Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Fun Fun!
Saw V.V. Brown on BBC2, Later with Jools Holland & liked her. Delighted to see her live at Glastonbury 09 & realised she is more than a two song wonder. There are so many female vocalists around, some far to affected & synthetic for my liking, but I love the quirky approach of V.V. Brown & the album is fun & refreshing, even when dealing with tough aspects of life & her...
Published on 12 Oct 2009 by Y. Lakhi

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let-down
About a year or so ago I saw VV Brown on "Later... with Jools Holland" where she performed "Crying Blood", and I thought she was great, a lively performance combined with a song which sounded fresh but retro at the same time, plus she had a winning look. I heard the other singles too, "LEAVE!" also enjoyable, and "Shark In The Water" a piece of polished pop which sounded...
Published on 14 July 2009 by Peter Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Fun Fun!, 12 Oct 2009
By 
Y. Lakhi (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Like The Light (Audio CD)
Saw V.V. Brown on BBC2, Later with Jools Holland & liked her. Delighted to see her live at Glastonbury 09 & realised she is more than a two song wonder. There are so many female vocalists around, some far to affected & synthetic for my liking, but I love the quirky approach of V.V. Brown & the album is fun & refreshing, even when dealing with tough aspects of life & her experiences. I was even more impressed to hear V.V. participated in Oxjam in South London.

Her music is enjoyable, fun & engaging, her personal style is funky & individual & this is a young musician who deserves recognition & support. Buy the album (a bargain on Amazon, via Indigo Starfish, who as ever were reliable)& support a genuine & authentic artist & not just another TV manufactured pop outfit.

Yasmin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 9 Dec 2009
By 
Kirstie Adam "kadam" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Travelling Like The Light (Audio CD)
currently on repeat on my ipod....and staying there for the next long while i expect. i love this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAN'T FAULT IT., 26 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Like The Light (Audio CD)
From the moment i heard this women on LATER... WITH JOOLS HOLLAND i just had to hear more,she got my interest and i had to track down the album. From the opening track this album grabs your attention and doesn't let it go. How she isn't a really big star is beyond me.
Every track is well worth including on the album,even the slower ones belong,giving you time for a breather,before once again,we go speeding along. There's a bit of soul,a bit of pop,a bit of several things going on really. A great voice,good to brilliant tracks and better than i dared even hope. I look forward to her follow up,which if anything like this will be an album to play for many years without getting bored. It has to be said,V V BROWN is V V good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good debut album but perhaps over commercialised?, 17 July 2009
By 
R. Thompson (Huddersfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Travelling Like The Light (Audio CD)
I'd been looking forward to buying this ever since I saw VV and her band supporting Ida Maria in Leeds back in Nov 08. She has a great voice and also seems a true musician along with the rest of her band. The "classic" VV songs I'd become to love were Crying Blood, Bottles, Leave and L.O.V.E. However I couldn't help notice that the release date for this album kept getting put back and even the original album art changed significantly. I'm not too keen on the latest single 'Shark in the Water' as it seems a bit too pop-tastic when compared to some of the grooves and bluesy feel of her other songs and get the impression her record company has had a bit too much input.

She did a great cover version of the Rolling Stones "Miss You" and feel this could have been included, as at 39 minutes, the total play time is a bit on the light side.

Overall, a great and enjoyable listen but VV please keep it real and don't get exploited by the industry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a magnificent voice., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Like The Light (Audio CD)
This is so refreshing, finally a artist who performs in her very own special way. Love this album! I am sure she will have much future success. Excellent quality Cd and all services i experienced with this brilliant purchase. THANKS! So much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired brilliance, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Like The Light (Audio CD)
If you are feeling morose or fed up, just put this album on. Not only will it bring a smile to your face, you will certainly want to start dancing.

This is a joyful, quirky, full of fun and refreshingly original album from an original vocalist, musician and songwriter.

Most of the songs are upbeat and have a retro sound based on strong tunes and meaningful lyrics. L.O.V.E is brilliantly quirky, upbeat and such a fun song. I love it. The low tempo tunes are moving and heartfelt. "Travelling like the light" makes me feel like I am floating on a gossamer of goldpated fluffiness - it is light, gentle and soothing.

An inspiring, brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars varied and enjoyable music, 27 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Like The Light (Audio CD)
i bought this album after i had heard the track "travelling like the light" on the t.v advert- b.t i think. i was not sorry at all- what a brilliant artist and such a good voice- the tracks are varied in style but i like each and every song on the album. vv brown has a soulful/rock n roll voice, all the tracks i feel are upbeat- i listen to this over again and don't get tired of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 4 Aug 2010
By 
C. O'HARA "charloves2read" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Travelling Like The Light (Audio CD)
I bought this album after seeing V V Brown supporting Pink in June. Really enjoyed her live and the album doesn't disappoint. All tracks are good - easy to listen to all the way through. Very pleased with my purchase and total bargain too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars V V Brown, 30 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Like The Light (Audio CD)
Saw her as a support act at Pink's Hampden concert and thought she was great, and the album doen't disappoint! Look forward to hearing more of her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 28 July 2010
This review is from: Travelling Like The Light (Audio CD)
This CD is one of the best i've bought in a while and was delivered on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Travelling Like The Light
Travelling Like The Light by V.V. Brown (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews