Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up All Night anyone?
This is fairly decent return by Razorlight. Wire to wire is a great tune as are several others in this album. However some of the songs are a bit samey and there don't seem to be as many upbeat songs as there are in the two previous albums.

If you liked Razorlight's second album then this will probably appeal to you more than if you are a lover of the first...
Published on 6 Nov 2008 by Andrew Mccrone

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty bad
The album starts off well with 'Wire to Wire' and then goes very rapidly downhill with 'Hostage of Love'; a song about Jesus in the first person. Oh dear. I actually have to skip this track because it's too cringe-worthy to listen to. David Brent could easily have written this.

The rest of the album ambles along, yet tries to be epic. This is the music of a...
Published on 26 Nov 2008 by Nick H


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up All Night anyone?, 6 Nov 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
This is fairly decent return by Razorlight. Wire to wire is a great tune as are several others in this album. However some of the songs are a bit samey and there don't seem to be as many upbeat songs as there are in the two previous albums.

If you liked Razorlight's second album then this will probably appeal to you more than if you are a lover of the first like myself. To be honest Up All Night is still Razorlight's best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent final album!, 28 Sep 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
Whilst I agree that 'Slipway Fires' isn't in the same league as Razorlight's previous albums, their third and probably final album certainly has lots of merits and deserves more than a one star rating. Unlike a lot of reviewers, I liked it immediately.

Unlike the second album, there are certainly more than a few (rather repetitive) tracks which didn't deserve to be singles, but 'Slipway Fires' contains the haunting hit single 'Wire to Wire' (which I know is a song that many people who don't even like the band enjoy) and the excellent 'Hostage Of Love', another standout. I regard these as two of the band's very best tracks, and there are a few other well written songs (notably 'You And The Rest') that should grow on you after repeated listens. I regard the first half of the album as very good, but it's only in the middle when the quality begins to drop.

'Slipway Fires' certainly isn't as upbeat as the first two albums, but I do think that it was Razorlight's most mature release and followed on quite well from their second album. If you enjoy indie rock - you should find a few good songs here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty bad, 26 Nov 2008
By 
Nick H (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
The album starts off well with 'Wire to Wire' and then goes very rapidly downhill with 'Hostage of Love'; a song about Jesus in the first person. Oh dear. I actually have to skip this track because it's too cringe-worthy to listen to. David Brent could easily have written this.

The rest of the album ambles along, yet tries to be epic. This is the music of a band caught up in it's own arrogance, but who ran out of ideas for the third album.

It's certainly not a good album, but it's not all terrible either. Compared to 'Up All Night' Razorlight are a shadow of their former selves. What happened?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
This does exactly as stated, easy to use, makes life a whole lot easier which is why i choose it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hits and misses, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
Some of the songs are pretty samey, but there are enough excellent songs to justify the purchase. If you like indie guitar led stuff, you'll want this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An indie swansong?, 24 Feb 2012
By 
Steve Benner "Stonegnome" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Slipway Fires (MP3 Download)
"Slipway Fires" (2008) is Razorlight's third (and, quite possibly, final) album, which for many does not live up the promise of the earlier releases of "Up All Night" (2004) and "Razorlight" (2006). Personally, I find the eleven tracks of the album pretty workman-like and solid enough to warrant repeated listening, the songs covering the standard UK indie-band range of love, life, consumerism and British class divides, with the odd bit of wry London humour thrown in for good measure. The band's original raw rock sound surfaces even less frequently on this album than on their second, favouring instead a lighter instrument touch most of the time -- strummed acoustic guitar, or electric piano sometimes providing sole backing -- and much of the album has an experimental (some might say "copy-cat") feel to it. Many listeners may also be put off by the way the album never feels to settle anywhere (stylistically speaking) for long, making it hard to get a handle on what it wants to be. Whether you find this quirky, or just plain bad, you'll probably have to settle for yourself. I rather like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars maybe people need to re-listen., 20 Jan 2009
By 
Sean Hownam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
Simply excellent aside from Tabloid Lover, not loving that one, from Stinger on are some of the best things Razorlight have written. For everyone craving Up All Night 2, it just isn't going to happen, they could probably write another Up All Night with their eyes closed but what would be the point in that? Razorlight are progressing nicely and this is yet another really good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bad or Great? Perhaps some people need to relisten...?, 14 Jan 2009
By 
M. Saxby (Fleet, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
I'm rather surprised at first by the generally negative responses to Slipway Fires, but maybe not on reflection.

This album is a lot less immediate than Razorlight's second and grows on you rather than making you go Wow! on first play.

That said, I think it's a really strong album that rewards on replays - I'm certainly not a huge Razorlight fan and really only bought this CD to use up a discount voucher I had, but it's had more plays than most of my recent CD purchases and I find more to like about it (and more depth in the songs) on each play.

If you like this kind of music, but are put off by the negative reviews here, don't be - I think most people will enjoy this album a great deal if they bother to play it more than once or twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stop hating, 6 Jan 2009
By 
G. L. Williams "simplygregguk" (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slipway Fires (Audio CD)
I have read negative reviews for this purely based on the alleged arrogance of the band which is pathetic. This album in truth, has some great songs, some good songs and some poor songs. Razorlight have moved on musically and are new making a more relaxed sound which suits the vocals of the band. A good album and for me these are the stand out tracks: Wire to Wire, Hostage of Love, Go Thompson, Stinger and the epic Monster Boots.

Buy it and make up your mind but listen with an open mind and without and prejudice about the band. Who knows, you may like a few songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars About as enjoyable as root canal work, 18 Nov 2008
By 
J. Milner "jcmilner" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slipway Fires [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is atrocious. Was really looking forward to this but it's been a struggle to play it right through. It has a really grating, ear shredding sound that I just cannot stand. Gave me a headache after about five songs and just annoyed me. The songs just totally lack any structure and it's so obnoxiously mixed and mastered that the end result is a characterless noise that is unpleasant to the ear. Possibly THE most disappointing release of the year (Keane not far behind).
And here's a message to record labels - STOP HAVING CDs MASTERED AT LUDICROUS LEVELS - DYNAMIC COMPRESSION IS KILLING MUSIC!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slipway Fires
Slipway Fires by Razorlight (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews