Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best mix album I've ever heard, 27 Feb 2001
After being mightily impressed by the K+D sessions I wasn't sure whether this would live up to the standards it set. How wrong I was. Perhaps a more coherent mix than sessions, it mixes styles and tempos seamlessy. Bassy trip hop melts into glacial drum and bass, with the acidic electro of Hardfloor rubbing shoulders with down tempo, almost folky guitar towards the end of the mix. If you want something different from the usual mix cd fare buy this. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This cd has all you need to sit a chill with your mates!, 2 May 2002
Right from the start with the opening track of Herbaliser 'mother' you can see that Kruder and Dorfmeister are on top form with the funky bass line that just takes you along. With top remixes of The LabRats and the awsome Thievery corporation you can't but help to just sit back and let the melodies and break-beats wash over you. I throughly enjoyed listening to this albulm, and I have reserved a special place for it in my CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, 11 April 2007
By 
It's a real grower, this album. When I first listened to it, I couldn't see what the fuss was about, really. It sounded just like another chill-out CD, albeit better than the others. But after repeated listens, I started to appreciate how accomplished it was. The mix is so seamless that you can't work out where one track stops and another begins. Basically, if this is a chill-out CD, then it pretty much redefines the whole genre. This is not about loosely stringing together some nice tunes; this is about sounds, tempo, and rhythm. Normally with a review, I'd point out the good tracks, but in this case it's pretty much irrelevant here. The tunes picked by K&D merely help them achieve the tempo and rhythm they want. Each tune has been masterfully tweaked and re-engineered. It's dub, drum & bass, funk and jazz. My brother, who is a classically trained, loves it.

Basically, this is head and shoulders the best of the DJ Kicks series, and quite possibly the best chill-out album ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get better than this..., 13 April 2005
By 
Peter Bonnar (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kruder & Dorfmeister created the benchmark for the DJ Kicks series and at the same time put it on the proverbial 'Dance map'. Seamless mixing throughout leaves the listener dumbfounded as to where each track starts and ends. Track selection is innovative and fresh. There are those that complain about 'knowing ' some of the songs... Okay, at this stage many people who listen to dance music regularly will have heard some of the tracks on this album. But so what? It came out a good while ago and still wreaks havoc with partygoers, and isn't that the true test of a good CD? For newcomers to the Dance music genre this DJ Kicks release is a cornerstone. It blends many different genres and produces an educated and innovative sound that breaks down barriers rather than puts them up. Neither before nor since this release have any of the other DJ Kicks albums come close. The also rans :-Smith and Mighty got lost in a cut & paste D&B haze and lost the plot. Thievery did the job okay but were rather predictable and created a somewhat forgetful mix and Kid Loco missed the boat completely with his DJ Kicks album. Get K&D DJ Kicks and learn. Play it for your mother some Sunday afternoon. Bring it to a party and put it on at midnight......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class grooves..., 21 April 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A class album in both its production and its selection of mixes, "DJ Kicks" shows just how good electronica, drum & bass... whatever you want to call it... can be made to be in skilled hands. Incredibly effective in its sequencing of the complex, multi-layered instrumental & vocal loops that drive most of the selected tracks, and underpinned by some wonderfully deep bass hooks and lock-tight percussion overlays, Kruder & Dorfmeister craft a kaleidoscopic musical journey that just gets better & better with repeat playing. These guys know how to generate "atmosphere" but in the case of "DJ Kicks" they also create something that builds through tracks 1 to 13 into something genuinely "exciting". By track 3 the urge to dance has become irresistible and after a short respite to catch your breath at the start of track 8 we're off again for a further 25 minutes of super-cool club grooves, leaving the more erratic last four tracks as a slight let down, but only because you just want it to keep on going... higher & higher. Time to hit the replay button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best albums ever, 8 Sep 2001
By 
Mmmm, what can I say. Smooth, Exquisitely produced, seemlessly mixed. A beautiful, inspiring, forceful album....quite simply fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect mix, 1 July 2000
By A Customer
I got this album after becoming aurally attached to K+D Sessions. Like that one, I hadn't heard of most of the artists on the compilation but if that puts you off too then don't hesitate cos this isn't about artists and tracks, it's about the most original, refreshing, uplifting mix of drum'n'bass and breakbeat you'll ever hear (tell me if you think otherwise!) mixed fluently so that each track assimilates unnnoticed into the next track. I wouldn't call it ambient but it is great to chill out to, buy this you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mature blend of drum+base, ambient and break beat, 26 Feb 2000
By A Customer
If CDs wore out this one wouldn't work anymore. Very rich, definitely not formulaic, and packed with intelligence. A pleasure to work to, relax with and drive past. Indulge yourself. ''If you only buy one album this month etc''...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime sounds from Kruder and Dorfmeister., 12 Dec 2000
By A Customer
A truly sublime mix album, where each song effortly drifts in to the next, its entire Seventy-two minutes utterly captivating. The equivalent of having my entire, diverse, music collection put together to fit on one CD. It is now, when I think back, that I admit that this album seems to be on all the time, in the car, when I am working and when I am just kicking back. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 27 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I originally bought this for a friend, as I had the Sessions already whicb everyone agreed is great. He rated it as great music for driving, which is very true. The tape's done one year's service and is still the choice of the masses. Out of the car it rates very highly too. It might take a couple of runs through to completely appreciate it, but it's definitely worth it. Probably the best album I own (the other contender being the Sessions, which says it all really).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DJ-Kicks
DJ-Kicks by Kruder.Dorfmeister
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews