Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocks your socks off!
After seeing this concert live at the MEN in Manchester and being a little disappinted at not being able to see KG & JB clearly, I have waited 2 long years for this DVD's release. It so far has not disappointed! The footage of the concert is clear and well filmed and gives you up close footage of the D rocking with a really tight band. I have yet to look at the...
Published on 22 Nov 2008 by D. Jones

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars D-sappointing
As a fan of the D - yes I enjoyed Pick of Destiny (Tenacious D: The Pick Of Destiny [DVD] [2006]) - I'd been looking forward to this.

The concert is entertaining enough, but didn't really live up to my expectations. One surprising thing is how poor the sound quality is once the D - without wanting to spoil things - "go electric". It breaks up quite badly once...
Published on 14 Aug 2009 by L. Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars D-sappointing, 14 Aug 2009
By 
L. Wilson "Fuzzbap" (Belfast, NI, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Masterworks Volume 2 [Blue Ray] [DVD] [2008] (Blu-ray)
As a fan of the D - yes I enjoyed Pick of Destiny (Tenacious D: The Pick Of Destiny [DVD] [2006]) - I'd been looking forward to this.

The concert is entertaining enough, but didn't really live up to my expectations. One surprising thing is how poor the sound quality is once the D - without wanting to spoil things - "go electric". It breaks up quite badly once the volume starts increasing to any extent, which is a huge no-no for a music DVD. That aside, the concert is entertaining enough, and Tenacious D's touring band - comprised mainly of members of Kyle Gass' other band, Trainwreck - are all impressively talented. The show falls somewhere between a regular gig and a live stage show a la the old Bottom Live tours, but as a result doesn't quite excel as either.

The documentary, D-Tour, which could be considered the main attraction, is much more revealing. In the wake of Pick of Destiny's utter failure ("we're not even in the top ten COMEDIES of the week," laments Jack Black at one point), Tenacious D attempt to mount their biggest tour ever. Coupled with Kyle Gass' increasing irritation with Black's constant star treatment at his own expense, it's an occasionally eye-opening look at Kyle's real feelings about the D, while Black struggles with the toll of the road on his wife and new-born baby.

The overall feeling is that, while the doc is enjoyable and entertaining, there's a lot more footage out there. It would be nice to see it in an extended form at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocks your socks off!, 22 Nov 2008
By 
D. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After seeing this concert live at the MEN in Manchester and being a little disappinted at not being able to see KG & JB clearly, I have waited 2 long years for this DVD's release. It so far has not disappointed! The footage of the concert is clear and well filmed and gives you up close footage of the D rocking with a really tight band. I have yet to look at the documentary but I will endeavour to report back when I do. I expected a documentary along the same lines as their Masterworks 1 DVD, somewhat of a mickey take. But thats not what this documentary has turned out to be. Following the flop of a movie, which did disappoint even their most avid fans, the tour which this documentary charts takes on a different angle. If you want to see a top rock band strutting their stuff give this a go, even if you've never experienced the D before this is an ideal way to dip your toe into the true godfathers of rock. BRING ON THE NEXT ALBUM! A greatest hits live would do while we wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you like tenacious d its for you, 12 Dec 2010
if you or someone you know likes tenacious d like is a deifnate buy. its a great live show and really funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mastwerworks Vol2, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Stephen Horsman "SteveH" (Newcastle UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Masterworks Volume 2 [Blue Ray] [DVD] [2008] (Blu-ray)
Being a big Tenacious D fan I was looking forward to this release. The concert footage is good, but the most revealing part is the frank documentary covering the film release, when things turn a little sour after its failure at the box office
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars D-licious, 29 Jan 2009
By 
L. West "ANG3LUS09" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In terms of music videos and skits, a distinct lack compared to the masterworks 1 which is easily one of my favourite dvd packages in my collection, even the gig itself pales in comparrison to the first one feautring just the boys, but the experience of watching them tell the story and it develop with the stage show and surprises is a treat all of its own. Highly recommended if only just for a single viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!!!, 3 Sep 2009
By 
S. Brown "Ma Broon" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kyle and Jack are at their best again in the second Masterworks, their comedy music performances and lyrics are brilliant entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No so masterly, 14 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. Raymond P. Daley (Coventry., West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let me start by saying I am a MASSIVE fan of Tenacious D.
For those unfamiliar with the band they comprise of Jack Black and Kyle Gass, a comedy band with some sweary lyrics that are loved and adored by 18 to 30 somethings and above.

This 2 dvd set comprises of a live concert recorded while the band were touring after the release of their "Pick Of Destiny" movie and a documentary showing behind the scenes of the tour and publicity for the movie.

The concert is what you'd expect from the D, it includes a fair few of the songs from the movie as well as some fan favourites. The documentary follows the highs, lows and even lowers of promoting the movie whilst on a global tour as Tenacious D the band.

The concert is ok but might not stand up to multiple viewings, the documentary is something you can watch many times but it'd definately need several weeks between watches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Masterworks Volume 2 [Blue Ray] [DVD] [2008]
£11.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews