game also finds creative uses for the DS stylus.

GTA Chinatown Wars has been a thoroughly thought out game as Rockstar have taken the essence of the GTA experience & ported over to the handheld giving the player a vast array of missions plus many additional side missions & hidden collectibles complete with an excellent free roaming experience that will keep many gamers glued to there handhelds for months.

Timelord Rating.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good considering hardware limitations, 22 Mar 2009
By 
D. Wilkinson (Mexborough, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: GTA: Chinatown Wars (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
You are Huang Lee, you have just been "Welcomed To America" in no uncertain terms, and you have work to do!

As with GTA games on other platforms, you can take and drive an assortment of vehicles as you go about your "business": chasing down opposing gang members, hunting for weapons, trying to make/take money, seeking vengeance and running from the police.

The DS controls for this game can take a bit of getting used to, for which you do get some help by a default option that aims to keep your vehicle on the road. The soundtrack inevitably lacks some of its big brothers' sophistication but the music is suitably atmospheric, backed up with suitably pithy comments from people you hit! The main characters do not "speak" though: as is common on the DS, dialogue takes the form of rolling comic book-style captions below drawings of the characters, which can get a little slow/annoying if you have to attempt a mission several times in a row.

The 3-D graphics are detailed and well executed within the limits available - especially the DS' screen size. The in-game GPS is easy to use and gives a handy means of locating important places and routes to follow - even updating in real time if you miss your turning (which, believe me, you often will). Just do keep your eyes on the road as well!

If you have enjoyed GTA games on other platforms and are looking for one you can carry around with you on your DS, this will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, fun game., 15 April 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: GTA: Chinatown Wars (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I thought this game was really fun to play and was just like the good old school grand theft auto. There were lots of tasks to do and this game took me ages to complete so it wasn't just over in 1 sitting. The only downside to this game is it became a little bit repetative. However overall its a game i would reccommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a fun GTA again, 12 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. N. S. Reeves "Bandito234567" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: GTA: Chinatown Wars (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Having only played the gta's on the ps2 and ps3 before I wasn't sure what to expect with a Nintendo DS version. All I have to say is absolutely brilliant. The design to incorporate the two DS screens is fantastic and there is excellent use of the touchscreen. Graphically the game runs very smooth and surprisingly detailed in the environments and cars. The cutscenes which play out in a comic strip way are well implemeted and the lack of voice acting(due to cartridge limitations) does not detract at all. But the biggest winner by far for Chinatown wars is the storyline, which I feel is by the far the best in the GTA series so far. It somehow draws you in and manages to keep you hooked right to the last mission. Normally in GTA games you constantly get bored and end up going and blowing stuff up for a bit, which you certainly can do here, but the storyline is what keeps you coming back. A must but for the DS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Played leisurely, this game will last for months on end, 21 May 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: GTA: Chinatown Wars (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I cannot see how some reviewers have completed this game in 15 hours, and more importantly - why? There is so much detail to this game, and just because one has explored an area does not mean to say that it will not be slightly different a month or so later. This game is about having fun and discovering hidden missions to accompany the blatant ones. One could, for example, spend 15 hours just finding all the cameras and destroying them, one of the game's many parallel but non-essential objectives.

I would say that at least 24 hours has got me 39% complete. I have re-played some mini-games despite getting all three medals. If I wanted to complete this in a short space of time, I would have stuck to Sudoku's. I am having such fun with this game that for me the sub-missions (taxi driver, police, driver, fire driver, street racing league) are as much fun as working on the core objectives.

For the tenacious and patient players among you, this is great value for money and the game learning curve does not limit the continuation of play as I found with Zelda-where if you cannot figure out a certain sequence you cannot progress onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, but with a few niggles, 15 Mar 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: GTA: Chinatown Wars (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I managed to get hold of a preview copy of this game and have been playing it solidly for the past few days. I can tell you right now that its a typical old school GTA game, so if you are a fan of the series, then you will love it.

Without going into too much detail about the story you are a basically a Chinese gangster, spoilt the fruits of a succesful upbringing. Your goal is to avenge the death of your father, in order to secure your inheritence rather than for any noble reason, and as the story progresses you see your character fleshed out with the usual Rockstar sense of humour.

The game is geniunley funny at times, but because all the dialouge is text based, it can be a little hit and miss. One of the great things about previous GTAs is the voice acting, so it sometimes feels a little stale without it. You cant really complain considering the hardware though, and there is some voice acting but its mostly just a couple of words from passers by on the streets. It is funny when you run someone over and they scream 'Nooo, im still a virgin!' though.

Rockstar have really taken advantage of the DS controls, and have thrown in a good number of minigames to keep you occupied, unfortunatley with mixed results.

Some of them are great, obviously there are the drug dealing games that have been widely reported, but there are also neat little touches like being able to buy scratch cards and use them on the touch screen to get power ups and things. You can also rummage around in bins to find guns if you want. You can also whistle into the DS microphone and your character will hail a cab. Its mainly all really well implemented and immerses you into the whole experience very nicely.

The problem is that one of the big touch screen moments comes in hotwiring cars. This is great when its a quiet part of the game and you have the time to do it, but if you are running from the cops and you have to unscrew bits of the car with the stylus and then hotwire it manually while the police come flying at you, it becomes really frustrating. Especially when you are so used to just getting into cars and driving off like in previous GTA games.

Its also annoying when you kill a big gang of guys and the leader gets in a car and drives off. You may as well just restart the mission if that happens as by the time you've got a car up and running, he'll be well gone.

Escaping the cops is also a bit different from normal. You can still go in a pay and spray (Which are easy to find thanks to the excellent PDA system), but you can also lose the cops by driving towards a wall and turning at the last minute so they smash into it. This is a pretty cool addition to the game and makes police chases much better in my opinion. Its also worth mentioning that the car handling is very good and the camera actually keeps up with your car better than in GTA4.

The combat in the game is also executed pretty well, and is actually better than its home console counterparts in some respects. Obviously the excellent cover system from GTA4 is absent, but you can lock onto targets with R1 and shoot them with 'x', and the hand to hand combat is dealt with by using different combinations of buttons which are very easy to pull off. The controls are really good overall to be honest, there doesnt seem to be anything overly gimmicky, it all seems necessary and worthwhile (Apart from maybe the car hotwiring as I mentioned earlier).

The whole thing is presented very well, you carry a PDA which is a little like the mobile phone from GTA4, but it carries much more information. From the PDA screen you can view a map of liberty city and plot your route to wherever you want to go onto your sat nav, which is really useful and means that its impossible to get lost. You also get emails from people which open up different missions. The whole thing is well set up and very easy to use.

Overall, this is an excellent game and one of the best so far on the DS. It just falls short of classic status due to a couple of frustrating niggles, but all in all I would highly recommend it to anyone who has a DS and is old enough to play it. Absolutley superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars game, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GTA: Chinatown Wars (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
bought as a gift unable to comment without the help of the recipient as far as I know he enjoyed this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exellent, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GTA: Chinatown Wars (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
grand theft auto Chinatown wars is an excellent game I enjoy it every time I play it and so does my little brother its very fun on free mode and some missions you just get to annihilate the place it may be one of the oldest and graphics kinda sucky but I love blowing up buildings in the rhino tank hint go to Francis Intel airport search for a while and you can get a free tank!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GTA: Chinatown Wars (Nintendo DS)
GTA: Chinatown Wars (Nintendo DS) by Take 2 Interactive (Nintendo DS)
11.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews