Customer Reviews


458 Reviews
5 star:
 (281)
4 star:
 (89)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Actioner
On paper, Liam Neeson would appear to be an unusual choice to play the heatseeking missile of a man locked onto rescuing his daughter from sex trafficking Albanian hoodlums in Paris. He soon dispels any doubts with a masterful display of pent up vengeance and calmly brutal expertise with cars, guns, knives and fists. Once the kidnap has taken place it's non-stop action...
Published on 22 Dec 2010 by Dash Riprock

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lively actioner that is all about The Neeson
Simple but effective, and the towering figure of Liam Neeson, the ultimate No Nonsense Man - gives Taken a dollop of gravitas beyond the capacity of the typical muscle-bound blockhead.

His daughter is abducted for resale into the sex trade on her very first day in Europe. Oh my, it's a big bad world outside the stars and stripes. From the looks of things, her...
Published on 6 Mar 2011 by Philoctetes


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Actioner, 22 Dec 2010
By 
On paper, Liam Neeson would appear to be an unusual choice to play the heatseeking missile of a man locked onto rescuing his daughter from sex trafficking Albanian hoodlums in Paris. He soon dispels any doubts with a masterful display of pent up vengeance and calmly brutal expertise with cars, guns, knives and fists. Once the kidnap has taken place it's non-stop action as he uses his CIA field skills to track down the baddies and start terminating them with extreme prejudice. Whilst the villains are crudely drawn, the violence is never cartoonish, being from the Bourne school of realism. Okay, it's not the most densely plotted or sophisticated of films, but the pace is relentless and Neeson dominates the screen without ever trying too hard. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lively actioner that is all about The Neeson, 6 Mar 2011
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Simple but effective, and the towering figure of Liam Neeson, the ultimate No Nonsense Man - gives Taken a dollop of gravitas beyond the capacity of the typical muscle-bound blockhead.

His daughter is abducted for resale into the sex trade on her very first day in Europe. Oh my, it's a big bad world outside the stars and stripes. From the looks of things, her dad has been eagerly awaiting this event all her life; the perfect opportunity to get one over on his bitchy ex-wife and her stinking rich second husband; and a chance to win the devotion of his sweet but silly teenage daughter.

It's a race against time to save his little darling's virginity and Neeson goes at it like a man possessed, snapping necks and torturing gonads in an effort to locate her before she's lost forever. You can guess what happens, but that's no reason not to come along for the ride.

P.S. With repeat viewing it just gets funnier and more ludicrous. Win win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reprehensible but damn entertaining with it, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
A surprise US blockbuster hit, Pierre Morel's Taken is another slick thriller from Luc Besson's French production line that delivers what it promises far more effectively than most. The plot is simplicity itself, a straight-line narrative with no diversions as Liam Neeson's ex-secret agent tracks down the people-traffickers who kidnapped his daughter in Paris by the tried-and-trusted method of killing almost everyone he meets and torturing those he doesn't kill - before killing them as well. In between killing most of France's Albanian immigrant population he also shows he's an equal opportunities avenger by killing a few Arabs, the odd American and even shooting a former French friend's wife in the arm to persuade him to hand over some politically sensitive information. All of which should be a lot more obnoxious than it actually is were it not so well executed (executed being a particularly appropriate word) and if it left you long enough to think, but it moves fast enough and stages its action well enough (no shakeycam or excessive MTV editing here, thankfully) with just enough mild ingenuity between the violence to make for an entertaining hard-edged action movie that plays like a somewhat more down to Earth combination of Schwarzenegger's Commando (minus the Village People-style villain) and a Continental version of Ashanti (it even ends with a fight on another sheik's boat). Silly and probably reprehensible, but far too entertaining with it to complain about.

Although the audio commentary from the French DVD hasn't been carried over to the UK release, it does include a decent selection of featurettes and a good 2.35:1 widescreen transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment and also horrifying..., 29 Jan 2009
By 
Rafal Gruszczynski (Warsaw Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are two sides to this movie - the serious one and the fun one.
The serious is that it tells a story based on things that really happen (the women's fate in this movie). My wife just watching these scenes was so horrified and pissed off in the same time that I haven't seen her like that. The bad characters are 100% bad and you feel great when they are taken care of by the enraged father.
The fun part is that the story is very fluent (not believable but you wish you were this guy with his set of skills to do the job that he is doing).
Another idea of Luc Besson - and a brilliant one.
Liam Neeson - I was disappointed when I saw his name in the leading role. But when I saw him in action...he is 100% convincing and excellent in this role.
Looking for a good action movie that will keep you glued to the screen for 1.5h?! - This is your 100% guaranteed pick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IF IT MOVES, HIT IT!, 17 Nov 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Superior action thriller, with an 80's style linear plot but with 90's sensibilties. Really enjoyed this - the action was gritty and on the
whole grounded in reality - and Liam Neeson was more than convincing at the Bourne style hand to hand combat, and firearm handling, as well as playing an essentially hard man role with a strong sense of dignity and morality.
The Paris locations, and Albanian gangs made for an interesting change as well!
Yes, it's predictable but refreshingly free of the usual malaise of trying to be clever & twisty and then dissapearing where the sun don't shine.
It's violent, but perhaps not to the extent of say, Death Sentence, and Liam Neeson does seem to beat/torture/shoot everything that moves!
There are some grim scenes involving the young girls being trafficked that only serve to increase your desire for Neeson to punch even harder or shoot an assailant 5 times rather than 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does was it says on the tin?, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Liam Neeson says it all when he says "I will find you and I will kill you". That's pretty much the size of it. It's not complicated and requires no brain power (hurrah!) and is just an adrenaline rush from start to finish. This is the film that started my husband's obsession with Liam (clearly on first name terms) and since then has been working his way through the man's entire collection. It's great fun! Do you love action movies? Then you will love this, it ticks all the right boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill!!!, 5 Oct 2013
A while ago my mum brought this home along with her Tesco's shopping (one of her bargains from the bargain bin). Given my mums previous track record picking out dire films we were not expecting much. How wrong could we be.
so Liam Neeson isn't the obvious choice to play an action hero. But unlike other action hero's who are just muscle and not much else, he displays a quiet unassuming quality which possibly feels more believable and gives a more dangerous edge. It is probably this that what makes this a good film in comparison to all the previous films with a similar story line. We had a good feeling as soon as he muttered his now famous line to his daughters kidnapper ("I will find you, and I will kill you.."). You feel his anger and want to come along for the ride.

From then on it was non stop action as he kills everyone who gets in his way to finding his daughter. Clichéd? probably, but Liam's performance makes this a cut above the rest. While the subject matter is serious, this is a film to sit and veg out over, not to be taken seriously. Of course its not meant to be believable. being shot at close range and managing to dodge the bullet is far fetched but this is a film to be enjoyed.
Unlike other films, I found I could watch this film again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY IF BUYING BLURAY VERSION!, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taken [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Blu Ray copy of this film (Taken) is very poorly done. Every scene that involves characters speaking in a foreign language has NO English subtitles. To prove this isn't supposed to be the case, the DVD version actually has the subtitles working properly during the foreign language speaking scenes. So they've essentially screwed up with the Blu Ray release and this is the case on every Blu Ray copy of Taken.

You can technically enable the English hard-of-hearing subtitles and it WILL show the correct subtitles during the foreign language speaking scenes but the downside to that is you have to watch the entire movie with subtitles, including the English speaking parts.

Complete waste of money for something that's supposed to be high quality. I'd get a better copy downloading it illegally which is ludicrous and should not be the case.

If you want the proper film buy the DVD, otherwise download it (legally, via iTunes or something). Do NOT buy the Blu Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improbable but good fun, 5 Sep 2009
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The highly respected actor Liam Neeson plays the part of Bryan, a former 'covert operative' agent highly trained at 'preventing' and has seen some action in the Middle East fighting the Hezbollah among many other factions in other unsettled parts of the world. But now he's retired so that he can spend more time in LA with his 17-year-old daughter, who lives in that city with his ex-wife and her new super-rich husband. Daughter goes on a trip to Paris with a girlfriend, they get kidnapped within hours of arriving and Daddy takes it upon himself to get her back, all on his own, against seemingly impossible odds.

This started out as what appeared to be a welcome return to the screens of an intelligent thriller. There aren't enough of those these days and I relished the chance to see a very good actor in a well-scripted, suspense-filled movie. I thought I was on to a winner, but very soon after Bryan arrives in Paris the whole mood and impression of the film changed; the dialogue became next to meaningless (most of what is there is somewhat stereotyped) and it quickly descends - or ascends, you could argue - into a fast, action-packed thriller of a more violent kind. I must admit that it was done well, it satisfied the base human need for retribution but it didn't make me think very much. The pace of the hunt and pursuit across Paris was well choreographed and the violence was uncompromising and bordering on the gratuitous, but once again this did satisfy at a basic revenge-fuelled level. It's just that I had expected something more intellectually challenging given the tasters of the first twenty minutes or so. Instead it quickly transforms itself into a veritable orgy of snapped necks, point-blank shootings and the ubiquitous decapitation to conclude a car-chase. This film is really 25% emotional build-up and 75% pulverisingly violent payback, with Liam Neeson seemingly indestructible in any form of combat regardless of how heavily he is outnumbered. He makes the likes of Bond and Bourne look like members of the local knitting club, very rarely displaying any sign of vulnerability such that it's not long before the viewer knows for sure that Bryan's going to carry out his unlikely objective with little more than minor cuts and bruises, despite leaving a trail of probably 30 or 40 bodies in his wake. Hmmm - maybe 50, come to think about it.

Neeson is nevertheless convincing in the role, if not over-qualified, while all the others are little more than talking heads or swinging fists with very little acting skill on display. This was also a film notable for some tiresome 'product placements', the most obvious of which were a pair of Audi cars and some electronic equipment that was always made with the Sony label on view. If I were to run through the film again I'm sure I could come up with a list of other brands on display, collectively designed of course to subsidise the cost of making the film.

I went into this film with higher hopes than those that were fulfilled, but to be fair the unexpected type of entertainment was still satisfying even if it was ultimately shallow and forgettable despite the A-list actor holding it all together. On reflection, if you liked The Bourne films and Quantum of Solace then you will possibly like this too, but in the end the violence takes precedence over just about everything else. I have also seen the Blu-Ray version, some four months earlier, and I still think that this is a film that only needs to be seen in standard definition format - unless both variants were the same price, that is, in which case the Blu-Ray would be the better option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lean mean fighting machine =liam +morell, 28 Feb 2009
The French director Morel is again implicating that corruption translates from the higher echelons of the government -like in his previous French thriller B13 ,this combines corrupt bureaucrats and interred conspiratorial elements between politicians and ordinary gangsters as being the root level cause of crime.

Albanians crime gangs are shown just to be as exploited as their victims here, though they are the instruments of torture and evil in open here-the cops and politicians are the main villains who support the crime mafia .

Liam looks devastating as the lean mean fighting machine -a high octane action thriller which is very well made and some people applauded in the theatre too-it is formulaic and has loopholes too but is entertaining -a rare quality today in cinema .

The ambiance of the Parisian drug prostitution hovels makes it dark and harrowing at times ,though not as chilling as 'Eastern promises'which is a a more realist movie on somewhat similar theme .

I enjoyed it despite the action hero stereotypes for it's rather endearing paternal affect and superb pacing with slick action pieces and Neeson's performance .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taken [Blu-ray] [2008] [US Import]
Taken [Blu-ray] [2008] [US Import] by Pierre Morel (Blu-ray - 2009)
12.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews