Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, enjoyable third album from The Chiefs
'Off With Their Heads', The Kaiser Chiefs' third album, hasn't been as well received as their first two albums by the general public and it seems as if people are getting bored with the charismatic Ricky Wilson and his band. I can't really see why because this album sticks to the tried and tested formula of the first couple of releases and if you really liked...
Published on 29 Dec. 2008 by Andy Sweeney

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AUTO-PILOT OVER-RELIANCE
The third album in any band's career is usually an important milestone, sort of a pointer to the future, having taken stock of the past. Not so here. OFF WITH THEIR HEADS is simply the KAISER CHIEFS treading water with no significant evidence of musical progression. Why should that matter? I'm not exactly sure...probably because I've yet to become indifferent towards the...
Published on 28 April 2009 by Kelvin Dickinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album of 2 halves?, 21 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Off With Their Heads (Audio CD)
The first 6 tracks are very strong then it plunges downhill with Tomato in the Rain, although it rallies somewhat with Always happens like that. The worst tracks are Tomato & Addicted to Drugs which is just pointless (if this is the best you can do then let Robert Palmer rest in peace!) Remember you're a girl is pleasant but not distinctive like Boxing Champ, its forerunner on Angry Mob. But on the plus side, 6 strong tracks in a row is pretty good & beats other big indie bands' recent albums, like Dirty Pretty Things (who managed 4) & the Fratellis (only 2). And Good Days Bad Days is the catchiest song you'll hear this year, which is why I'm giving this CD 4 stars instead of the 3 it would otherwise have merited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good album - not worthy of the criticism here, 6 Nov. 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Fleet, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Off With Their Heads (Audio CD)
I can't really understand why people are so negative about this album.

At first listen it doesn't grab you the way Employment did, but it's doesn't sound less engaging than Angry Mob. If anything the tracks are generally catchier and more consistent.

Ruby stood out on Angry Mob, because some other tracks lagged. Nothing really does here and after two or three listens through some are really good, worthy of Employment.

Maybe I engaged quicker with the album as I'd heard many of the tracks live at a recent concert, but I'd still rate Kaiser Chiefs as one of the best British bands around right now and this album is, in my opinion, a good 3rd album without being anything different.

That said, why would you want anything different from a successful and popular group like the Kaisers?

If you want something different, buy another CD (as well!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off With Their Heads (Audio CD)
At first, I almost agreed with the critics here - this album is not as good as Employment or YTAM. But it grew on me, and now, although it's not my favourite of their albums I still love it. Some very catchy songs - I'll admit, there have been times when I've jumped up and danced around to Never Miss A Beat, and I always sing along to Good Days, Bad Days. The only part that I don't like it the rapping at the end of Half the Truth, but I think that was probably down to Ronson!
If you're a real Kaiser Chiefs fan, ignore the critics, just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good solid album, 6 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Off With Their Heads (Audio CD)
I find the Kaiser Chiefs' to be very infectious though the quirky vocals set to a strong mod-like beat, which on 'Off With Their Heads' adds an even stronger drum presence than the last 2 albums.The lyrics are definitely 'out there' at times which adds to the appeal. Some really good songs here and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should be a thrill, feels like a drill, 21 Oct. 2008
By 
This review is from: Off With Their Heads (Audio CD)
Well, they couldn't have put it better themselves. It should be a collection of short, sharp, slightly arty pop songs, wittily written to reflect our modern life. But there's no spark, no killer single, no amusing lyrical twists, and the wit has been replaced with a slightly tired formula and precious little left to say that hasn't been said before. The music's there, but the vocals are buried in the mix and I think for good reason. It has improved after a couple of listens but there isn't a hidden gem in there and I can't imagine it'll be a regular play, which is a shame as I was really looking forward to this record. In summary, nothing left to see here, time for a new direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 9 Feb. 2009
By 
K. Farnes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Off With Their Heads (Audio CD)
Well, i saw this and thought Yes! a new kaiser chiefs album as i loved Employment and Yours Truly Angry Mob. I read some reviews and i have to admit i read alot of negative reviews (obviously there were good ones though) this made me wonder if i should buy it. Anyway, i decided to buy it...So glad i did! cant stop listening to it! its so catchy, love it! Kaiser chiefs have never let me down. One thing that i love is that i dont think ive ever heard any swearing either :)...i am listening now whilst im writing...Sticks and stones and animal bones! This is a catchy one :)...want my advice? buy now, brilliant album at a brilliant price :) Peace x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fine, 31 Dec. 2010
It's a good product and the songs are OK but I feel that the Kaiser Chiefs are losing it. Their songs are kind-of catchy and get in your head but the are all very the same. Since I purchased it the price has dropped but it needs to drop more for it to be worth purchasing it as a whole.

I recommend just purchasing the singles rather than the albulm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Chiefs are back as potent as ever but Ronson spoils the broth!, 23 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Off With Their Heads (Audio CD)
I bought this album the day after an awesome album launch gig at London's Forum. The new material sounded awesome live and I had hoped that the raucious magic that had filled the previous two albums was present here.

It is..for the first half but then things go completely askew with "Tomatoes in the rain" with a series of songs that are overproduced and frankly ponderous. Unsurprisingly none of these songs made appearances at that gig, but at least the songs pre "tomatoes" are really good.

"Never Miss a Beat" is a true classic and was one of the earliest songs on the album, produced before Mark Ronson could get his meddling paws on the album. Spanish Metal is a good opener with a strong rift and "Good Days, Bad days" which was particularly awesome live, has that Kaiser trademark of being a great chanting anthem.

I hope this album is a grower, but other than that increasingly forlorn hope, I have to say I think the problem lies with Mark Ronson and "too many cooks" syndrome. So many tracks sound the same and are fussily produced with excessive layers of sound, lacking the simple hooks of previous albums. The Kaisers are the ultimate University band for chanting on a sports social and I thought "Yours Truly Angry Mob" was the ultimate "terrace" album. Mark Ronson is a brill DJ but his production is very limited. His influence stretches to the addition of Trumpets, strings, violins and Ago-go bells for crying out loud!

This isn't the Royal Symphony Orchestra, this is the Kaiser Chiefs! Such a blamcamage of sound is like too many toppings on a pizza, the good ingredients are still there but they lack the fusion of flavour that makes the sensation truly satisfying. That probably explains why these songs will sound great live, but struggle to have an impact on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album!, 1 Nov. 2008
By 
Craig Taylor (Scuthorpe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Off With Their Heads (Audio CD)
All I can say is that this is a great album from Kaiser Chiefs. Different from the second album and more close their first album.
Classic Kaiser Chief's sound with a few new styles thrown in for good measure. Even Sway's rapping works and is hardly noticeble. ONe of the better albums I have bought this year, as most of the songs are catchy.
Highly reccommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Off With Their Heads (Audio CD)
Saw them play the other day so had to have this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Off With Their Heads [VINYL]
Off With Their Heads [VINYL] by Kaiser Chiefs (Vinyl - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews