Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars18
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2008
Mariah the Ballad Queen! As a huge supporter of Mariah and her ballads I was very excited about this CD and it's possible content. The producers have gone back to her roots with this CD and for anyone new to this majestic side of Mariah this purchase is a must! However, for the seasoned fans of this magnificent artist (who have all of her tracks already) there is a lot of great stuff here, but also pieces that do not belong at all as "ballads". There are missing songs like: "Whenever you call", "All I've ever wanted", "Lead the way", "Butterfly", "Music box", "When I saw you", "So blessed" and so much more that truly belong on a Mariah ballads album (but are not here??). Anyhow, everything said, it is a great work of art worth the purchase, which recognises and appreciates the record breaking achievements of the best ballad singer ever, our most wonderful Mariah.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2010
This was a great conceptual idea that failed when put into action as its got so many songs missing and half decent choices. I mean the awful remix of thank god i found you and how much both wrong and then theres the likes of everything fades away, love takes time, butterfly, and a vast range of other beautiful ballads discarded and ignored. even with promotion this wouldve flopped as it was done so wrong when it couldve been so right.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2008
This album is full of classics but it's a bit of a repeat if you don't have #1's or Greatest Hits [2CD] get this album if you do have both of them and you are a huge mariah fan get it!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
I just totally love this album and i am really pleased with the entire outcome right from the minute of ordering it too the delivery process and also listening to it. thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2009
This is not against Mariah considering it's not her releasing this album but anyone who is a fan of mariah already has these songs, it is obviously just a marketing scheme to get a bit of money out of it, for people that don't have many mariah albums then this might be useful that's the only reason why I gave it a star,also some of these songs aren't even ballads and they are also missing quite a few ballads.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Excellent cd!! Recommended. A really good selection of music. This is an amazing album - a 'must-have' collection of brilliant songs spanning the years of quality music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2008
This new disk from Mariah is not a general greatest hits instead it's focus is just on the ballads, you will noice only the ones from the sony era (1990 to 1999), this is Mariah's 3rd collection to date, no doubt her fans like me & you will already own the songs & be very familiar with them, it is also quite likely that you may dismiss the album as a quick Christmas cash in for the record company, yes this may hold truth but it's other purpose is to showcase Mariah's superb & treasured voice at it's peak though the very well known ballad's she has sung & became synonymous for, the criticism i have for this album is the song choices, i think there are some songs that have been forgotten like `Butterfly`, `Can't Take That Away`, `When You Believe`, `Can't Let Go', `Forever' & `Whenever You Call` & some that shouldn't have been included as i wouldn't class them as ballads, but instead mid-tempo jams these are `How Much', `Always Be My Baby' & `Dreamlover', the concept of a collection dedicated only to Mariah's ballads is great & what lots of us praise & love Mariah for & sure enough there are more than a few true excellent ballads on there, but some songs are wrong & have let this album down dramatically, i mean where does an upbeat holiday song like `All I Want For Christmas' on a ballads album fit in, it certainly qualifies as evidence to make a stronger statement out of the quick Christmas cash in ploy, a shame & a letdown, it could of been so much better.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
If you haven't got the individual albums then this compilation is an excellent collection of songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
It's her best Compilation. All are great songs and some are huge hits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2008
I have compared Mariah Carey Album N1 and this album- which has 8 songs previously included in the N1 album and I think when you are a true fan, all that is being proposed in this album you already heard and have at home. I give her 4 stars for her wonderful voice,and I was expecting bonus tracks. This album has a spiritual note to it which sounds good for Christmas present. But as a fan I am only impressed with her voice.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.78

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)