Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece
Had heard a lot of good things about this album but, at the time, was a committed indie fan so didn't really take much notice of the hype, then i actually heard the album. Every track on this album is great, from turn the page to stay positive, with the stand out tracks being the magnificent weak become heroes and the under-rated its too late. The main attraction of this...
Published on 16 Mar 2005 by stemoloney_802

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars PLAUSIBLE,
I think the thing that saved this whole album was his style, everything was very heard it before, apart from the few cuts such as has it come to this, the last song could have been a bit better the last song is like a nice meal you should be left with something delicious, something memorable, his album was different again due to his style but a classic, I don't know, Bone...
Published on 16 Jun 2012 by eloquent


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece, 16 Mar 2005
Had heard a lot of good things about this album but, at the time, was a committed indie fan so didn't really take much notice of the hype, then i actually heard the album. Every track on this album is great, from turn the page to stay positive, with the stand out tracks being the magnificent weak become heroes and the under-rated its too late. The main attraction of this album is that it speaks to everyone and everyone can relate to what mike skinner is saying in these songs, from indie fans who woul never go near this type of music, to dance fans who will like the beats in songs like weak become heroes and has it come to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and I hate garage!, 29 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Just like some of the other reviews, I intensly dislike garage - the music and life behind it all. But this album is sheer genius. In one sentence Mike Skinner can sum up more about teenage life in (South) London than So Solid could in a whole album. Every record is intelligent, thought through and well delivered. And in the case of "The Irony of It All", also extremely amusing in places.
Ignore the barriers of what style of music you would normally buy and go and get this album today.
Mike Skinner is best at summing up his own work: "Brace yourself, cos this goes deep," "This ain't your archetypal street sound," and "I excel in content and deliverance." He's right on all three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In response to the poor bub from manchester,, 4 Oct 2004
By A Customer
What you should have said is, "if you ONLY like rap and hip-hop" do not buy this, yet I still disagree with that more acurate request. I love alot of different styles of hip hop and really dig this album. And it's not just because it is so different and unique, and I'm not some elitest who only considers underground independent music any good. This is simply an excellent album. The production matches the vocals, and alot of hip hop albums lack such agreement. And the lyrics are refreshingly straight forward, with no fluff. Many hip hop heads today only consider a rapper's use of big words and clever wordplay and then call the ensuing stream of obscurity poetry. I too appreciate this style but it is far from any good poetry ive read lately, which isn't accomplished through the use of awkward unfamiliar wording but rather a culmination of subtleties who's list is to lengthy to go over here. My point is Skinner touches on many of these aspects. And lastly my favorite quality of this album is Mike Skinner's cadence, completely original and highly infectious. So in closing, please disregard above negative reviews, hell, ignore this one if you like,(reviews are hard to make anything but subjective) but i can leave you with this, if you consider yourself one who has a truly ecletic taste, this album is definitely worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuine contender for album of the year..., 19 May 2002
Original Pirate Material - quite literally a serious contender for the greatest album this year. From start to finish, this modernist realist genre of poetry set to some brilliant garage beats is encapsulating. I feel as though I am insulting Mike Skinner when I compare him to Eminem, but this album is a breath of fresh air to the UK dance scene, much in the same way Eminem was to US rap culture. Do not be put off by this album being branded UK Garage; this is worlds away from "They Don't Know" by So Solid. This is genuine emerging raw talent. In my opinion, a great album is not a collection of great tracks, infact I'd struggle to name a track which stands out for me on this album. Perhaps Skinner himself makes my point more succinctly when he describes "let's push things forward" as a "movement" rather than a track. This is a complete work made up of smaller parts, rather than vice versa. Whether a UK Garage enthusiast or not, I would challenge anybody to defy the genius of this work. Everybody knows that the future of dance music always comes from the streets. Now the future of dance music is The Streets. A major talent has arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This aint no pirate material, 26 Feb 2003
I bought this CD after listening to some of his tracks and then came here and read some reviews, which gently persuaded me to get it. Thank god i did, this is a great album, there are some great lyrics on it not forgetting the background beats.
The thing I like about this album is the great variety of tracks, they have all individually got something to offer and theres a range of different genres, so theres something for everyone
Skinners lyrics make this album, its just pure originality and pure genius - GET IT.
I think what's so attractive is that the lyrics ring true for many people and most people can relate to a lot of what he's saying
To summarise a great album, if u are thinking of getting it do, the only thing I would say is that if you are easily offended perhaps steer clear as some of the lyrics can be a bit crude
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has It Come To This? Why, yes it has, 12 Nov 2004
By A Customer
'Original Pirate Material' is NOT a CD that you're going to adore the very first time you listen to it. When I first heard my older brother playing it non-stop I couldn't actually have hated it more. However I then started to like one song, then another, and another, until it was me who was listening to it non-stop. 'Original Pirate Material' is an album that grows on you as you listen to it more, so don't be suprised if you despise it a first like me. Now it is definately one of my favourite albums ever and I believe that literally there is not a bad song on it. 'Turn the Page' is an amazing track to begin the album with, brilliantly introducing Mike Skinner's unique stlye of music, and every song from then on is a masterpiece in itself, all the way through to 'Stay Poisitve'. This isn't an easy listening album, you really have to listen to the excellent poetic words in each & every song. My personal favourite tracks on the album are 'Turn the Page', 'Let's Push Things Foward', 'Same Old Thing' and 'Stay Postive'. But then there's the hilarious 'The Irony of it All' an 'Too Much Brandy' and the dark yet meaningful 'Weak Become Heroes' and the classice 'Don't Mug Yourself'. The problem is you really cant pick out any favourite tracks as they are all fantastic. You have to buy this album, you really do. Go on, you know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hits a nerve, 13 Jan 2003
This CD should have been up for the Turner prize, as art that actually means something is hard to come by these days. It is also rare in that it completely lives up to the hype surrounding it. This is an album that can be enjoyed by fans of all musical genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential album of 2002, 24 April 2002
By A Customer
Right from the very first track, Mike Skinner grips the listener, with his powerful lyrics and soft beatlines. The industry class him as a garage act, but don't be fooled, its not your usual garage album. In fact, when listening to some tracks, you will swear its not garage. A classic blend of soft beatlines, hip-hop, garage meets ballad.
A true classic, which will appeal to all types of people. This guy will be a huge star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Perfect 5, 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
I'm sorry, but this album is possibly the best in the world. I'm a Rock Fan, i hate Garage. I came across this guy on Steve Lamacq's Evening Session on Radio 1. His First Two singles are poor in my opinion. However "Let's Push Things Forwards", "Stay Positive", "Too Much Brandy" and "Irony of it all" Are some of the best songs ever. Well worth the money. Buy it people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars something different, 25 April 2003
to put things into perspective i am a guy that loves punk rock, hip hop and some r'n'b and i dont like dance music at all but somehow Original pirate material found its way into my car cd player and hasnt left for over a month now, its completely different to anything else that i own but it is also one of the best albums i own, im not going to suddenly start clubbing or buying garage and dance albums but the streets have certainley opened my eyes to different genres of music. I hope to see what else they have to offer very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Pirate Material
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews