Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Seismic Soundclash
Drawing on a well-established link between Reggae music and Ethiopia for inspiration, Dub Colossus (Nick Page formerly Transglobal Underground /Temple of Sound) imaginatively brings together Ethiopian singers and musicians with heavyweight reggae rhythms. Killer bass hooks, sublime percussion and rich dub treatments all pervade one of the most original and varied...
Published on 3 Jan. 2009 by Natty Fred

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and multi layered
Not as good as Dub Me Tender Vol 1& 2, but that is such a good album. It's takes a bit more time and effort to get into it, but it's well worth it
Published 21 months ago by Steel City Blue


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Seismic Soundclash, 3 Jan. 2009
This review is from: In A Town Called Addis (Audio CD)
Drawing on a well-established link between Reggae music and Ethiopia for inspiration, Dub Colossus (Nick Page formerly Transglobal Underground /Temple of Sound) imaginatively brings together Ethiopian singers and musicians with heavyweight reggae rhythms. Killer bass hooks, sublime percussion and rich dub treatments all pervade one of the most original and varied dub/reggae albums I've come across in 20+ years of interest in the genre. For the purists, it should be stressed that this is far from unadulterated dub reggae as there are 4 or so tracks that don't really qualify as such - ranging from beautifully rendered Ethiopian ballads to blues and Jazz.

Indeed, I wouldn't recommend this if you have any aversion to traditional African music - the majority of tracks combine aforementioned styles to stirring and sometimes surreal effect through the contributions of some of Ethiopia's most accomplished singers and musicians. If you're partial however to an accomplished merging of musical boundaries, which in this instance pays tasteful homage to the very best experimental 70's dub/reggae, look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and atmospheric..., 13 Nov. 2008
By 
Mr. Sj Hemmings "Book Geek" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In A Town Called Addis (Audio CD)
This album is certainly one which I will keep coming back to. The fusion of traditional Ethiopian styles and Jamaican reggae and dub makes for an enticing and rewarding experience. One of my favourite releases of 2008 and definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Ethopian treasure, 26 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Town Called Addis (Audio CD)
This one-of-a-kind project connects the real-life fireworks of old and new, urban Ethiopian music with the Rastafarian mythology that has long linked this country to reggae via the late Emperor Haile Selassie, whom Rastas deify.
The album is the work of Dubuluh (Nick Page) and a host of Ethiopian and English artists. It's an intriguing, somewhat surprising collection of tunes. Often times dub projects can be anchored in a recurrent groove, but Page has created a group of tracks that are quite distinctive. "Neh Yelginete (My First Love)," for instance, is a beautifully layered tune that invokes the Ethiojazz vibe. "Ophir Dub" has a retro feel, bringing to mind the dub reggae of Abyssinians. "Shegye Shegitu (Blue Nile Mix)" is a dark, bluesy number produced in fairly minimalist fashion. The song "Yeka Sub City Rockers" conjures the spirit of Augustus Pablo and blends it with an ambient dub sensibility. The opening track on the disc, "Azmari Dub," is Ethiopique roots reggae featuring vocalist Sintayehu Zenebe and the sturdy punch of the Horns of Negus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and multi layered, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Addis (MP3 Download)
Not as good as Dub Me Tender Vol 1& 2, but that is such a good album. It's takes a bit more time and effort to get into it, but it's well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-Out Fusion, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. A. G. Bungay "Bossa Lopsida" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Town Called Addis (MP3 Download)
I was invited to see these guys live in a cavernous venue in the middle of the week when I was pretty tired. Seeing the juxtaposition of an enthusiastic chanteuse, full-on horn section and prominent kora, let alone what heavy riffs the bassist might be planning to drop-I was a bit apprehensive: but it works and ,more than that, it flies-DC have their own idiosyncratic take on how these musics collide, as they musicologically and culturally do, and its brilliant-also very cool dance music if you feel like cutting the rug as we did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skanking Delights, 14 Feb. 2009
This review is from: In A Town Called Addis (Audio CD)
A+A+A+A+ most engaging and moving work that keeps the faith and essence of Ethiopian music while taking it to logical trance and dub pastures of aural pleasure. Playing it regularly on my radio show and it is going down very well. DJ DAPPER DAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ethiopian dub - what could be better!, 12 Sept. 2009
By 
Ms. S. A. May "Sue May" (S. Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In A Town Called Addis (Audio CD)
Loved this CD. Each track is different, some are very 'dub' and others more ethereal, a fantastic mix of cultures and influences. If you want a pure dub soundtrack though you may find yourself flicking through some tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 21 Jan. 2009
By 
Doktor Futtocks - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Town Called Addis (Audio CD)
I had the first couple of songs played to me, and immediately placed an order for my own copy. This is a natural meeting of musical minds and the result has been on heavy rotation on my hi-fi. Superb sound quality, to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In A Town Called Addis
In A Town Called Addis by Dub Colossus (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews