Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improves with repeat viewings
Works more often than it fails and is visually excellent throughout, with great attention to detail and atmosphere. Watch it a couple of times and it gets a lot funnier. The three disc edition is good value with a lot of great extras and the extended cut IS better than the theatrical release. Sure to be a cult classic in a few years time.
Published on 29 Jan 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a watch
Roberty downey and tom cruise make 5 star performances, and its a good job because the film came so near yet so far... Some hilarious moments, but with the cast, i expected it too be a bit more 'gag to gag', and less action (though i acknowledge it was also and homage to the likes of Apocalypse now)... all in all not a bad film though
Published on 10 Oct 2009 by Mr. David Simmonite


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tropic Thunder, 18 July 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
`Tropic Thunder' was directed by, co-written by and starred Ben Stiller and makes for a fairly amusing couple of hours viewing. From the spoof adverts and film trailers at the start of this film you know what you're letting yourself in for and the film continues in much the same vein. This is a spoof Vietnam film about the filming of a Vietnam film and it borrows very heavily from Platoon, as well as other famous Vietnam films to a lesser extent. If you know your Vietnam war films you can play spot the scene relatively easily. This didn't have me belly rolling in laughter, but it did have some funny moments that raise a laugh and it is fairly easy going and humorous. The cast is pretty great, with many famous faces, not least Tom Cruise as a funny film exec and Nick Nolte as a Vietnam Veteran, but the one who stole the film for me had to be Robert Downey Junior who had me laughing at nearly every line he delivered, he was very funny and this film would've been a lot duller without him. The direction was good and the pyrotechnics were pretty impressive too. If you've seen other Ben Stiller films you'll know what to expect, this has plenty of his off the wall comedy, slightly crass jokes and lots of furrowed brows and pouting. For an afternoons easy viewing this is pretty decent, nothing ground breaking or amazing, but a good enough comedy to pass the time.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tropic Thunder, 2 July 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tropic Thunder - Single Disc [DVD] (DVD)
`Tropic Thunder' was directed by, co-written by and starred Ben Stiller and makes for a fairly amusing couple of hours viewing. From the spoof adverts and film trailers at the start of this film you know what you're letting yourself in for and the film continues in much the same vein. This is a spoof Vietnam film about the filming of a Vietnam film and it borrows very heavily from Platoon, as well as other famous Vietnam films to a lesser extent. If you know your Vietnam war films you can play spot the scene relatively easily. This didn't have me belly rolling in laughter, but it did have some funny moments that raise a laugh and it is fairly easy going and humorous. The cast is pretty great, with many famous faces, not least Tom Cruise as a funny film exec and Nick Nolte as a Vietnam Veteran but the one who stole the film for me had to be Robert Downey Junior who had me laughing at nearly every line he delivered, he was very funny and this film would've been a lot duller without him. The direction was good and the pyrotechnics were pretty impressive too. If you've seen other Ben Stiller films you'll know what to expect, this has plenty of his off the wall comedy, slightly crass jokes and lots of furrowed brows and pouting. For an afternoons easy viewing this is pretty decent, nothing ground breaking or amazing, but a good enough comedy to pass the time.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never get off the boat, 7 May 2009
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tropic Thunder - Single Disc [DVD] (DVD)
Tropic Thunder is an amusing slapstick film with some gross bits (Steve Coogan's head for example) alongside a nice line in Hollywood insider humour and pastiche. Robert Downey Jr's playing of Samuel L Jackson as Russell Crowe is of another level though. There are lots of references to Apocalypse Now, and if it directs a few folks that way then it will have done none harm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tropic Thunder is brilliant, 3 July 2009
Tropic Thunder is one of the most sarcastic films I have ever seen. It takes shots at every thing the film industry has come to represent and is hilarious in doing so. I've never laughed so much, and it's all based on the truth. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tropically thunderous..., 5 Feb 2009
The film sets out to parody the whole war film genre and does a very good job. To have Robert Downey Jr. as a black Sergeant was excellent. Previous reviewers have mentioned the bad acting, but have missed the point completely in that there is SUPPOSED to be bad acting. All the characters are supposed to be larger than life, loud, he men types but in love with their best buddy (which they obviously can't admit) and are all method actors, based on various war film characters. Tom Berenger in Platoon and the loud mouthed Sergeant in Full Metal Jacket are examples of the types of guys the characters in this film are trying to portray. And they pull it off very well and in particular Robert Downey as he can't stop method acting when he's 'off screen'.

Don't take it too seriously and you'll find it an excellent film...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb sound, superb picture, funny movie. Why you all hate on Stiller?, 27 Feb 2009
superb sound, superb picture, funny movie. Why you all hate on Stiller?
Stiller and Stallone have something in common. Everybody hates them and sais the cannot act or are not funny. I think Stallone and Stiller are great actors in their own special way. This movie is so good and funny that I was shocked the moment I saw the feedback. Have you watched the same movie as I in whom Ben Stiller got shot like in Platoon, Downey is a black dude and action and fun is all over the movie?
People please watch the movie and then decide for your self!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its a good laugh, 31 Jan 2009
By 
Here are a list of reasons why you might want to get this film:

-Robert Downey Jr's opening film trailer parody (perhaps that short 3 min section justifies half the cost incurred to you when you buy the film)
-Robert Downey Jr's Oscar nomination for Best Supporting Actor. Very debatable, but truth be told, he did a fantastic job of being an Australian actor, pretending to be a black man in a film that never happened.
-Jack Black, love him or hate him, he's got comedic value and doesn't disappoint in this film
-Loads of funny moments throughout the film on the whole
-2 discs, 2nd one worth putting on in the background while you do some ironing or some house chores
-Best film that Tom Cruise has ever cameoed in. Trust me.

-So why only 4 stars? While the film is consistently funny, it just doesn't stand up against the laugh-out-loud films of old (eg. Wayne's World etc.) But don't get me wrong, its still very good as a comedy film, but don't expect it to be the best one ever.

=D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good parody of a film!, 30 Jan 2009
As a fan of the likes of Zoolander and other Ben Stiller films i have to say that this film does not disappoint. It is not a comedy as such filled with wise cracking jokes and will not be for everyone but fans of parody or spoof films will get the humour and find it enjoyable! All in all i enjoyed it a lot would happily watch it a couple times more such is the subtle humour within the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 2 Feb 2009
By 
JS253 (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Tropic Thunder, not much to say, you love it or you hate it. I'm definitely not a fan of Ben Stiller but I think Robert Downey did a great job!! I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Kevin P. Teasdale "Kevin Teasdale" (Newton Aycliffe, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw it on the big screen and pre-ordered it when I got home. Everyone who has seen it so far finds it very funny.
It will become a classic with many laugh till you wet your pants moments all the way through, every actor induces at least one of these moments during the film. Films like this work on many levels - the more you watch it the funnier it gets. It pays homage to several films including 'Appocalypse Now'.
It was slated in the press because reviewers are so far up their own behinds they didn't get the joke, which of course is on them and the whole Hollywood establishment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tropic Thunder - Single Disc [DVD]
Tropic Thunder - Single Disc [DVD] by Ben Stiller (DVD - 2009)
£2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews