Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic X-Files Territory
I suppose it was a surprise that it took so long for another X-Files film to come out after the first one was such a big success. The X-Files movie hit the big screen with consumate ease, as if it was destined for that to begin with, but no one could have really expected such a long wait for another. But there you go, better than another coming out after a couple of...
Published on 12 Feb. 2010 by No1MovieFan

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like a pair of comfortable slippers
As with most people, I though that this would have a lot more weirdness and action. Then again, I was so confused by the ending of series 9, that I'll need to see it again to work out exactly what Mulder was fighting about, apart from "I believe and lots of people don't and they lied about it". So this film was like putting on an old pair of slippers. You don't expect...
Published on 5 Nov. 2009 by Toni L. James


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like a pair of comfortable slippers, 5 Nov. 2009
This review is from: X-Files - I Want To Believe (1-Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
As with most people, I though that this would have a lot more weirdness and action. Then again, I was so confused by the ending of series 9, that I'll need to see it again to work out exactly what Mulder was fighting about, apart from "I believe and lots of people don't and they lied about it". So this film was like putting on an old pair of slippers. You don't expect much but they're comfortable. I wanted to say that Billy Connolly was excellent, but in fact he was not really given anything to get his teeth into. We had one scene between him and Scully where he questions the fact that paedophiles (well, the ones who ask for treatment, that is) medically dose themselves to fight off urges which are beyond their control. So if these urges are beyond their control, they come from....where? It would have been interesting to have had some debate between the god believer and the ex-priest (to whom the phrase "I want to believe" could also be applied), when he is now embittered by his relationship with god, but no. That spluttered out.

Why has Mulder got a beard? Tired cliche this, "I'm going to do something radical until the moment when I 'become' the character the fans have tuned in to see". Either have a beard or don't have one, show your transformation through acting instead.

"Don't give up" - very un-Scully like to have her giving up. She doesn't need people she doesn't believe in to say that to her, she's been through far more without giving up.

Not a lot of humour, shame, the Mulder quips are a little like hearing the same joke for the twentieth time. I only laughed at the pause before "Now I can't sleep".

I did cheer at the appearance of the only "Person at the FBI with balls". Too short an appearance.

So, it holds the attention, there's quite a bit of familiarity, but it also suffers a bit from trying to stay within the 'culture'. Example : Mulder and Scully are together because....Scully can't find anyone? Mulder is hiding. OK. Much more interesting would be to have Scully in a new relationship and Mulder in hiding but then realising that the FBI have moved on. He's less news-worthy than the threat of terrorism.

I'd advise you watch this one first, and then decide if you want to add it to the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly a case for Mulder and Scully, 21 Sept. 2008
When Chris Carter revealed the first footage from the new X-Files movie at this year's Comi-Con Festival 2008 in San Diego accompanied by stars David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson, it was greeted with crowds of hysteria by the festival's visitors. It showed Billy Connolly rushing through the deep snow atop a frozen lake, an FBI search team equipped with helicopters and Alsatians following behind him. He would drop to his knees and cry..."Its Here!.....Here!.....it's Here!". Great stuff I can tell you, and certainly enough to get you very excited about the prospect of the new movie.

Indeed, it's very appealing to see Duchovny and Anderson back on the screen together after 6 years since the show aired it's final episode. The X-Files show was always of a high quality, and the first X-Files movie, released in '95, was also very well produced. The same can be said this time. X-Files creator Chris Carter, making his feature debut, has put together a very detailed and original story for our intrepid heroes to unravel. This time around the story has nothing to do with the alien mythology: the thread that ran through the core of the series. Here we have a stand-alone mystery enabling those who've never seen the series to enjoy and appreciate what the X-Files was all about. This was a wise move by the creator. That it has been 6 years since the show finished, it is also entirely possible that there is a whole new audience that may not have even heard of the show - and therefore, may have been completely indifferent to Chris Carter serving up another round of his alien invasion conspiracy.

So.....Just what exactly is this new adventure about? The production has been shrouded in secrecy since its inception with even the actors somewhat in the dark regarding the movie's script and story - and this is perhaps the first opportunity for a reviewer to identify where the problems with this picture may lie. The idea of keeping plot details secret was a marketing masterstroke during the heights of the show's popularity, compelling the audience to tune in to find out more. Everyone wanted to learn of the phenomena that Mulder and Scully were investigating each week. But 6 years after the show ended??!! There is not the same level of interest in Mulder and Scully anymore, and during a recent visit to the cinema to see another movie, I heard several very audible groans from the audience when the trailer for this movie was shown. You cannot employ the same marketing tactics for this movie that you used six or seven years ago! It just won't work! Audiences are just not as interested in the X-Files as much as they used to be. And the marketing department at Fox Pictures should have known this! There is also a certain amount of mis-direction with regards to the content of the picture. The film is trailered to suggest that Mulder and Scully will be hunting down some kind of terrible creature or beast, some kind of mutant human - possibly a werewolf. But this is absolutely not what you get! Don't misunderstand me, I am a big fan of the X-Files and very much in favour of being surprised when I go to the cinema. But by the end of the first act, when it becomes apparent what the film is really about, you will very likely be disappointed. Fox Pictures obviously realised this in advance and had the movie marketed as a horror.

Another problem with the picture is the release date. Why open a slightly macabre movie like The X-Files, which may be obscure to some, during the height of the summer season only one week after the most long-awaited picture of the year: The Dark Knight? Given the film's subject matter it would have been more suited to a late September release, or perhaps October. The story is set during the dead of winter showing FBI search teams wrapped up in thick insulated coats struggling through blizzards. To release the film during the summer was completely inappropriate, when audiences prefer to see fun popcorn blockbusters drenched in sunshine.

To give the movie it's due; it is very well made, well acted and well directed. But the film's main problem is that it comes across as a very straightforward FBI/Police procedural: competently put together but nothing spectacular - perhaps an illustration of the movie's relatively tight budget (approximately $30 million), quite low for a studio picture. But there is still much to enjoy; Mulder and Scully's relationship developed to the point where they are now sleeping together, and thankfully, being honest with each other. Their more intimate moments are quite affecting, and there is a very emotional sub-plot with Scully (now a Doctor) battling to cure a terminally ill child at the medical facility where she works. The supporting cast also do well; Amanda Peet and rapper Alvin `Xzibit' Joiner feature as other FBI agents on the hunt for a missing colleague, and finally; (Yay!) Mitch Pileggi appears in the final act as Assistant Director Walter Skinner, adding a bit of excitement to proceedings as Scully struggles through the snow whilst trying to locate a missing Mulder.

The DVD is released in both a single disc and double disc format. Both versions available are Chris Carter's Director's Cut. The Single Disc edition has the movie and a few trailers. The 2 Disc Edition is packed to the brim with numerous documentaries and featurettes. It is also equipped with a Digital Copy of the film for you to download to your relevant ipod media etc.

In conclusion: a well made but slightly underwhelming drama. Roll-on the next alien invasion movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic X-Files Territory, 12 Feb. 2010
I suppose it was a surprise that it took so long for another X-Files film to come out after the first one was such a big success. The X-Files movie hit the big screen with consumate ease, as if it was destined for that to begin with, but no one could have really expected such a long wait for another. But there you go, better than another coming out after a couple of years and it turns out to be a let down. I had no idea that one had been released until a friend told me. So here it is.
It was well worth the wait and the wonderful thing was that it went right back to the show's routes back in the early nineties when it began its run and went on to become one of the all time greats. The earlier shows of course were darker and truly epic in scope, and this film continued in that tradition, going back to what made the show so great to begin with, eerie atmosphere, startling locations, creepy stories and strong characters. The villians came from all walks of life, men and women, and from every part of the globe imaginable. It sometimes even manages to come across as grim, but I don't believe it's depressing in that sense, it just adds to a sense of wonder about it, particularly towards the end. There is a sense of danger, a haunting location, eerie atmosphere of course and struggles with life and death, and a gripping and possibly morbidly fascinating mystery.
Billy Connolly too was excellent as the paedophile priest, tormented by his crimes, but also still trying to beg forgiveness.
This film served as a standalone of course about a psychic and it is in the great tradition of some of the classics from the very early seasons, whereas the original X-Files Movie was the eagerly anticipated conspiracy arc that most fans were able to appreciate. The biggest difference in both I would say.
The X Files: I Want To Believe took you back to what it was like to watch this show in the beginning, and it was so good to see Mulder and Scully in action again and settling back into their characters, as if they had never been away.
By the way, I loved the ending and the rocking theme music mix at the end with those amazing pictures. I don't usually watch end credits, but I do on this!
Welcome back, guys!! Spoooky!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blu-Ray, Good movie...., 27 April 2009
By 
M. Scott "general Consumer" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After such a long wait imposed by legal wrangles that bottomed out any prior plans to release a second X-Files movie, we now have Mulder and Scully back on the big screen (ok in this case it's in your home so the screen size may vary) and it is well overdue.

First off, the quality of the Blu-ray image and the crispness of both picture ond sound are truly amazing. The texture of the snow, the city lights, the flowing hair is all just ultra detailed and a true demonstration of the power of the newest technology, and with the prices here on Amazon, I expect more people to begin upgrading to Blu-Ray discs sooner rather than later. The size of the BR discs is apparent from the back cover...Not only does it have a copy of the Theatrical movie, but a copy of the Directors cut, an 82min documentary as well as all the other outtakes, stills and such you would expect in any DVD/BR disc nowadays. You can even choose to watch the whole movie with only the soundtrack/score playing (i.e. no vocals effects etc...just the eerie music....a nice touch).

The movie itself is basically an extended episode of the X-Files as we follow Mulder and Scully through a series of personal and public revelations as they attempt to find a missing FBI agent. The intertwined love story between Mulder and Scully, both of whom are out of the FBI, is interesting and the underlying plot and paranormal elements to this movie are good, but it fails to really make the most of the longer format for me. A very good double episode but not really capturing the action/urgency of the first movie. It needed a little more blast for the cash in my humble opinion - more action and somethign a bit extra than what we got in the TV series...

However, one thing I really wanted to highlight was the extra disc containing a 'digital copy' function. This basically allows you to put the DVD (could be a CD i've not tested it out yet) into your computer and create a copy of the movie for use on your iPhone or other portable media device. About time this was offered too. Why can I create an MP3 version of any CD's I buy for use on my portable device but I am forced to "re-buy" a movie I have bought on DVD or BR just for use on a portable format? There is also a link from your BR-disc to a web content via a internet link (ideal for you PS3 afficionados out there).

A good movie that could have been more, a possible 4-star, but an extra star for the quality and the digital copy function which I think really set this up as such a great buy....certainly at Amazons prices!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science Vs Faith, 5 Nov. 2008
By 
R. Fisher "entertainment lover" (west midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Six years since the exploits of Mulder and Scully came to an end after nine seasons. The second movie propels x-files into darker territory leaving alien conspiracy's on the back burner for a standalone adventure.

We catch up with Mulder and Scully now living together in a secluded house as Mulder browses newspaper articles looking for unexplained phenomenon and Scully has become a doctor at a catholic run hospital caring for a terminally ill boy when she is approached by the FBI, looking for Mulder to consult on a case, a female FBI agent has disappeared and a convicted paedophile priest father Joe claims to be having visions leading the FBI closer to their missing agent, Mulder reluctantly joins the search which leads to a grisly conclusion.

The X-files: I want to believe has received rather mixed reviews as a fan of the show I found it rather enjoyable but this doesn't seem to be the case with everyone. The x-files isn't a big flashy summer blockbuster its a grim mystery thriller. It goes back to its routes when the darker episodes lay rather than the more comedic centred episodes some of the later seasons took

It takes a very different tone from the first film, in an attempt to market it to a wider audience but it remains a largely fans only affair retaining classic X files flavour, on the whole the movie is about faith as both lead characters have their beliefs tested in search for the truth and it comes across the screen in a compelling form.

Duchovony and Anderson slip back into their roles with ease, the relationship between them starting as complete but as the movie progresses it threatens to tear itself apart as the pairs beliefs clash.
The chemistry between the two stars is still ever present as they play off each other well be it their romantic relationship or their conflicting theories. Their relationship is a key part of the movie which x files fans will get more out of than casual viewers, when together they remind us what made the pair so watch able all those years ago.

Billy Connelly gives a good performance as the priest,he portrays a man who is loathsome of himself praying to god for forgiveness while also blaming the almighty for his despicable urges convinced his visions are sent by god to help absolve him of his sins, a complex character handled well by Connelly

Xzibit and Amanda Peet join the cast as FBI agents leading the the manhunt these characters only are there to advance the plot and they are developed little. For example agent Drummy (Xzibit) dislikes Mulder and his beliefs but its never explained why. The two characters are very constricted always remaining as background players.

The only other familiar face to reappear is Walter Skinner towards the end of the movie while only present for a few scenes its great to see him back again helping Scully tracking an AWOL Mulder, it livens up the pace as the movie reaches its climax.

While a stand-alone movie there's still titbits for the fans to pick up on references to William, the poster in Mulder's room,call backs to the series various villains such as 'pusher', generally little bits but is pleasing for fans but will most likely be lost on others.

On the whole the x files: IWTB is a satisfying addition to the franchise the pace can occasionally lag (Scully's terminal patient sub plot) its light on action and can feel a bit underwhelming in a summer of blockbusters but the magic's still there between the stars the story is a spine tingling absorbing mystery and its great to see the pair back in action. It's enough to Believe again- 7/10

Note- just to clear up any confusion this is actually a 3 disc set
disc 1- The movie
disc 2- Bonus features
disc 3- Digital copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as the first movie, 12 May 2009
By 
This review is from: X-Files - I Want To Believe (1-Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Great acting as usual by the actors. It is great to see mulder and scully in a relationship, which i think was one of the main aims of the movie. Would have been better if it was based on the mythology though... this movie is more like a stand alone episode. Hopefully, fingers crossed, we'll get to see a third movie, based on the mythology. Don't forget to watch the surprise (easter egg) scene after the credits!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works much better on DVD, 30 Nov. 2008
By 
T. Turner (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At the cinema, I was originally disappointed by this new installment of the X-Files, as many of the themes had been examined many times before, and more successfully, in the TV series. That said, the movie works much better on DVD. The photography, acting, story and music all seem to gel infinitely better when viewed at home. If you're a fan, I recommend you add this to your collection and give it another shot. If you accept the film answers none of the loose threads from the series finale, you'll probably get more enjoyment out of it. The 'director's cut' additions are minor and now show a little more gore, adding a fraction more impact to certain scenes. This somehow worked for me. Hopefully, by supporting this smaller, more intimate take on the X-Files, we'll get to see other, more scary stories in future and witness the lead-up to the fabled 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a great film, but a decent addition to the casebook, 10 May 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Intended to revive the franchise as a series of occasional movies but met with such indifference it barely covered its modest budget at the worldwide box-office, The X-Files: I Want to Believe is definitely something of an improvement over the previous, much bigger budgeted and unhelpfully overhyped X-Files movie nearly a decade earlier. Rather than getting bogged down in the conspiracy mythology guff that constantly led the series down the same blind alley, it follows the standalone mystery-of-the-week episodes, with an estranged Mulder and Scully reunited in the hunt for a missing FBI agent who has become the subject of both paedophile priest Billy Connolly's visions and some dubious medical experiments. It's the kind of story the series could have knocked off in 42 minutes and it's not got much drive as a thriller, fizzling out badly with a mundane climax, but it compensates with more overt emotional content than the series had in its prime. If, like the mystery itself, the questions about the nature of faith - in God, in science, in each other - don't add up to much, both David Duchovny and particularly Gillian Anderson have improved enough as actors in the years since the show's cancellation to give it some weight as a character piece. It's also very impressively staged when Chris Carter doesn't get carried away with the crosscutting, his very cinematic visual sense giving it the kind of scale that belies the low budget and Mark Snow offering a superb orchestral score with some fine cello work that eschews the synthesised minimalism of his work on the series for something more emotive and classically intricate without ever descending into bombast or syrup. Not a great film, but a decent addition to the casebook.

While the BluRay offers both the director's cut and the theatrical version, which runs four minutes shorter, the disc is somewhat problematic, being lumbered with particularly long loading time. The extras package is more impressive: as well as the obligatory director's audio commentary, two deleted scenes, trailers, gag reel and stills galleries there's also a hefty 86-minute making of documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for avid fans of the show!, 30 Jan. 2009
By 
J. E. Hodges (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't care what anyone says, if you're a fan of the show, you'll enjoy this film. I was fascinated to see what had happened to Scully and Mulder's relationship, and I was pleased with the result. The story is intense, but still conveys that 'episode' feel. It's not as 'glamourous' as the first film (Fight the Future), but quite scary and real all the same....and I loved the ending!

My one criticism, although not with the film, is that the makers made the show a bit 'silly' towards the end...but that was dealt with (or ignored) very well in this film. The backstory regarding 'William' for example was very sensitive. I enjoyed it, and would like to see more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New x files movie- worth renting, 21 Dec. 2008
The new x files movie is certainly worth renting whilst there is a paranormal connection in Billy connolly's psychic 'powers' the rest of the movie is routed in 21Sst century scientific issues this means it doesn't descend into the usual Hollywood hokum.

Mulder and Scully's relationship has moved on but it's a shame that the script doesn't see them interact a little more as for a lot of the movie they inhabit different spheres and they don't share much screen time together. The movie is good and whilst I was afraid the performances might be wooden I was proved wrong. Entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Files - I Want To Believe (1-Disc Edition) [DVD]
£3.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews