Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£27.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2008
Having ordered and now received this box set, I assume it has been taken off general release for the moment due to the content of the DVD's not always being that described on the front of each disk. However, everything that should be within the box set, is (somewhere). For those that can't be bothered to return the box set to Amazon and await the replacement, the disk order should read as follows, with a brief review of each;

1. Knowing Me, Knowing You
The series that really raised Coogan's profile into national prominence. Received complaints at the time of original broadcast as some viewers failed to recognise it was a spoof. Very funny and painfully close to reality in terms of Partridge's TV personality character traits.

2. Knowing Me, Knowing Yule
Christmas follow on from the original series. More of the same, but that's no bad thing. "Do you want some, I'm handy?!"

3. I'm Alan Partridge Series 1. 4. Series extras
Arguably Coogans finest hour(s). Solitary stays in travel taverns have never quite been the same since. The Partridge character is fleshed out, with all his flaws coming to the fore. Still, there's been worse television programmes commissioned than "Monkey Tennis".

5. I'm Alan Partride Series 2. 6. Series extras
The creators were alledgedly in retrospect not too pleased with this series, maybe due to some of the scenarios and acting becoming a little over the top. Alan has swapped his travel tavern for a caravan next to his new house. I personally loved it.

7. Paul Calf's video diaries
Contains the original video diary, and the follow on. I brought the box set mainly for this, as I don't think the BBC ever sold them as a seperate DVD release. Very good. RIP Fat Bob.

8. Paul and Pauline Calf's Cheese And Ham Sandwich
Live show contained the two characters mentioned in the title. I thought the character jokes were starting to get a bit stale by now.

9 & 10 Saxondale Series 1
Overlooked and underated. Coogan proved he had lost none of his comic timing and touch, with his portrayal of the ageing roadie who attends anger management classes and can't quite let go of the past. Some brilliant moments, and virtually on a par with Partridge.

11. Saxondale Series 2
Again, more of the same, but equally as good as Series 1.

12. Doctor Terrible's House of Horrible
I actually missed this first time around, so cannot comment.

13. The Tony Ferrino Phenomenon
The Portuguese singer character received far more hype than Saxondale ever did, however never quite hit the spot. Had it's moments though, and well worth a viewing.

14. Coogan's Run
A combination of old and new characters in 6 one off specials. Ranges from average to good. Again, more for the novelty factor than many true comedy classic moments.

I saw Coogan recently in his live show (having also seen his last one almost 10 years ago), and too be honest it was a bit disappointing, and I think some of the characters are reaching the end of their shelf life. However this box set is proof (if any was needed) of his comic genius.

Overall, this is brilliant value for money, even if the BBC do seem to have had immense difficulty in counting to fourteen.
33 comments|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2009
If you are a fan of Steve Coogan and own little of his work on DVD then this is a great purchase at a great price. If you - like me - own the majority of his work already and are buying it for the previously unavailable Paul Calf's Video Diary and Tony Ferrino content they you may ask whether it's worth it.

The answer is - probably no. The Paul Calf stuff is very funny but a bit dated. Tony Ferrino is Coogan's weakest comedy creation and whilst somewhat amusing this will probably be the least watched DVD of the set.

If you already have the majority of his stuff then I probably wouldn't bother purchasing this for Calf and Ferrino. However if your Partridge DVD's are worn out due to their weekly watching and you are able to sell the DVD's you already have to a friend like myself I'd go for it.

The pick of the bunch is obviously our favourite Norwich based broadcaster followed by both series of 'Saxondale' who is a fantastic creation. 'Coogan's Run' varies in quality but is well worth watching.
'Doctor Terrible' again varies in quality but has great range of actors and some very funny moments. The Victorian pulp pastiche with Mark Gatiss is the most enjoyable. The live show 'Paul and Pauline Calf's Cheese and Ham Sandwich' is relatively short but the extras more than make up for it.

All the DVD's are the same as their original releases so you won't miss any content or extras and unlike the original pressing of this set they all have the correct names on the disc.

As I've said - this is a great set of work by Britain's best comic actor but it may not be worth the cash depending on your current collection.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2009
The 'Complete Coogan' boxset is, put simply, essential viewing for fans of Steve Coogan's various comedy characters such as Alan Partridge, Paul and Pauline Calf, Tommy Saxondale and so on. Collecting previously released material with two exclusive discs, containing the hitherto unreleased 'Paul & Pauline Calf's Video Diaries / Three Fights, Two Weddings and a Funeral' and 'The Tony Ferrino Phenomenon', it's an impressive package.

'Knowing Me, Knowing You' and 'I'm Alan Partridge' are probably his best known work - particularly the latter, which has established itself as a modern comedy classic. But there's plenty of worthwhile material elsewhere in the set - Coogan's most recent BBC series, 'Saxondale' about an ex-roadie turned pest control operative, which although not a smash in the same way that Partridge was, still has some great moments. Then there are the anthology series 'Dr Terrible's House of Horrible', which spoofs old school British horror and shows, and 'Coogan's Run', a showcase for a variety of Coogan characters. Both have their ups and downs, but are well worth the effort - and fans of old Hammer / Amicus films will appreciate 'Dr Terrible' in particular, which is loaded with in-jokes and references which will go right over the heads of most viewers.

It's great to see 'Paul and Pauline Calf's Video Diaries' on DVD, as this was one of Coogan's earliest starring vehicles, and the Calfs remain a much-loved part of his live repertoire to this day. Slightly rougher around the edges than later, more lavish series, this is a neglected gem. Less essential is 'Cheese and Ham Sandwich', a live outing for the Calf siblings recorded for television, though it's backed up by a rather good 'making of' documentary which gives some insight into how Steve Coogan prepared for his return to live performance. Finally, there's 'The Tony Ferrino Phenomenon' - largely forgotten, but a pretty decent parody of cheesy star vehicles of the 60s and 70s. It's a shame Tony Ferrino never caught on as a character, but then, watching the programmes on this disc, it's hard to see what more could have been done with him.

Many of the programmes are accompanied by an array of special features - particularly the Partridge discs, which are pretty exhaustive in terms of their bonus content (and Series One of 'I'm Alan Partridge' also boasts a rather fun commentary from Alan himself, plus long suffering PA Lynn). Any fans of Steve Coogan's work should be well pleased with this set, and if you're not just buying this for the exclusive content, at the moment it represents excellent value for money.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2009
Already a fan of Steve Coogan, I bought this collection in confidence and haven't been disappointed. This is really funny stuff, worth watching many times as you will find new elements every time.
Whilst some of the videos are not of the highest level it is still very, very enjoyable.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
Not the cheap and cheerful cobbling together of previously released Coogan material that I thought it was. Well, not entirely true. You do get all his previous live videos all in one nice handy box, but there's some nice extras in the form of material from his Australian tour, the BBC2 documentary "The Inside Story" with some delightful turns from Vic and Bob, and not forgetting all the Paul and Pauline Calf material from Channel 4's lamentable "Saturday Zoo". It's worth a double dip if you've got any of the live shows already.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2010
This is excellent value for money. All of Steve's work in one box! Just to clarify, it also includes all of the special features that are included on the standalone disc versions, such as the double disc of I'm Alan Partidge Series 1.

Disc breakdown:
DISC 1 - Knowing Me, Knowing You
DISC 2 - Knowing Me, Knowing Yule
DISC 3 - I'm Alan Partridge Series 1 (disc 1)
DISC 4 - I'm Alan Partridge Series 1 (disc 2)
DISC 5 - I'm Alan Partridge Series 2 (disc 1)
DISC 6 - I'm Alan Partridge Series 2 (disc 2)
DISC 7 - Saxondale Series 1 (disc 1)
DISC 8 - Saxondale Series 1 (disc 2)
DISC 9 - Saxondale Series 2
DISC 10 - Dr Terrible's House of Horrible
DISC 11 - Coogan's Run
DISC 12 - Paul and Pauline Calf's Video Diaries
DISC 13 - Paul and Pauline Calf's Cheese And Ham Sandwich
DISC 14 - Introducing Tony Ferrino: Who and Why? A Quest & The Tony Ferrino Phenomenon

The only downside is the disc covers are mixed, so the dvd's dont match the labels, but that's not the end of the world
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2009
All of Steve Coogan's best bits including the classic Alan Partridge material, Gareth Cheeseman in "Dearth of a Salesman," Saxondale and the Paul and Pauline Calf Video Diaries (previously only available on VHS video). Well recommended and great value at this price. The disc labelling problems seem to have been sorted out now.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2009
Aside from the consistently brilliant performances throughout by Coogan in all his guises, this box set is simply terrific value for money.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
As far as I know, most of this stuff never hit Australian tv. What a shame. Steve Coogan is an absolute champion and I wish I was aware of him years ago. Very similar to Australian humour and extremely good value for money. I have gone on to buy many more Coogan DVDs, books, and even audio book. Very happy.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
The complete Coogan collection is a ruddy treasure trove. Some argue that Alan Partridge is his finest moment (of course it is) and shadows his other shows, but even though there is truth in this, it doesn't matter as his other works are all hilarious anyway. Even if you're not keen on his other characters, this boxset is value for money and then some.

You get Tony Ferrino, Saxondale, Doctor Terrible's house of horrible, Paul and Pauline Calf, Coogan's run, plus a shedload of extras on each DVD, and a whole Partridge in a pear tree (we're talking 'Knowing me, Knowing you' and both series of 'I'm Alan Partridge'). Yes, Mid morning matters and other Partridge specials are absent as they came later, but who cares? You're not going to bag a bigger bargain, and that's that.

Individually the shows are all five star affairs anyway, created and starred in by a master of comedy. 'JURASSIC PARK!'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.