Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Varekai DVD
I recently purchase the Varekai DVD for my mother following a visit to the show in London. She was very pleased with it.
The DVD arrived in record time - 2 days - excellent service!
Published on 3 April 2010 by Arekuna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was expecting to be blown away as I usually am by Cirque du Soleil , however, while the performances were impeccable as usual, the sound quality was so poor It really made viewing uncomfortable. I switched off half way through - which, if I were a first time visitor to Cirque would have put me off purchasing another. Really disappointed.
Published 9 months ago by Ms M Carr


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Varekai DVD, 3 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cirque Du Soleil: Varekai [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I recently purchase the Varekai DVD for my mother following a visit to the show in London. She was very pleased with it.
The DVD arrived in record time - 2 days - excellent service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cirque Du Soleil - Varakai, 16 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cirque Du Soleil: Varekai [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD as a gift for my wife before we went to the live show at The Trafford Centre, I saved it, kept it until after the show and then gave it to her as a reminder. It is a great souvenir of the fantastic time we had. If ever you get a chance to see a live performance .. DO IT! Otherwise the DVD's are mindblowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An engaging simple skit with the funny guys, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cirque Du Soleil: Varekai [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I didn't use the word "clown" because it gives a stereotyped image.... I love how they made the simple skit of changing a blown-out bulb turn into something fascinating to watch. The funny guy in what looks like a type of tree costume did well to exaggerate his every action and the message/emotions came across clearly. This short skit was the highlight for me but it goes without saying that every performance has merits to itself. The female contortionist who appeared in other Cirque's shows did her bit fluidly and more.... Costumes - fabulous!! Varekai is a collector's item. My only other wish is to have this performance in blu ray version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice Cirque show, 18 July 2011
By 
Rajiv Kapur - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cirque Du Soleil: Varekai [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Good show by Cirque du Soleil - though nothing out of the ordinary by their own high standards.

Fans of Cirque will love it.

Did not like the wide screen presentation - seemed artificially compressed on my 16:9 plasma TV. Also, clearly shot on video as opposed to film/HDTV like some of the other Cirque DVDs.

Still, easily worth the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of performance, 22 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Cirque Du Soleil: Varekai [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I went to a performance of the circus group `Cirque du Soleil' on the 16th of January 2010. Called `Varekai' it was an explosion of amazing performance and design, set "deep within a forest at the summit of a volcano" with performers dressed as mystical creatures and tells a story of a man who parachutes into the forest. However this story is punctuated with various circus acts including mime artists, trapeze artists, a contortionist, dancers, tumblers and a hilariously bad magician and assistant.

It was the set and costumes that first amazed me: a `forest' of long poles made the backdrop of the stage, and a structure of scaffolding led up to the very top of the performance area, where the trapeze artists emerged, swinging. The show itself began with amazingly costumed creatures emerging from the `forest' - moving in an appropriate way for their animal, such as slinking reptiles and bouncing animals in various colours.

There were many acts that stood out for their daring and originality and included the protagonist, who was dressed simply in white, with huge wings attached and descended to the stage from above. The forest creatures poked, prodded and took his wings away before he `awoke', folding himself into a net and performing in midair using it as a prop - always keeping hold of it in some way - posing and swinging from it - but the most amazing thing was when he rolled himself up in the net and letting it simply unravel, causing him to fall, landing just inches from the stage! As well as the artist in the net, a trapeze artist twins swung their way across the stage and a girl performed with a hoop in mid-air.

The mime artist, as well as having a fantastic costume, was brilliant. Without using speech he conveyed to the audience exactly what he meant, pretending to capture noisy sounds such as cars screeching and proceeding to put them in one end of a complex looking machine out of which the other end came beautiful birdsong.

The tumblers or `volcano leapers' were who made me most afraid! They brought out special equipment - which looked like chaise lounges but tilted upwards. One tumbler would like on the chair with his legs pointing upwards and another would stand on the end of his legs and jump, turning in mid-air, often two or three times in a row, and land precariously back on the other person's legs! However, at one point, one performer must have misjudged the timing, as, too quick for me to see the details, he landed on the stage. Expecting him to get up smiling, and take a bow, my heart was in my mouth as he shook his head at the other performers and, holding his head, walked offstage. This really brought home to me just how dangerous their acts are, and in a away helped me to appreciate the acts even more, although was consequently a lot more scared for the remainder of the acts!

In the middle of the performance was a very different act which served as a break from the rest of the rather intense storyline. It consisted of a terrible magician and his ridiculous `glamorous' assistant. The audience fell about laughing after he failed to do several of his magic tricks, and his assistant made things even worse. When an audience member was picked to take part in a disappearing act, he did not disappear but was `revealed' kissing the assistant. When the desperate magician tried the act again, he revealed a forest creature kissing the audience member, and in his final try, the assistant fighting the forest creature! Most impressive was the assistant's ability to walk around the stage in her high heels deliberately nearly tripping over at every step, like a cartoon character. Her short fluffy dress revealed Bridget-Jones-esque knickers each time which added to the comic effect!

In the penultimate act, we saw a contortionist bend her body into impossible shapes. This was the only thing I did not enjoy 120% as I found it painful to watch. This led to the finale where the man in the net, and the contortionist appeared to get married and the tumblers provided the entertainment for the wedding! They brought onto the stage two gigantic double swings which at first they used to propel themselves into a giant sheet. However, they became more daring, jumping from one moving swing onto the other - moving - swing in mid-air! Again, I was nervous for the performers and rightly so as at one point the timing was slightly off and one tumbler spilled off into a mattress that had been quickly and discreetly placed there.

At the end there was much clapping as they came out again and again to bow - the final time removing their hats or headdresses to reveal their normal hair causing them to look remarkably human again. I thought the entire performance was absolutely astounding, and could not believe how quickly the performance had gone, wanting to see it all over again straight away. The only thing I disliked was the contortionist, but I could not deny her talent. I would love to see the show again and have since recommended it to everybody I know since seeing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cirque Du Soleil: Varekai [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I was expecting to be blown away as I usually am by Cirque du Soleil , however, while the performances were impeccable as usual, the sound quality was so poor It really made viewing uncomfortable. I switched off half way through - which, if I were a first time visitor to Cirque would have put me off purchasing another. Really disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime circ du soleil, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cirque Du Soleil: Varekai [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Having seen circ du soleil live at the albert hall and been disappointed ,I was really glad to watch this and understand why they have such a worldwide success .They are utterly superb ,the artistry of the performances is completely enchanting and will help you enter a whole other world .They are sheer magic and beauty .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond expectation, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cirque Du Soleil: Varekai [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
As usually - fantastic and spectacular! Creates fabulous atmosphere and set all of us in a happy mood.We are still talking about it. Bought 2 CDs withe the music and one with previous show - showed 5 people already.
Looking forward to the next visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cirque Du Soleil: Varekai [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Another great performance from The cirque. Have see this show live and the DVD is just as good. Great fun for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superbe entertainment, 27 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cirque Du Soleil: Varekai [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
brilliant recording of the varekai show, excellent picture and sound quality, almost better than being actually there to see it. superbe entertainment, higly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cirque Du Soleil: Varekai [DVD] [2004]
Cirque Du Soleil: Varekai [DVD] [2004] by Nick Morris (DVD - 2004)
£13.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews