Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For new Christians for good grounding in Christian doctrine
This was one of the first Christian books I ever read. Although I had been taught well in a very good church, I found it so helpful to read this book and gain a deeper understanding of the basics of the Christian faith. It is so sad nowadays that Christians (in the UK) are content to read so many lighter books and not know anywhere as much as Christians of generations...
Published on 9 Dec 2006 by Mr. Daniel R. Lewington

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Defective navigation
The Kindle version of this book suffers from a major drawback: There is no simple way to skip to the beginning of the second or third volumes. The 'Table of contents' at the start of the book only covers volume 1. Either it should be a combined TOC for all three volumes, or it should be preceded by links to jump to the TOCs for vols 2 and 3.
Published on 1 Aug 2012 by J. Armstrong


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For new Christians for good grounding in Christian doctrine, 9 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. Daniel R. Lewington (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was one of the first Christian books I ever read. Although I had been taught well in a very good church, I found it so helpful to read this book and gain a deeper understanding of the basics of the Christian faith. It is so sad nowadays that Christians (in the UK) are content to read so many lighter books and not know anywhere as much as Christians of generations before us. Surely this book is a remedy to this. I am ashamed that I had not read it when I was younger.

The book is basically a series of studies on the doctrines of the Bible that were preached in the 1950s. But don't let that make you think that it is out of date. The book is as relevant to Christians today as it ever was. It starts off with how to approach learning about Biblical doctrine and then covers about the teaching of God and his attributes, and covers all major doctrine through the person and work of the Lord Jesus Christ, through teaching on the Holy Spirit and then all the way through teaching on Church structure and government and the end times.

There were some very helpful chapters on topics I have never heard anyone preach on before. These included the chapter on angels and another one on church government.

To be fair, if anyone reads any book by Dr Martyn Lloyd-Jones they are sure to be blessed spiritually. We have much to thank God for in giving us this ministry of this man. I have been brought on so much spiritually thanks to his writings. I hope that many others will be blessed too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most excellent read., 29 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Archibald Brown "archiefrewbrown@hotmail.... (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is no run-of-the-mill theology book, and, certainly, could not be classified as a conventional, 'systematic Theology'. The book is large, comprising three volumes, each in excess of 300 pages -which makes it a little bulky to hold in the hands. Nonetheless, if you desire access to the 'deeper mysteries' of the Christian faith, this is - without doubt - the book for you!

Why? It is accessable to layman and professional alike. Recovering from a serious illness, I was able to devour each page, making pencil notes in the margins. I have by no means completed my reading, but already desire to return to those sections I have read.

The Doctor's stance re 'baptism' is a compromise: it will neither offend or encourage presbyterian or anabaptist. This aside, I have found him to be learned, and, most of all, discriminatingly wise. Needless to say, his beliefs are solidly 'Reformed' and amillennial, representing the best of the Puritans' works - which he has, all-too-obviously devoured.

One ought remember, these lessons were delivered as lectures (rather than as literature, or sermons, with direct, summative, spiritual/moral application). Redaction seems to have been kept to a minimum, and one might still 'hear' the godly man delivering each and every one.

My conclusion? I'd swap this book for any four, or five, 'Systematic' theologies: if you are a layman you will internalise more information, and gain insights to a plethora of the related material than it has taken me in excess of fifty years to acquire. The price is good, so, do, please, go for it: you will not be disappointed.

One small complaint: Whilst reading the third 'volume', some pages threatened to work loose. It is probable that my copy is in this respect unique, and I shall remedy the defect with a little glue. Had evey page become unstuck I would have glued each one with loving care, for this, without doubt is 'a gem of purest ray serene', and has made me thirst for more and yet more of the beloved Doctor's teachings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy to read yet comprehensive Summary of Bible Doctrines, 27 July 2010
By 
Mr. R. L. Shotter (Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want an easy to read and yet a comprehensive Summary of Bible Doctrines then you may find it difficult to improve on Martyn Lloyd-Jones' "Great Doctrines of the Bible". The text keeps your concentration and all statements are fully supported by biblical references. Martyn Lloyd-Jones reviews and argues convincingly against the many alternative interpretations of doctrines to those which he proposes are true to the Biblical record. It is a substantial work which requires a fully alert mind and I found that I rarely managed to study carefully more than one chapter at a time. Where possible one chapter each day - if the full content was to be absorbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Defective navigation, 1 Aug 2012
By 
J. Armstrong (Borehamwood, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Doctrines of the Bible (Three Volumes in One): God the Father, God the Son; God the Holy Spirit; The Church and the Last Things (Kindle Edition)
The Kindle version of this book suffers from a major drawback: There is no simple way to skip to the beginning of the second or third volumes. The 'Table of contents' at the start of the book only covers volume 1. Either it should be a combined TOC for all three volumes, or it should be preceded by links to jump to the TOCs for vols 2 and 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Doctrines, Kindle Edition, 19 Feb 2012
By 
J. Friend "kemelo" (kent, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Doctrines of the Bible (Three Volumes in One): God the Father, God the Son; God the Holy Spirit; The Church and the Last Things (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant book, having read a few of Martyn Lloyd Jones books before, I couldn't resist buying on the kindle for a little over 6, what a bargain!. Lloyd Jones goes through doctrines carefully and indepth. You may not agree with everything he writes but he puts a good case forward for what he believes is correct and it will challenge your theology and you will be blessed, I certainly have. The only thing is I wished he used the same methods of interpretation in the Last Things as in the rest of the book. But in saying that I only brought the book for the first four subjects, Father, Son, Spirit & Church. I learned a great deal from this book. It is a book you will always go back and read. The Lord used Lloyd-Jones greatly what a shame there's hardly any that can expound the Word like he did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Doctrines of the Bible (Three Volumes in One): God the Father, God the Son; God the Holy Spirit; The Church and the Last Things (Kindle Edition)
Brings to remembrance all that you thought you knew. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Doctrines of the Bible (Three Volumes in One): God the Father, God the Son; God the Holy Spirit; The Church and the Last Things (Kindle Edition)
A very comprehensive review of Biblical doctrine. Martin Lloyd Jones has a great ability to explain scripture in a way that is understandable even though it may be difficult or controversial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Lloyd-Jones, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Doctrines of the Bible (Three Volumes in One): God the Father, God the Son; God the Holy Spirit; The Church and the Last Things (Kindle Edition)
If you already know Lloyd-Jones, nothing will surprise you hear. It's a meaty, but digestible, introduction to doctrine, Bible-based doctrine. Nicely laid out, and Kindle-friendly (although it would have been helpful to have had the indexes to all three volumes set out at the front) each chapter is just long enough to read on a daily basis and provide much food for thought.

Young and old Christians will benefit from this. Christianity is more than doctrine - but not less. Having sound teaching presented in order and with great clarity can only be helpful, and Lloyd-Jones was, if nothing else, concerned with how to live the Christian life better. I only wish there were more Kindled versions of his output available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor at his best, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Doctrines of the Bible (Three Volumes in One): God the Father, God the Son; God the Holy Spirit; The Church and the Last Things (Kindle Edition)
What can anyone say about Dr Lloyd Jones that hasn't already been said by greater men if you have never read the doctor before then here is a good place to begin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Great Doctrines of the Bible" Martyn Lloyd-Jones, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Dr. R. Jameson (Liverpool England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Doctrines of the Bible (Three Volumes in One): God the Father, God the Son; God the Holy Spirit; The Church and the Last Things (Kindle Edition)
Magnificent scriptural exposition by a scholarly evangelical. This book should be on every preacher and pastor's bookshelf. His style is as ever both erudite and stimulating leading to a greater understanding of scripture and practical application in daily living. This book will drive the reader to worship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews