Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a favourite childhood series
I have been promising myself the DVDs of this series for years, then hearing that there is going to be a remake (to be shown in 2010) I decided that the time was now.

The box contains:

V - Mini Series (1983)
V - Final Battle (1984)
V - Complete Series (1985) - 19 episodes (though only 18 were originally shown in the UK)

This was...
Published on 21 Jan 2010 by Su

versus
28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strictly For Fans
Had to admit I didn't remember this being aired, though after re-finding the original Mini series on DVD was elated to know this existed to, what a bonus!. However as previous reviewers have mentioned, this weekly sequal suffered from smaller budgets and dwindling plots, but to be honest, if you love the two mini series you should definiatly buy this. As a stand alone its...
Published on 4 Oct 2009 by Mojo Rising


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

133 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a favourite childhood series, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V (Original Series) - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I have been promising myself the DVDs of this series for years, then hearing that there is going to be a remake (to be shown in 2010) I decided that the time was now.

The box contains:

V - Mini Series (1983)
V - Final Battle (1984)
V - Complete Series (1985) - 19 episodes (though only 18 were originally shown in the UK)

This was one of those programmes that when I was younger I used to stay up late for.

Created by Kenneth Johnson, it was something completely different to anything else on TV - remember this was the time of Dallas and Dynasty.

*** Possible Spoilers ***

*V*

It starts with a number of spaceships arriving over various cities around the world. The "Visitors" - who appear to be human - are lead by "John" (Richard Herd) and his Second in Command "Steven" (Andrew Prine), along with Science Officer "Diana" (Jane Badler). They "come in peace" or so they say. They offer cures for cancer, and other diseases, but never come up with anything. Journalist Mike Donovan (Marc Singer) smells a rat (or something similar) and decides to launch his own investigation into these friendly Visitors, getting what he finds to the public proves difficult and makes him a wanted man.

Meanwhile Dr Juliet Parish (Faye Grant) and some of her colleagues have become disenchanted with the visitors seeming inability to come up with the cures they promised, and the way that are taking over. They launch a mini underground movement to undermine the Visitors. As time passes they come into contact with Donovan and the truth starts to come out.

*The Final Battle*

We are introduced to Ham Tyler (Michael Ironside) and his sidekick Chris Farber (Mickey Jones) who are the men that the US Government turned to when they needed someone to do the dirty work. They hook up with the resistance and finally give some military planning to the fight against the Visitors.

*The Series*

Follows on from the Final Battle and introduces new characters such as Kyle Bates (Jeff Yagher), Nathan Bates (Lane Smith) and Elizabeth (Jennifer Cooke) as well as continuing on with already established characters.

*** End of Possible Spoilers ***

Interestingly, a viewers pole done at the time of the favourite characters of the shows (both mini series and the episodic series) threw up a surprise for the studios - they had expected Juliet and Donovan to be top with Kyle Bates (Jeff Yagher) and Diana (Jane Badler) also in the top 5. What they hadn't expected was the top two to be Willie (Robert Englund) and Ham Tyler (Michael Ironside) - both actors, at the time, were mainly known for bad guy roles.

The cancellation of the series came a somewhat of a surprise, especially as it was doing so well in the ratings. So sure were they that they would be renewed that scripts had been completed for season 2.

Yes, the scripts and back stories had some problems and holes; and some of the special effects look a little dodgy in comparison with the current CGI effects, but it's still a great series.

I haven't regretted my purchase. In fact I have thoroughly enjoyed revisiting this series from my youth - unlike many I have returned to this one has lived up to my memories of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


302 of 317 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boxset contents, 17 April 2009
By 
Dave (Nuneaton, Warks) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V (Original Series) - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Just to set the record straight, this is what you get:

- The Original Mini Series (1 two-sided disc)
- The Complete Series (5 discs, 19 episodes)
- The Final Battle (1 two-sided disc & 1 single sided disc)

Total: 8 discs.

Hope this helps..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 19 July 2009
By 
Alicia Betry (Galway, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V (Original Series) - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Love V, used to watch that when I was a kid.
This collection is excellent as you are getting all the V episodes from the TV series, plus the mini series and "the final battle". you have everything you need at a very good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best pout-offs in tv history!, 4 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: V (Original Series) - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
jane badler, bless her, steals the show abit, for me! yes, there're motherships, attack craft, cultural stereotypes, shoot outs, car chases, big men with guns, hitting targets unlike the a team, explosions that would enbolden even gerry anderson's action truncheon, pretty girls/heroines for the dads, beefcakes/action men, for the mums, twists and turns in the plot that have you're attention itching - to the point of must pause during bathroom breaks, but diana's (jane badler) pout-offs, with everyone she is trying to manipulate, dominate and mess over, are the stuff of legends... the state of it! this isn't star trek, babalon 5, battlestar galactica (new seasons) or firefly, when it comes to effects... no hand held, perspective pulling cgi here... but there's a good old fashioned mid 80's score, and a magic kind of, spacy soap opera, vibe, with classic b**ching, back-stabbing, and romance novel throbbings. all wrapped for safe SF. watch alone or with friends; if you remember it from the time, you'll be amazed how much you forgot - and if you are visiting V for the first time, well, good choice, earthling; because everyone should see this, at least once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strictly For Fans, 4 Oct 2009
Had to admit I didn't remember this being aired, though after re-finding the original Mini series on DVD was elated to know this existed to, what a bonus!. However as previous reviewers have mentioned, this weekly sequal suffered from smaller budgets and dwindling plots, but to be honest, if you love the two mini series you should definiatly buy this. As a stand alone its camp, lots of big hair and eighties cheese, but in the context of the V universe is essential viewing. The reason I didnt give this a higher star rating was due to the quality of transfer to DVD, which to put bluntly is bad, bad, bad. It looks like its been taken from some second generation VHS copy stored in a basement for 20 years, even the theme tune is distorted to comical effect if you listen closely. This aside I reccomend this weekly series as classic V and Sci Fi viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V - THE COMPLETE COLLECTION, 27 July 2009
By 
P. D. A. WALDER "Paul Walder" (West Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V (Original Series) - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A classic mini series from 1984 followed by a 19 episode TV Series in 1985, It begins with Spaceships appearing all over the world and stars Marc Singer as Mike Donovan fighting the Visitors who look like humans until he sees one peel of its skin to reveal a ???? (I don't want to give to much away to spoil your enjoyment), who have come to earth saying they have cures for illnesses like cancer but really there is another reason, their planet is dying and they need our ???? (again I don't want to give to much away to spoil your enjoyment),and Jane Badler as one of the leaders of the Visitors (hence that is why it is called V).

This complete collection contains V: The Mini Series (1983)- V: The Final Battle (1984) and V: The Complete Series (1985), even though they have all been released and are available separately.

I remember coming out of hospital after surgery in July 1984 and watching this that evening it is a great sci-fi series, my best ever.

I already own the complete box set on VHS and now at long last I have it on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Puzzled no longer. Just sad., 28 Oct 2012
By 
Armstrong440 (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't know what some of the other reviewers received, but they didn't get what was delivered to my house this morning...

This is NOT the complete V story.

The box contains the final 19-episode series ONLY.

It DOES NOT contain the mini-series or the Final Battle.

Please, people, make sure you're reviewing the correct product!!!

==========================================

*Edited to add*

I've now bought the COMPLETE "Complete" Collection from another source, and have altered my star rating from two down to one.

I never watched the series when it was originally broadcast but my partner, an American, remembered it fondly from her childhood so I bought it for her for Christmas.

It's said that there are some things you have to do once in your life, but watching this series once through was one time too many. The acting is atrocious, the special effects are diabolical, the scripting is ludicrous and the plotlines are utterly infantile. Coming in the wake of two Star Wars films and a LONG time after Star Trek, the producers and directors should be ashamed and embarrassed that they unleashed this drivel on the public. Even Battlestar Galactica, which it also postdates, looks sophisticated by comparison and that takes some doing. Towards the end, I'm sure the toughest job the writers had was dreaming up inventive new ways in which the aliens could demonstrate their bumbling incompetence.

Some programmes are classics because they're SO bad. "V" doesn't even make that mark: it's awful, sad, and it's shattered part of my partner's rosy childhood memories. I'm just glad that I bought a secondhand copy so nobody earned any royalties from my purchase.

If I could rate it zero stars I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly bad picture quality, 11 Feb 2010
By 
M. Wall (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Unlike the earlier films this DVD has been transferred badly to DVD. There is pixellation and its grainy. Even the music is wowing and fluttering like its been played off a well worn out VT machine. To allow this to be released in this state is unthinkable but they did it. Only buy this if you are not bothered by terrible picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing series - even for an avid V fan, 12 Aug 2008
By 
KN (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I was a big fan of 'V' back in the mid-80s and watched all the episodes fervently. This prompted me to go down memory lane with this 19 episode box-set, which continues the storyline after 'V - the miniseries' (where the alien Visitors arrive and begin taking over the planet) and 'V - The Final Battle' (where the humans defeat the Visitors using the 'red dust' toxin and capture the L.A. mothership).

Episode 1 of this box-set follows the escape of Diana, the scheming alien leader played by sultry Jane Badler, who recalls the alien fleet. She also discovers that the red dust toxin is unstable in hot places (like L.A.), which drives a second attempt at conquest and renewed hostilities with resistance movements across the globe.

I only gave this item 2 stars because it lacked the drama and tension that was so strong in the earlier miniseries and final battle. Many of the episodes had such weak plots that I actually got bored and began fast forwarding to the climax or the next episode. Even the cast looked bored - the episode with Ham Tyler leaving honestly felt like the actor (Michael Ironside) had enough of the role! There was also repeated usage of exactly the same footage (especially the alien shuttle chase scenes) throughout the series, which gave it a really cheap feel.

At the end (Episode 19), the alien leader arrives but we never see him. I remembered this from the '80s when the series was on TV but I assumed that the story would continue in another season. Season 2 was never made (unsurprisingly), which makes me wonder why Amazon called this box-set series 1. Most bizarre!

I usually refrain from giving negative reviews but, in this case, I advise all interested 'V' and/or SciFi fans to get 'V the miniseries' and 'V the Final Battle', and to avoid this 'complete series' - and yes the titles are very confusing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. D. Tomney "Mr T." (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V (Original Series) - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This package as all the V episodes from the first to the last, A great collection for the true V collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

Only search this product's reviews