Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spitfire at angels 15 !
Arrived with the usual speedy delivery service that one has come to expect from the Amazon experience. However, I suspect the credit goes to Quay Models of Blackpool, who probably sent the item direct. A number of your reviewers express concern over the lack of comprehensive instructions with the kit. To me, that is one of its attractions. It was like 3 dimensional chess,...
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by Topgun

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rocket Science...
I ordered this and the jeep for my 7yr old for xmas. On opening I was immediately confused with the instructions - we have struggled terribly to make this and havnt even opened the jeep. My husband says there must be a method to it and if he ever finds it we may assemble the products... eventually. i will be interested to read other reviews....
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by Alfiesma


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spitfire at angels 15 !, 1 Feb 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wooden Construction Model : Spitfire Aeroplane kit [Toy] (Toy)
Arrived with the usual speedy delivery service that one has come to expect from the Amazon experience. However, I suspect the credit goes to Quay Models of Blackpool, who probably sent the item direct. A number of your reviewers express concern over the lack of comprehensive instructions with the kit. To me, that is one of its attractions. It was like 3 dimensional chess, or "construct by numbers". If you follow the plan number sequence, no problem. But if you try and cut corners by jumping a few numbers, you will trip up big time because you can't add pieces out of sequence. You will then have to undo back to where you deviated from the plan, and start again. And if you've glued the out of sequence pieces, all will be lost!
The plan is well presented and logical, and printed on nice glossy paper. (I liked the irony of the instructions also being printed in German: ACHTUNG SCHPITFIRE!!) Equally, the plywood used for the model is of excellent quality. I have left it 'au naturel', suspended over my desk in a 30degree left bank. Will Quay's next model be a Lancaster bomber?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 24 Jan 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wooden Construction Model : Spitfire Aeroplane kit [Toy] (Toy)
Very well packaged and arrived in excellent condition. Arrived very promptly. Very good value for money. Would recommend to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rocket Science..., 28 Dec 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wooden Construction Model : Spitfire Aeroplane kit [Toy] (Toy)
I ordered this and the jeep for my 7yr old for xmas. On opening I was immediately confused with the instructions - we have struggled terribly to make this and havnt even opened the jeep. My husband says there must be a method to it and if he ever finds it we may assemble the products... eventually. i will be interested to read other reviews....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wooden spitfire, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wooden Construction Model : Spitfire Aeroplane kit [Toy] (Toy)
A nice easy to make wooden model of the iconic fighter plan of world war 2. Looks great when made and can be preserved by painting with yacht varnish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wooden Construction Model : Spitfire Aeroplane kit [Toy] (Toy)
EVEN BETTER FOR ADULTS, as a man child who enjoys working with his hands (hah) I built this little bugger only to set fire to it when the wheels wouldn't stay on because i ran out of glue. It burned wonderfully though and when i threw it out the window because the fire was starting to become uncontrollable my neighbors barely complained about the scorch mark on there grass. Would recommend to anyone who gets annoyed or frustrated by DIY activities or if you just like to burn stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Plane away, 5 April 2014
By 
R. Irish "darcy fan" (crawley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wooden Construction Model : Spitfire Aeroplane kit [Toy] (Toy)
This is a good product in as much as you do not need glue etc, but it is slightly difficult to put together, suitable for older child or adult. Liked the lightweight wood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Vey Difficult to build. Little instructions. Would be better with glue., 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wooden Construction Model : Spitfire Aeroplane kit [Toy] (Toy)
It arrived on time which was good but the wood is very fragile and breaks easily. The instructions which is only pictures with numbers are very unclear and I think that a 7 years old or up for this product is highly optimistic as it was very difficult to put together and I ended up improvising and not using all of the pieces. Also it says to only use glue if desired but I think it should say that it would be easier if glue was used as a lot of the pieceswould be better if they were secured with glue. I don't like to give negative feedback but that is just the way it was for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great wooden areoplane!, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wooden Construction Model : Spitfire Aeroplane kit [Toy] (Toy)
A very well packaged and manufactured 'DIY' wooden plane. Good cut out detail. Bought for individual travelling abroad as its light and flat to pack but will give an hour or so of amusement building it to remind him of home!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't fit together, 24 Jan 2014
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wooden Construction Model : Spitfire Aeroplane kit [Toy] (Toy)
Was given this as a fun gift. Instructions are simple to follow - just follow the numbers. There are more detailed instructions on manufacturers website. I have some modelling experience but found that the first few parts just did not line up when trying to assemble. I had to resort to major surgery to eventually get some parts to fit. Forget it clipping together, glueing is essential in places. Emailed the distributor but without reply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quite tricky to build, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wooden Construction Model : Spitfire Aeroplane kit [Toy] (Toy)
I haven't yet finished this project with my 3 year old son. I am an experienced model aeroplane builder but find this quite tricky to build. As others have said the instructions are not clear and you hav to try and follow the numbering on the parts. This is not easy. I hope that it will be worth it. It's not expensive but be prepared to spend quite a lot of time figuring it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews