Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A future classic
I'm generally only moved to commit to a review on the basis of being moved or repelled, and this album has done the former to such an extent that it has completely redefined my opinion of Bloc Party in much the same way as it seems to have disappointed ardent fans of Silent Alarm.

When an album comes along that divides opinion so profoundly the one thing you...
Published on 1 Nov. 2008 by greenlight

versus
12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars writers' bloc?
The low-key arrival of Bloc Party's third album Intimacy sees the band getting on with the complex business of turning out another solid and intermittently excellent record. One might think this would be a tricky thing to pull off; the band's debut Silent Alarm was as close to a classic as any up-and-coming seriously-minded indie band these days could manage to pull off,...
Published on 23 Oct. 2008 by spiderboris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Change...For The Better, 14 Mar. 2009
By 
James Mcwilliam Woods "Wimsé Jaboe" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intimacy (Audio CD)
This album certainly marks a huge change in musical direction for Kele and co., and that is evident from the outset. opener 'Ares' is a bouncy, if a bit chavvy song that grows on you with each listen. 'Biko' is like classic BP ... but with a choir. Lead single 'Mercury' is bouncy and sparse but builds up to a climactic penultimate chorus. Closer 'Ion Square' is six minutes of sheer uplifting joy and a very nice way to close a concise, to the point album. This album is indeed superb and you should definitely buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PARTAY! :), 15 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Intimacy (Audio CD)
I like!
I didnt even know this album existed before i saw it in HMV where i bought it straight away after enjoying their first 2.
Though their sound has changed a little bit but i wasnt disapointed by it and loves the upbeat remixy feel to it. Bloc Party know how to start an album and like its predisesors, this has the typical catchy big song at the beginning. :)

Their first album is still their best, but this is a great listen.
Wonderful for listening to very loudly in the car. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 9 Nov. 2012
By 
. "eddean7" (China (but from UK)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Intimacy (Audio CD)
There are some lovely tracks on here (Biko, Letter to my son) and some great rock tracks too in an old skool bloc party way. Overall a good album and if you're a fan of the band this is up there with everything they do so well. The electro-pop numbers may not suit everyone, but let's be honest it would be dull if a band's total output didn't change or experiment with new areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than i thought, 18 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. R. Maguire (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intimacy (Audio CD)
Having heard a lot of mediocre reviews of the album i was quite reluctant to buy it considering i have all their other albums, then as it appeared quite cheap on amazon i thought what the hell and went for it. After listening to it a few times i think its just what you expect and more, class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bloc party - intimacy, 10 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. Scott Taylor "duwang" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intimacy (Audio CD)
i've heard the people aren't as into bloc party's new music as it's more electro than normal but i like the new direction. this is more of a grower than stories for the weekend but worth the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good as a total, 18 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: Intimacy (Audio CD)
Great style and originality they keep it going, for me this is their second best album after the great silent alarm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a grower!, 9 Oct. 2008
By 
T. C. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intimacy (Audio CD)
When I first heard Mercury (the first single of this album) I thought "oh God, they've lost it" and on my first hearing of the album proper I thought much the same. Strangely though, Mercury sounded much better within the context of an album - I'd previously only heard it as a poor quality online stream, and listening to it through decent headphones brought out a lot more depth.

Even though I wasn't that impressed after my first listen, there was something that made me want to come back and give it another go (something I don't usually do, if I'm not impressed first time round) and it suddenly sounding fairly good. I gave it a third listen, and it grew on me even more. After 5 listens I thought it was the best new album I'd heard this year.

It's a different direction to that taken on the last album - some have called it Bloc Party's "Kid A" album - it's more experimental, and there's quite a lot of studio trickery going on (the studio production is excellent) but once you get more familiar with it there's some fantastic song writing going on.

All in all, I think it's a solid album throughout, with about 4 or 5 really stand-out tracks.

I read a review of Keane's new album that described it as if it was ground-breaking and truly original - absolute nonsense. If you want to hear an album that's bravely breaking new ground this would be a good place to start ... but make sure you give it a few listen's before making any judgements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 18 Jan. 2009
By 
Ben Goble (Mancheter) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intimacy (Audio CD)
A truly quality album. All that has to be said about its class has already been said. Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant buy, 17 Mar. 2009
By 
C. Milton "discobug" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intimacy (MP3 Download)
Excellent album from Bloc Pary and easy to down load the mp3 from the amazon website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars writers' bloc?, 23 Oct. 2008
By 
spiderboris (The cold, empty void between stars) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Intimacy (Audio CD)
The low-key arrival of Bloc Party's third album Intimacy sees the band getting on with the complex business of turning out another solid and intermittently excellent record. One might think this would be a tricky thing to pull off; the band's debut Silent Alarm was as close to a classic as any up-and-coming seriously-minded indie band these days could manage to pull off, while follow-up A Weekend In The City was a brave but difficult record, attempting to chronicle the woes and disaffections of the UK's teens; seeing Kele Okoreke perhaps unwillingly placing himself as the appointed spokemen for the hug-a hoodie generation. Then came standalone single Flux, a freaky steath-attack of a song which initially sounded for all the world like the band attempting to knock off one of those hideously generic Ibiza trance anthems that seemingly never stop clogging up the airwaves; albeit with with a giant robot monster-themed video and lyrics about arguing with your father. Basshunter was perhaps left quaking in his boots, as were Bloc Party's fans, perhaps fearing a fullblown excursion into pop-dance territory.

Thankfully, Intimacy doesn't signpost a selling-out to the mainstream, or an out-and-out attempt to go far off into experimental lands. Opener Ares comes lumbering in on a gargantuan loping drumbeat that's either borrowed from Tomorrow Never Knows or the Chemical's Setting Son, with Kele barking various non sequiters over clattering beats and looped vocal squawks, sounding not unlike a cross between Mark E Smith and a demented Damon Albarn after too much time spent hanging around with monkeys. Then there's first single Mercury, which either continues Bloc Party's descent into fully fledged art-dance-rock or just sounds like a bad Fatboy Slim single - proving that if you repeat something often enough at least people will remember it, whether they want to or not. Repeated listens however draw out the detail which has thus far been one of the bands strong points; rhythms borrowed from reggae dancehall (something else Radiohead have quite bewilderingly done of late), garbled lyrics about planetary orbits and waking up in basketball courts, and weird, off-kilter string surges. It's a difficult track, but doesn't fail to intrigue.

Halo takes us back to the helter-skelter, jerky-indie territory of Silent Alarm, and is as furious as we have come to expect from Bloc Party's faster numbers, but fails to advance the band's sound to anything radically new. It's been mentioned that this is Bloc Party's breakup album and many of the lyrics do seem to deal with themes of collapsed or broken-down relationships - the glitch-ballad Biko follows this trend, and might call to mind an ancient Peter Gabriel song in its title but is closer to Placebo in its general tone, a band Bloc Party are coming close to resembling in their musical outlook.

Signs is a gorgeous number, glockenspiel-led, twinkly and downbeat with hints of Bjork and Sigur Ros about it. Intimacy is very much a record of two parts - fast songs and slow ones, some dancey and others not (again, Placebo are a band who have wrung considerable mileage out of such an approach). After Signs, the band wrench us out of the quiet mountains and fling us back into the turmoil with the next track, which perhaps explains why previous single Flux isn't on Intimacy, since One Month Off is another rattling beat-driven indie-dance meltdown sounding virtually the same as Flux, except not quite so trancey.

Its about this time that some of the album's potential flaws begin to become apparent; made up as it is out of skittery, lysergic dance numbers and the punkier, thrashier songs the band have become so good at, this unfortunately shows that Bloc Party might be in danger of showing their limitations a little and repeating themselves a bit too much. Another sore-point is Kele's tendency to repeat almost exactly the same vocal melodies he's previously employed on other tracks, just rearranged in a different order. Maybe nitpicking, but for someone familiar with all their b-sides might notice a fair amount of repetition here and there. To illustrate this musical repetition point, Better Than Heaven goes on to conclude itself by vitually repeating the janglesome guitar motif from I Still Remember, only this time notched up to three times the speed - although the album does go out on a high with Ion Square, a gentle yet epic slow-burner which almost manages to eclipse the emotive likes of So Here We Are.

Again, Intimacy makes for a difficult listen. Having moved away from the generalised angst and disaffection of Silent Alarm and the broadly political concept record that was A Weekend In The City, one can't help but get the feeling that despite draping their songs in dancey apparel and remaining lyrically obtuse, Bloc Party may have regressed a little. Here's a band who spent their last two albums hitting out at US foreign policy, the world fuel crisis, and scaremongering about the fear of terrorism in the UK - unfortunately, Intimacy begins to resemble yet another indie album that will see millions over-analyse the cryptic subtext of lyrics which usually amount little more than variations on `my girlfriend/boyfriend dumped me, so now I'm angry/bitter/melancholic?'

Despite all these criticisms, Intimacy still comes out the other end sounding like a very strong album by a still immensely-promising outfit. Anyone unfamiliar with their earlier work - and those who are - will find a lot to appreciate here. Bloc Party are still a young band and perhaps still have quite a way to go before they can truly stand a chance of being up there with some of the greats. By doing things their way, this'll do for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Intimacy
Intimacy by Bloc Party (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews