Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Father Christmas
Blooming beautiful animation. Blooming brilliant casting of Mel Smith as the big man. A brilliant film that manages to bring a quite inward and wry smile to the viewers face whilst acting as an antidote to all that sugery, overly-sentimental Christmas stuff that does the rounds during the Festive Season. This is a firm family favourite for good reason. Just the thing...
Published on 29 Mar 2010 by L. Law

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Grumpy Santa
Slightly disappointing. While beautifully drawn and quite funny, it's not on a par with the Snowman. It lacks substance and the word "blooming" is repeated a bit too often; my 5 year old son kept asking me what it meant! Go and explain that!
Published 17 months ago by dani


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Father Christmas, 29 Mar 2010
By 
L. Law - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Blooming beautiful animation. Blooming brilliant casting of Mel Smith as the big man. A brilliant film that manages to bring a quite inward and wry smile to the viewers face whilst acting as an antidote to all that sugery, overly-sentimental Christmas stuff that does the rounds during the Festive Season. This is a firm family favourite for good reason. Just the thing to help lift your spirits during those dull, rain soaked, cold, dank, dark, driving wind kinda days that we specialise in here in the UK. Or perhaps in the spirit of the book you might prefer to save your money and put your pennies toward funding a trip to sunnier climbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic kids film, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect for cost Christmas evenings with children, a simple classic that's a must around Christmas time for all the family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another christmas classic, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the snowman & snowdog so had to add this to my classic christmas collection. I used to watch this every year with my mum as a child and i had to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Film "Father Christmas" based on the book:Raymond Briggs, 22 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Father Christmas [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I really enjoyed this film because it wasn't exactly like the normal "Father Christmas Story" it was original. You would normally think of Father Christmas as a completly different person e.g magical and amazing but when you watch this he seems more "normal" and you could relate to him. It is basicly about Father Christmas wanting a brake so he goes on holiday to lots of different places. I think any person at any age would enjoy this film it is a family film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloomin Marvellous, 11 Nov 2001
This review is from: Father Christmas [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a really funny tale about Father Christmas taking holidays and basically doing things which everybody does everyday. Father Christmas is rather grumpy in this story but lovely with it. I loved this story when I was young and though still young now (18) I still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this bloomin' DVD!, 25 Nov 2008
This review is from: Father Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
What a delightful animated film. Coming from the the same people behind 'The Snowman' you know it's going to be good. The style of animation is different compared to The Snowman and it has speech throughout the film. There are some nice scenes that connect the two films.

The premise of the story is that we see Father Christmas doing what he does "the other 364 days a year". This includes him going on holiday to Scotland, Las Vegas and France.

The charm of the film is that Father Christmas, when not in the red suit, looks and acts just like someone's grandad. However, wherever he is in the world children still recognise him as "Santa Claus".

I would really recommend you buying this instead instead of the double feature with The Snowman. But only if you're interested in buying The Snowman. That's because if you buy the films together you'll miss out on a wonderful documentary about the making of The Snowman.
Oh, and I just love the picture of Father Christmas on the front cover of this DVD! For me, this is the best image of Father Christmas that I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stop complaining!, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
yes, in this story Santa is a grumpy old man, but all ends well and Christmas is saved...ahhhh...yes, his language is a touch strong, but COME ON! its a cartoon, if you know your child is likely to copy words then just don't give them this. most children only copy words like 'bloomin' etc because they see the reaction it creates in their parents...if you don't react, they won't find it even hal;f as fun to copy grumpy Santa.

rant over! I LOVE this cartoon, I remember watching it every Christmas eve, eating crumpets with my sister all snugged up on the sofa while mum did something or other (which I now realise was kick dad out the house to get those last minute presents that were forgotten, wrap presents, and prep food!) Santa is yes, a very grumpy Santa, but there is something very warming to this story. perhaps its made for children who are beyond the age range of "the Snowman", but my two (4 and 6) where in stitches watching this (with their crumpets, while their dad was in "the worlds longest que" in toys are us, and I was pealing spuds...) and did they copy? well, my son did once, did i react? nope...has he said it since? nope...

Its Christmas people (ok, when you watch this film it is) so just calm down, watch the film, and relax!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here comes christmas, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Love the miserable old Father Christmas. He mirrors my opinion of Christmas. Lot of hard work and I like it better between Jan and Nov
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas films, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Each year we add to the Christmas DVD collection for our 5 year old, this one was a firm favourite this Christmas. It arrived promptly and was watched quite a few times over the festive period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought to go with the story book, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Sue Ryan "Sue" (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
A gift for my grandson. The book had been such a favourite of his Daddy. Brought back many happy memories..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Father Christmas [DVD]
Father Christmas [DVD] by Howard Blake (DVD - 2008)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews