Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up All Night anyone?
This is fairly decent return by Razorlight. Wire to wire is a great tune as are several others in this album. However some of the songs are a bit samey and there don't seem to be as many upbeat songs as there are in the two previous albums.

If you liked Razorlight's second album then this will probably appeal to you more than if you are a lover of the first...
Published on 6 Nov. 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty bad
The album starts off well with 'Wire to Wire' and then goes very rapidly downhill with 'Hostage of Love'; a song about Jesus in the first person. Oh dear. I actually have to skip this track because it's too cringe-worthy to listen to. David Brent could easily have written this.

The rest of the album ambles along, yet tries to be epic. This is the music of a...
Published on 26 Nov. 2008 by Nick H


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up All Night anyone?, 6 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
This is fairly decent return by Razorlight. Wire to wire is a great tune as are several others in this album. However some of the songs are a bit samey and there don't seem to be as many upbeat songs as there are in the two previous albums.

If you liked Razorlight's second album then this will probably appeal to you more than if you are a lover of the first like myself. To be honest Up All Night is still Razorlight's best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent final album!, 28 Sept. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
Whilst I agree that 'Slipway Fires' isn't in the same league as Razorlight's previous albums, their third and probably final album certainly has lots of merits and deserves more than a one star rating. Unlike a lot of reviewers, I liked it immediately.

Unlike the second album, there are certainly more than a few (rather repetitive) tracks which didn't deserve to be singles, but 'Slipway Fires' contains the haunting hit single 'Wire to Wire' (which I know is a song that many people who don't even like the band enjoy) and the excellent 'Hostage Of Love', another standout. I regard these as two of the band's very best tracks, and there are a few other well written songs (notably 'You And The Rest') that should grow on you after repeated listens. I regard the first half of the album as very good, but it's only in the middle when the quality begins to drop.

'Slipway Fires' certainly isn't as upbeat as the first two albums, but I do think that it was Razorlight's most mature release and followed on quite well from their second album. If you enjoy indie rock - you should find a few good songs here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An indie swansong?, 24 Feb. 2012
By 
Steve Benner "Stonegnome" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"Slipway Fires" (2008) is Razorlight's third (and, quite possibly, final) album, which for many does not live up the promise of the earlier releases of "Up All Night" (2004) and "Razorlight" (2006). Personally, I find the eleven tracks of the album pretty workman-like and solid enough to warrant repeated listening, the songs covering the standard UK indie-band range of love, life, consumerism and British class divides, with the odd bit of wry London humour thrown in for good measure. The band's original raw rock sound surfaces even less frequently on this album than on their second, favouring instead a lighter instrument touch most of the time -- strummed acoustic guitar, or electric piano sometimes providing sole backing -- and much of the album has an experimental (some might say "copy-cat") feel to it. Many listeners may also be put off by the way the album never feels to settle anywhere (stylistically speaking) for long, making it hard to get a handle on what it wants to be. Whether you find this quirky, or just plain bad, you'll probably have to settle for yourself. I rather like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty bad, 26 Nov. 2008
By 
Nick H (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
The album starts off well with 'Wire to Wire' and then goes very rapidly downhill with 'Hostage of Love'; a song about Jesus in the first person. Oh dear. I actually have to skip this track because it's too cringe-worthy to listen to. David Brent could easily have written this.

The rest of the album ambles along, yet tries to be epic. This is the music of a band caught up in it's own arrogance, but who ran out of ideas for the third album.

It's certainly not a good album, but it's not all terrible either. Compared to 'Up All Night' Razorlight are a shadow of their former selves. What happened?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bad or Great? Perhaps some people need to relisten...?, 14 Jan. 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Fleet, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
I'm rather surprised at first by the generally negative responses to Slipway Fires, but maybe not on reflection.

This album is a lot less immediate than Razorlight's second and grows on you rather than making you go Wow! on first play.

That said, I think it's a really strong album that rewards on replays - I'm certainly not a huge Razorlight fan and really only bought this CD to use up a discount voucher I had, but it's had more plays than most of my recent CD purchases and I find more to like about it (and more depth in the songs) on each play.

If you like this kind of music, but are put off by the negative reviews here, don't be - I think most people will enjoy this album a great deal if they bother to play it more than once or twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stop hating, 6 Jan. 2009
By 
G. L. Williams "simplygregguk" (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
I have read negative reviews for this purely based on the alleged arrogance of the band which is pathetic. This album in truth, has some great songs, some good songs and some poor songs. Razorlight have moved on musically and are new making a more relaxed sound which suits the vocals of the band. A good album and for me these are the stand out tracks: Wire to Wire, Hostage of Love, Go Thompson, Stinger and the epic Monster Boots.

Buy it and make up your mind but listen with an open mind and without and prejudice about the band. Who knows, you may like a few songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars maybe people need to re-listen., 20 Jan. 2009
By 
Sean Hownam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
Simply excellent aside from Tabloid Lover, not loving that one, from Stinger on are some of the best things Razorlight have written. For everyone craving Up All Night 2, it just isn't going to happen, they could probably write another Up All Night with their eyes closed but what would be the point in that? Razorlight are progressing nicely and this is yet another really good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 April 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
Razorlight's second CD was the first CD I'd ever bought. I really enjoyed it, with no bad songs. Nothing brilliant, but overall pretty good. I was expecting something great from this. It could have been amazing. It's a real shame - because it isn't.

It starts off well with Wire to Wire. Slow but interesting, with a catchy little piano melody behind passionate vocals. My first impressions of Hostage of Love, the second track, were OK, but after a few times through I realised it really wasn't as good as I thought.
You and the Rest starts off with a twelve bar intro (48 beats!) of some kind of percussion which sounds like tap dancing. The vocals come in, and are very boring for another 12 bars, before it finally starts to bring anything else in. But it's 48 bars from the start before anything interesting happens, where the song actually gets quite good. Then it's bad again.

Finally by the fourth track there's a song worth listening to. Tabloid Lover. Love the guitar at the start, really catchy, and the song actually stays interesting, unlike the previous ones. Then to North London Trash, which is similar, if a bit slower, to Tabloid Lover. Some nice guitar, drums and piano filling it out.

Then it dips again. Two more boring songs before Burberry Blue Eyes, which is catchy and grows on you. Three more pretty boring slow ballads until the album finishes.
The vocals are often out of tune and in the slower numbers the lyrics are really poetic. Sound good? It's not. Apart from the three I've mentioned, the tracks are rather bland and seems to be a solo act with Johnny Borrel.

Some really good tracks, but only three of them. Could have been really good, but it's just too slow and bland. Not enough exciting guitar riffs and drum backing.

I hope Razorlight come back, but with a better repertoire.

NOT recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THAT 'DIFFICULT' THIRD ALBUM, 4 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
Razorlight's second self titled long player gave the band a number 1 single - the modern classic and best single of 2006 'America' - and a massive shed load shifting album. The critics swooned and the public fell for Johnny Borrell and chums mix of powerpop, glitter and THAT voice.
The fact that the new record - Slipway Fires - has attracted some negative reviews and a wave of 'Borrell' backlash comes as little surprise. In all fairness, whilst the new material isn't as consistent and exciting as previous offerings, there are at least a handful of songs that should ensure that the band have another successful run in the charts and keep the masses happy in UK arena's and festivals come Summer 09.
Lead single 'Wire To Wire' is a seductive slow burner featuring a terrifc Borrell vocal, 'Burberry Blue Eyes' a Crowded House like pop rocker (with subtle harmonies and by far the record's best lyrics) & 'North London Trash' is an arch stomp that sounds suspiciously like Suede circa 95. The spritely 'Tabloid Lover' is catchy as hell but let down by some of JB's clunkiest cuplets whilst sedate closer 'The House' is actually all the better for it's stripped down arrangement and honest delivery.
The rest of the tracks often struggle to find a tune or flouder beneath the weight of over production and lack of identity. Borrell's vocals are uniformerly excellent but taken as a whole Slipway Fires pales against the bands first two releases. Still even Razorlight on cruise control put the majority of their indie rock peers in the shade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh my, oh my..., 14 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
In keeping with a lot of the reviews here, I have to wonder what the hell has happened to Razorlight. Up all night was simply fantastic - Golden Touch / Stumble and Fall / Rock n Roll Lies justified hit singles and album tracks of the quality of Fall, Fall, Fall and Into The City - it was a fantastic start to a career, I saw them at the Garage in London and it was a truly epic gig - Yet the signs of decay had creeped by the seconds album, In The Morning was a likeable enough romp, but America a little too cringe-worthy - still there are a few good songs hidden on the album like Kirby's House, however, this their third album is plain and truly God-awful.

There is literally no sign of the classic indie-rock album of Up All Night here, instead it's Middle of the Road durge - and I mean that - the lyrics are laughable and the songs just terrible - I'm trying to work out what they are trying to be - I keep hearing stadium band but believe me if these songs were played at Wembley people whould be asleep by track five.

2005 promised so music Kaiser Chiefs, The Killers, Keane, Razorlight, Zutons, Bloc Party but what has happened to them now?
Kaiser Chiefs decline to me mirrors Razorlight's, as does The Zutons.
Keane have given it a good shot at least, the Killers have the luxury of being ultra popular and produced a great seconds album, although Human is terrible - the album hopefully will be better. Thank god for Bloc Party to keep my faith with an excellent third album.
Here's hoping Arcade Fire and Editors come back strong.

Save your money and buy something else, anything else. 2/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slipway Fires
Slipway Fires by Razorlight (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews