Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue....
At last! This really is the ultimate representation of these scores. Although for completists (and I'm one of them) the set STILL doesn't have all of the music from the movies... for some reason Williams insists of giving the listener some sort of 'symphonic experience' as he puts it - this means some rearranging of cues, and plenty of missing cues. This is irritating as...
Published on 28 April 2009 by J. Mower

versus
2 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missing disc
Not so much a review - just wondering if anyone else's set is missing the fifth disc containing additional music and interviews? Bizarrely, there doesn't appear to be room in the outer cardboard box to contain a fifth disc! Unless it's supposed to be tucked inside the fourth disc's individual packaging - in which case, where's the track listing?
VERY frustrating! I...
Published on 20 Nov 2008 by A. J. Pearson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue...., 28 April 2009
By 
J. Mower "digginjim" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection (Audio CD)
At last! This really is the ultimate representation of these scores. Although for completists (and I'm one of them) the set STILL doesn't have all of the music from the movies... for some reason Williams insists of giving the listener some sort of 'symphonic experience' as he puts it - this means some rearranging of cues, and plenty of missing cues. This is irritating as I want to be taken on the musical journey of the films, not have Williams decide which tracks he wants me to have and then recut some of them... annoying. Having had that moan I'm still very excited to get to listen to wntire action sequences from Temple, extended sections of Crusade and, of course, the (almost) complete Raiders score - one of Williams most outstanding works. For fans this is, quite simply, a must have...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's been a long wait, but worth it, 11 Jan 2009
By 
Nicholas Johnson (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection (Audio CD)
The Indiana Jones film soundtracks were some of the most vividly remembered from my childhood and it's fantastic to have them all released together at last. Only the three original Star Wars film soundtracks (also by John Williams of course) have for me the same resonance.

These albums do not contain every note from the films (like the latest Star Wars soundtrack albums seem to) but they are as good as they need to be. Each CD is pretty full up with music and there are extra tracks from the first three films on the fifth CD.

I am not as familiar with the Crystal Skull soundtrack as I am with the others so that will need some more listening. The first three films all have classic scores, aside from the main theme.

This set is also available on iTunes for £15.99, but of course you do not get all the booklets with that, although it has a digital booklet. Both are surely great value!

If you're a fan of John Williams film scores, this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is gonna be great! Cheaper elsewhere though!, 10 Oct 2008
By 
R. North "Tricky Dickie" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection (Audio CD)
Everyone knows the theme. But music lovers know that John Williams belts out the most memorable scores around. Between Star Wars, Superman, E.T. and Indiana Jones he has done some of his best work.
I already own the released soundtracks and they are all great but as per usual when you watch the films you think why was that piece not included. When they finally, after years of waiting, got round to releasing the complete Star Wars CD's they were fantastic, and it was all there. Even though I already own all the Indiana Jones OST's I shall still be buying this. Those little snippets previously unreleased are just the lost treasure Indy himself would be after.
Agree with everyone else though.
AMAZON WHAT'S WITH THE PRE RELEASE PRICE?!?!?!
Having looked it is available on pre order for up to £15 less in the UK not to mention the US price on Amazon's own .com site.
Still for any soundtrack music lover this is one not to miss. Sure to be a collector's item in years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection (Audio CD)
By far the greatest soundtrack collection I have ever bought. I have been waiting what seems like forever for a full release of Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom and that score is worth getting this collection alone. It is John Williams' best ever score along with The Empire Strikes Back.

Both Raiders and Last Crusade soundtracks are full releases too and are both exceptional. I won't talk about Crystal Skull though... ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wait Is Over!, 26 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. A. E. Quarterman "AEMQ" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection (Audio CD)
Before christmas looms this will be the most anticipated release for any soundtrack film collector! For almost ten years there had been rumours of releases of these extended scores...then began Raiders.
Now from Concord Records they have managed to find the forgotten master tapes and have created a great complete package consisting of original material not heard or released for sometime!
John Williams is a 'wonderkind marvel' who creates a magical world thru his music. And so to relive those exciting serial pictures Indiana Jones is fighting again, not in pictures but within your mind and your heart!
Go Buy Them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must Buy, 11 Feb 2009
By 
A. Owen "Aidey" (Cardigan wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection (Audio CD)
This is a must buy for fans of Indiana Jones, John Williams or movie scores in general
Everything is here, all tracks from the movies and a few bonus tracks and interviews, each cd contains the original artwork and is housed in a lovely leather style Box with gold embossed hat and whip logo, its fantastic.
I would have to score this 10\10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Jones Soundtrack Box Set, 6 Aug 2009
By 
N. LEWIS "NEILLYWAN" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection (Audio CD)
Great soundtrack - very nostalgic - nice presentation - good gift for any Indy/Lucas fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Listerning Masterpiece, 9 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection (Audio CD)
John Williams shows his quality with this release. I have been hunting these CDs since I bought my first CD. They are fantastic. The original Trilogy has many great themes and the newist film the Chrystal Skull with it's haunting tunes is a great addition to an excilent series. The Fifth disc and it's extras is an additional wonderful addition to a brilliant set. This is a must for a fan of Movie Music, Indiana Jones and John Williams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jones en estado puro, 8 May 2009
By 
Jorge Jaldon Rueda (sevilla-españa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection (Audio CD)
sobre la música poco que decir viniendo del maestro del que viene.
la presentación esperaba algo un poco mejor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERTHING BUT THE HAT!, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Ra Rising (BOURNEMOUTH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection (Audio CD)
WHAT A GREAT SET, REALLY TOUGH LEATHER LOOK SLIP CASE, STUNNING PACKAGING ON ALL THE INDI MOVIES, LOTS OF EXTENDED AND PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED TRACKS.
THE SOUND QUALITY WILL BLOW YOU AWAY. JOHN WILLIAMS IS THE LAST OF THE GREAT FILM COMPOSERS, HIS WORK PUTS THE EFFORTS OF MOST MODERN COMPOSERS TO SHAME.
BUY THIS SET, YOU WILL LOVE IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection
Indiana Jones: The Soundtracks Collection by John Williams (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews